We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Maine Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Ranked #9 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quintessential Maine Experience!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Anxiously anticipated this little vacation. I prepared myself for disappointment on the drive from Logan as the pictures and articles about the Cottages at Cabot Cove seemed too good to be true. Seriously. It was all TRUE. Enchanting. Relaxing. The lush, natural landscaping and the sounds of just plain nature were divine. And those cottages!!!!

EXACTLY like the pictures. Charming, clean as a whistle and cozy. Screened doors leading out to Adirondack chairs for some reading and reflecting. A few steps down the path is the cove with a little dock stacked with kayaks. Just the sound of my footsteps walking along that path of crushed seashells gently whispered "Hey, you're in Maine".

I'll admit, for about 20 minutes I was a bit perplexed as to how we would make do in such a small space. No problem. Once the clothes were hung up and suitcase stashed out of the way under the bed, the hubs found outlets for electronics and were good to go.

Kitchen had everything, though we just used the fridge and Keurig. Even though this place isn't a B & B, they graciously leave an insulated green bag on a hook outside the door early in the morning. Breakfast. A carafe of OJ and over the days we found muffins, egg sandwiches, yogurt, coffee cake and boiled eggs. A nice start to a lazy day.

Speaking of lazy, I love that this is an unpretentious atmosphere. People were just as un-kept after day 1 as we were! You just don't worry about dressing to go into a lobby or even sit on the porch at some of the other places in town. Relax. Messed up hair and all. I had to remind my husband (a suit and tie guy) to take a shower.

There are bikes available and it was a short (really short) five minute bike ride to the beach just south of the cottages. A short 5 minute bike ride north of the cottages takes you to Dock Square to pick up the daily lobster roll and/or clam strips at the Crab Shack (cash) or to HB Provisions to stock up on libations, snacks and Whoopie Pies! We also grabbed a bite at Market Day. We brought clothes for a nice dinner out, but were too relaxed to pull ourselves together to make the effort to get dressed up. That's what The Cottages at Cabot Cove will do to a person.

As beautiful as some of the new places in town are, my money will go back to these little cottages. I don't need to be seen with the trendy crowd on a vacation. I want to pull my hair up, put on a sweatshirt and eat a Whoopie Pie with a glass of wine (for dinner) in a lovely cottage by a little cove. This is what a getaway in Maine is all about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toomuch2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hello, "Quintessential Maine Experience!",
Thank you for taking the time to write this fabulous review here at Cabot Cove Cottages. You have touched on just about every aspect of our property. "Enchanting. Relaxing. Charming....Whoopie Pie...lush landscaping....sounds of nature... path of crushed seashells" Even though you "prepared yourself for disappointment" I am pleased that we were able to turn that around for you. You are a true testament to anyone who might think Cabot Cove Cottages is too good to be true! It is truly breath-taking! We have a great team on this property to see that we meet or exceed your expectations from the moment of arrival to the time of departure. We are so happy that you loved it here so much and look forward to your return.
Have a wonderful summer! Thank you again such kind words!
Kindest regards,
The management and staff of The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    35
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
213
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had an excellent trip with wonderful lodging at The Cottages at Cabot Cove. They are so special. Really pretty and very efficient for such a small space. We loved the breakfast delivered to our door each morning, too. The location-an easy stroll through beautiful neighborhoods to the little town 10 min. away. We absolutely loved this place.

Room Tip: We were able to see several of the cottages thanks to Linda, the manager. All were just beautiful. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millpond2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear "Super stay...",
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful trip. Thank you for your fabulous review of our property. Its so nice of you to call our cottages special and pretty! We look forward to seeing you again! Have a lovely summer!
Warm regards,
from the management and staff of The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

From the moment we arrived this was a magical trip - myself and my sister and her husband had a great time at our cottage. The breakfast each morning was delicious, the cottage was comfortable and the access to the kayaks and the bikes meant we had a fantastic time. We stayed 3 nights but could easily have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Read carefully what each cabin offers - that way you can pick one that fits in with exactly what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDuBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear "Gorgeous Cottages",
Thank you for your wonderful review of our cottages! We love that you think of The Cottages at Cabot Cove as magical! We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of the cottages aswell as the breakfast each morning. We enjoy delivering right to you at your cottage each morning. The kayaks and bikes are such wonderful activities for our guests! Maybe next time you will stay with us a bit longer. We look forward to seeing you again! We open for the 2014 season in May! Have a A great Spring!
Sincerely,
from the Management and Staff at the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My family and I stayed recently for two nights in Sweet Dreams and the Float In. Beautifully and artfully decorated. Lovely little touches and decor perfect. The size of the rooms are fairly roomy considering they are cottages. (The bedroom too small to put luggage in however so a corner of the living room was used for this purpose)
The setting was simply divine, especially as we had the autumn colors in evidence and the lake was quiet and serene. The breakfast delivery at the door each morning was a nice touch. Light simple fair. The kitchens in both cottages allowing for ample opportunity to cook if you so desired. Large fridges for ample storage. The nautical touches in the Float In we're beautiful with a real ships porthole attached to the bedroom door and lantern light fixture from the ceiling above the dining dining. And the Retro kitchen and hooked rugs in Sweet Dreams, just charming. Overall..a wonderful place to return to each day after sightseeing and didn't feel like leaving in the end!

Room Tip: The "float in" is close to the lake and seemed more secluded than others. Has only another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikpumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "Beautiful cottages...",
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Cottages at Cabot Cove and that you found us 'just charming'. Thank you for such a great review and finding the Cottages 'a wonderful place to return each day after sightseeing.... We know this will be a wonderful place to return each year. We look forward to your next stay with us. Until then have a wonderful winter and see you next year!
Warmest regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 1 night at Cabot Cove on our recent Maine trip, and it was easily the best place we stayed. The cabin we stayed in (Trellis) was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed for our stay. Breakfast was very good; the Whoopie pie upon check-in was wonderful and an added bonus! We didn't stay long enough to enjoy the many things the Cove had to offer (there were bikes, kayaks, etc for guests to use). We were traveling with my parents who stayed in the Harbor Cottage which was also beautifully decorated and a bit roomier than the Trellis. The woman who checked us in/ out was very friendly and made many suggestions for dining and things to do in the area.

Room Tip: "Trellis" was relatively small with regards to the bed and bathroom; we are not big people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "Beautiful Place",
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and in doing so have wonderful guests such as yourselves stay with us year after year. We look forward to seeing you and your family again. Thank you for such a wonderful review.
Until we see you again, have a great rest of the year!
Kind regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watsonville, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

How charming the cottages are set in a circle around Cabot Cove...each with a private sitting area. Individually decorated, you can view interiors online. AND they are look just like the picture. We chose Infatuation and loved our cottage.
Cozy & so cutely decorated with all the comforts of home. A welcome Whoppie Pie welcomes you on table.
Breakfast delivered to your door in little bag between 8 and 830 was perfect- A container of OJ, fruit, muffin or bagle & protein like cheese or hard boiled egg. A perfect get me up& ready to explore breakfast.
we so wanted to use the bikes, but didn't have time.
Weather was just turning cold, but we still had a glass of wine in our garden with blankets!
Plan to return and stay longer & a bit earlier in season- though nice as not too crowded in town.
Would be perfect place to return with other couples & do kayaking & bike riding!

Room Tip: Alll the cottage were cute. Go online and look at interiors to see what colors/decoration you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "LOVED this place!...."
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property here at the Cabot Cove Cottages. It is fabulous to know that you found the cottages to be charming and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you again and quite possibly meeting some of your some friends. Until then have a great winter!
Kindest regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymor, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a 4 day stay at the Cottages at Cabot Cove in Kennebunkport. What a wonderful place! Great staff, yummy little breakfast treats deliverd to your door and a private little cottage that was just perfect for our stay. The cottages are tastefully decorated. Ours was decorated in a French Provence feel - blue and white and yellow and very comfortable. It's tiny but it had everything we could need. They close this weekend, October 28th, but make sure you consider this place for a get away on or off season. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabotcovekport, Manager at The Cottages at Cabot Cove, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "Seaworthy-....",
What lovely things you say about the Cottages at Cabot Cove. Thank you! We are happy that you found Seaworthy to be so wonderful and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again next season. Have a fun winter!
Kind regards,
The management and staff of the Cottages at Cabot Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#11 of 26 in Kennebunkport
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages at Cabot Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages at Cabot Cove

Property: The Cottages at Cabot Cove
Address: 7 S Maine St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cottages at Cabot Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale lodging located on the Cabot Cove. Sixteen pristine, designer decorated cottages. Five star service. Gourmet breakfast bag delivered to your cottage each morning. Picnic lunches, spa services, canoes and kayaks available. The perfect spot in a perfect seaside town. We look forward to welcoming you to Kennebunkport and Cabot Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottages at Cabot Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
The Cottages At Cabot Cove Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing