We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My 11 year and 13 year old daughters and I took my husband here to celebrate his birthday.

The interior is very stylishly appointed with great colors. The views of the ocean and of the Bush Compound can't be beat.

The menu has a lot of different offerings for all palates. The presentation and the quality of the meals were incredible. The Duck Foie Gras was amazing and just melted in your mouth. The lobster poached in butter was very succulent and a huge hit with our 11 year old.

The servers were the right amount of attentive, not hovering but there when you needed them.

The cocktails were perfectly made as well.

We would definitely go back to this restaurant as we felt this was one of our top ten meals that we have had in all of our traveling.

Only downside of the restaurant is the step up/down to one of the dining areas. The staff is quick to point it out as you enter the area but as you had to the other parts of the restaurant later, you don't see it and you can easily trip. Something needs to be done to make it more visible.

Great place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampFino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    62
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great views, stylish decor and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My friend and I dropped in early on a Friday and secured a table before the dinner rush. Our table was one of the best situated in a corner with windows facing the Atlantic. The dining room elegant with transitional decor that complemented the clearly old inn.

We started with the scallops and asparagus salad (with poached egg!). Both were well prepared, dressed and seasoned, highlighting the ingredients. For entrees, my friend opted for the monkfish osso buco and I had butter poached lobster. Hers was the clear winner with moist but dense fish that could stand up to rich, gravy-ish sauce, tasting very much like a lighter version of the veal dish on which it was based. Mine was covered in the trendy (I hope to be over soon) foam, with small but thoughtful portions. Only gripe is the inclusion of claw-meat, which I find tasteless and mealy in any setting. Service was attentive but not over bearing. Between views, decor, food and service, this is a place that I'll return to and recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hodork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
264 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“service, ambience, view are great. Food is not.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The service, the scenic view are wonderful. Can't ask for anything better; but the food lacks what the current Chef who provided fantastic meals at
Provence 98 in Ogunquit prepared last night. We had salmon, cooked OK but was overpowered by the mustard sauce and the steaks were just ok with over cooked veggies. Five stars for everything, except the food. It was 2-3 steps down from Chef Pierre usually preparations. Something is different as Chef Pierre's preparation at 98 Provence were fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RobOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location, wonderful service, great food - highly recommended! This was a 50th birthday dinner and was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arfur64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are very pleased to hear, that we could make your Birthday celebration very special. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice, but eh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As much as the place is fancy and it sits on a gorgeous location, the service was friendly, we just weren't awed by the whole experience. We made dinner reservations for 8, showed up 5 minutes early, had drinks with some tapas, and somehow still waited over 25 minutes for the dinner to come. Even though the restaurant did apologize for the wait and gave us complementary dessert for the trouble, it was unfortunate that we didn't eat until 9:20.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drock69, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It's unfortunate to hear that your meal wasn't presented to you in a timely manner. We would like to get you back at Ocean to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing