We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Everything was perfect except the limited amount of time we had! My girlfriend and I came into town on a whim after a cousin's recommendation while driving up the coast. Our visit may have been at the start of off-season but we still were lucky to get their last room!

The room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. It was cold enough that we got to use the fireplace, which was a huge plus!

One of the absolute best features is proximity to restaurants and bars. We walked into town for dinner, drinks and a little Karaoke! The other best feature? Teri! She is so sweet and personable!

This was our first visit to Kennebunkport, and will not be the last. We will return again and when we do, it will be off season again. It is the perfect time to get a real feel for the town and the locals! The autumn coast and crisp air, mixed with a cozy fireplace and warm locals can't be beat. Strongly recommend hitting up Kennebunkport and 1802!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in the house and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Hi Adamo,

You and Britt did have a short visit, but we are so pleased to here that you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for your very kind review - it means a lot to us that you took time to do.

I'm with you, I love Kennebunkport in the autumn when things start quieting down. There's still loads to see, eat, drink and do and we are only a short stroll away from the heart of it all. We will look forward to seeing you again for longer (??) next time.

All the best to you both,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October. Working with Teri on the booking was a breeze she's so great to work with and a fantastic host. The room was perfect we stayed in the Sebago Suite wonderful bathroom, comfy bed and a great sitting room with fireplace . The Inn is located a short walk from downtown which is great after a big meal. Teri's breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start the day. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sebago Suite is the biggest of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Hi Kevin,

It was our pleasure to have you and Eileen as guests. Thank you for your very kind review - so glad that you two enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to drop in at the restaurant and let you cook for us sometime if we're down your way! Best wishes to you both and we will look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
Teri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the 1802 House for a week-end and had a wonderful time. The accommodations were excellent. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Teri is a wonderful host, she made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and restaurant recommendations were great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi Joe,

It was such a pleasure to meet you and Jeannie. Thank you for choosing the 1802 House for your weekend away. We do really appreciate you taking time to give us your very kind comments. Best wishes you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We cannot recommend the 1802 house highly enough. We had a wonderful couple of nights stay back at the beginning of October. Teri was a wonderful host (there to greet us even though we turned up about 5 hours later than we had said!) - recommending great places for us to eat, and booking us a place on a lobster boat which was fantastic fun. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and to top it all off the breakfast was fantastic. We definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi Jonathan,

Good to hear from you. Thank your for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you and Kirsty enjoyed your stay here at the 1802 House. We love getting visitors from 'home' as you know so enjoyed having you as much as it sounds like you enjoyed being here. Our best wishes to you both and we hope to see you again if your travels over the pond bring you back to Maine.

All the best,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was our second time we have stayed here, such a beautiful place. The rooms are gorgeous - decorate so lovely - and our bed was very comfortable - which I could not had said about other places we had stayed previously.

Teri was a wonderful host, she is very knowledgeable about the area plus very pleasant to talk with!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hi Harry and Laura,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We do appreciate that you took time to do for us. We are always pleased to have our previous guests back to visit to get their comments on the changes that we have been making and also their ideas on what else we could do to improve further.

It was a pleasure to visit with you both as well. We hope that you will be able to return again soon.

With best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1802 House for our 6-year anniversary and had a wonderful time. Teri was a fabulous host and gave us a lot of great suggestions for things to do, places to eat, etc. She even provided us chairs, towels, and a parking pass to the best beach in the area...we had such a great time there! We stayed in the biggest suite and it was really lovely having a TV and couch, HUGE jacuzzi tub, and private porch. The only thing that I felt could have been improved upon was the quality of the suite itself. Although it was very large and had a lot of amenities, I felt like there were other rooms in the house that were quite a bit newer and nicer. The suite seemed a bit old...it could use an update. And for being the biggest suite and the most expensive, I think this would be a nice improvement. Other than that, it was a fabulous place and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtneyhuffmanfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Courtney,

Good to hear from you. I hope that you and Jared are both well. Thank you so much for taking time to give us your review. As you know, we purchased the inn last year and have been working on remodeling but only so much we can get done with the time we have had. All of the guest rooms got new luxury bedding and we were able to get three of the six that most needed a remodel done over the winter months when things were quiet. In addition we did the main sitting areas and hallway (upstairs and down). And of course, as our guests always comment, we have focused on ensuring that everything is spotlessly clean throughout the Inn.

Now that things are quieting down this season, we are just getting ready to start remodeling the last three rooms, including the suite. While it's in very good condition from a carpet, paint and wallpaper perspective, the décor is dated as you say. By the end of January 2014, we will have completely remodeled the entire inn...phew! :-)

I will be sending photos in our newsletters as we complete the remodels and I would love to get your feedback when you see them so please do email me with your thoughts if you get a chance.

Thank you again for choosing the 1802 House for your Anniversary stay. We hope you will come back to visit soon.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We discovered the 1802 House while researching places for our honeymoon. We were certainly bombarded with information on accommodations in and around Kennebunkport but the 1802 House couldn't have been more wonderful! After a long drive from Toronto, Canada, Teri greeted us with a warm welcome. Her suggestions for meals and activities were exactly what we wanted. She was an amazing, helpful and kind hostess. We were even left a token of congratulations for our wedding in our room, which we were extremely touched by. A picture perfect place of serenity that was ideal for our honeymoon. To top it all off breakfast was divine!! The egg soufflee was delicious and all the breakfast treats were made with love! We will definitely return for an anniversary trip.

Room Tip: We were in the Berwick room, which was on the first floor, easily accessible and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hi Casey,

So good to hear from you. We really enjoyed having you and David stay with us on your honeymoon too! It made me smile to see the photos you loaded up on our page. That's exactly how I remember you - relaxing in the autumn sun enjoying a glass of wine in the gardens. :-)

We can't thank you enough for your very kind review. It really means a lot to us, and our staff, when our guests are so generous with their praise of the Inn.

Once again, we wish you two a long and happy life together and will look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

With best wishes,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#10 of 25 in Kennebunkport
329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Locke St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £96 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing