We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Anniversary!”

Ocean Cape Arundel Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean Cape Arundel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you’ve ever dined on a luxury ocean liner, you know: Water all around piques your appetite, invites you to slow down and enthralls throughout a meal like no other show on earth. And if you haven’t, that experience awaits at the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort’s glass-walled, waterfront, fine dining restaurant: Ocean. Memorable evenings at Ocean begin with cocktails, like our Maine maple syrup-sweetened Amber Sky, on the inn’s relaxing front porch or at the bar. Continue your culinary journey in the dining room, where every table has a view of the frothy blue sea. Chef Pierre Gignac’s creative menus change with the seasons, showcasing not only Maine-caught seafood in signature dishes like Lobster Thermidor, but the best of what is grown, raised and produced locally. His eye-pleasing creations take inspiration, too, from across the Atlantic. Expect the familiar flavors of southern France and the Mediterranean with intriguing new twists, plus an international selection of wines.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy Anniversary!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband & I have questioned(Ok...it's just me!) whether to "plan" a celebratory dinner on our Anniversary. It always seems that when you try to do something special, everything goes wrong! We had one little glitch with our reservation at Ocean but Yana, the diningroom manager, resolved the problem quickly. The glitch...we had made a dinner reservation 30 day in advance and had asked for an ocean view...they had the info but had not used it when scheduling the table assignments. Yana was able to get us the table we had requested within 30 minutes of our original request. Made me very happy!
We enjoyed a cocktail on the porch overlooking the crashing surf while we waited(didn't seem like a wait!) for our table. The porch has comfy seating & the porch service was attentive.
As luck would have it, our server was the wonderful Laura(mentioned in other reviews). Again, as stated, Laura is attentive and very knowledgeable and also has a great personality!
Chef Pierre Gignac presents an imaginative menu that delivers on both presentation & taste. We chose to start with the Beet Salad(mine) & Sea Scallops(husband). The Beet Salad consists of salt roasted & pickled gold beets, watercress, goat cheese, & carmelized walnuts. Wonderful! My only suggestion would be that the beets not be so finely chopped...so small that it was difficult to got them onto the fork...but I managed! My husband's Sea Scollops, which consisted of scallops, herbs, coconut milk, lime zest, black rasishes &enoki mushrooms received a 2 thumbs up for the above taste & presentation.
I selected the Beef Sirloin entree which was served with foie gras sauce, black summer truffles, confied fingerlings & garden squash. Served medium-rare(as ordered) it was sublime! My husband chose the Lamb Loin...crispy lamb breast, basil potato puree, zucchini blossoms with charred scallion vinaigrette. Wonderful!
For dessert we chose to share a molten chocolate delicacy and were surprised to have Laura present two dessert glasses of champagne, Very thoughtful. The pace was perfect for a quiet celebration...2.5 hrs from cocktails through dessert.
So the Cape Arundel Inn & Ocean has changed my mind about planning a celebratory dinner! We'll be back as soon as I can think of something else to celebrate...my birthday is coming up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gail,

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your dining experience with us here at Ocean. We are honored that you have chosen our Restaurant to celebrate your special occasion. I have already shared your positive comments with the entire Restaurant team. It was a pleasure to meet you and I am looking forward to see you soon for your Birthday celebration.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    65
    29
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine
1 review
“Jaw dropping”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a blast from the time we pulled up to the bill came! View outstanding, the food unforgettable .5 star rating !!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank FootbridgeLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank your for your kind words. We are honored to get 5 star rating. We look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
294 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great view with wonderful food - Ocean is the place”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Want to have a great diner with fabulous service along with a stunning view of the
Atlantic Ocean across from President George H W Bush's summer residence?
Well then, make reservations at Ocean. Ask for Laura to be your server. They
do not get any better than her. Her knowledge of the food and its preparation
will lead you to a lovely experience that is memorable. The food is great with many
wines to compliment your meal.

A positive experience for all and worth going back for a repeat next time in the
the area. Treat yourself to a wonderful dinning experience with Laura to guide you
through - have a great time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at Ocean , I would like to thank you for your lovely comments about your dining experience. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the creativity and effort put in to the food and service. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Ocean at Cape Arundel Inn”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our meals at Ocean, located inside the Cape Arundel Inn, were totally delightful. Each dish was perfectly prepared with great attention to detail and flavors. The view of the ocean adds to the ambience of this lovely eatery. The wine list was impressive with something for every taste and at all price points. Dessert was something to behold - so be sure to have dessert there. All staff were experienced, helpful and knew their menu items and able to make suggestions when asked. Overall, this was a very memorable restaurant experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCM475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanManager, Manager at Ocean Cape Arundel Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that your dining experience with us is a unforgettable memory. We look forward to have you back at Ocean.

Sincerely,
Jana Bissonnette
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular Food, Setting, & Value”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The best meal we had during our stay in Maine-- and surprisingly not the most expensive. Fresh ingredients prepared to order. We're talking 5* quality. Perfect portions-- not so little that you leave hungry, but also not belly busting.

Service staff is very friendly. But, this is not 5* dining service. Don't expect to see a crumber or White Barn-like attention. But, that actually makes the restaurant comfortable and the price is right.

Go here for the good and the view- you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank northeaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cape Arundel Inn also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ocean Cape Arundel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing