We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful respite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just experienced a lovely overnight at the 1802 House. Within walking distance to about anything, it is immaculate, very comfortable and delivers a delicious breakfast. The host, Teri, could not be more welcoming and happy to assist in any way possible. We would definitely stay again

Room Tip: We liked the bright and sunny Camden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Hi Elizabeth and Sarg,

Thank you for your very kind review. The Camden room has become one of our most popular after it's remodel. We're so glad that you both enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!

Best wishes to you both for a Happy Holiday,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
265
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Spent the weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years. This one is a wonderful find. A short walk or even shorter drive to the shopping area. The Inn is off the "beaten path", very quiet area. The room was cozy and warm, nicely appointed. But for me the best was that Teri was willing to accommodate some diet restrictions for my wife. That for me, made the stay perfect. Anyone who enjoys B&B's will certainly enjoy the 1802, we could not have asked for a more perfect weekend. Any return trips to the area have become much easier and less time consuming as I will look no farther then the 1802 for future stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MITeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hi Frank,

Thank you for your kind review - so glad that you and Laura both enjoyed your stay here at the 1802 House and in Kennebunkport. Catering for our guests with dietary restrictions is no problem at all and you made it even easier by giving us some advanced notice when you made the reservation! It was a pleasure to meet you and we will look forward to seeing you both again in the future. We wish you a good Thanksgiving and hope you have a wonderful, happy holiday and new year.

With best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from a fall foliage trip to New England and by luck found the 1802 house on a bed and breakfast web page. We love to travel both here and around the world, and when we can, we stay in bed and breakfasts. The 1802 House ranks in the top five of places we have stayed both here and abroad. Terry, our host, was absolutely perfect with her recommendations and her wonderful gourmet breakfasts. Our room was absolutely lovely and luxurious! The inn was immaculate and so tastefully decorated. I cannot say enough how wonderful our stay was there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Greetings Jerry,

I can't thank you enough for your very kind words and praise for the Inn. I'm sure I told you how much we love this property and being in Kennebunkport. It's such a pleasure to hear from our guests how special they think it is as well.

We enjoyed meeting you and Judi and hope that you will get the chance to come back and visit in the future when you are next on the east coast visiting with your friends and family.

Best wishes to you both!
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Everything was perfect except the limited amount of time we had! My girlfriend and I came into town on a whim after a cousin's recommendation while driving up the coast. Our visit may have been at the start of off-season but we still were lucky to get their last room!

The room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. It was cold enough that we got to use the fireplace, which was a huge plus!

One of the absolute best features is proximity to restaurants and bars. We walked into town for dinner, drinks and a little Karaoke! The other best feature? Teri! She is so sweet and personable!

This was our first visit to Kennebunkport, and will not be the last. We will return again and when we do, it will be off season again. It is the perfect time to get a real feel for the town and the locals! The autumn coast and crisp air, mixed with a cozy fireplace and warm locals can't be beat. Strongly recommend hitting up Kennebunkport and 1802!

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in the house and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Adamo,

You and Britt did have a short visit, but we are so pleased to here that you enjoyed it so much! Thank you for your very kind review - it means a lot to us that you took time to do.

I'm with you, I love Kennebunkport in the autumn when things start quieting down. There's still loads to see, eat, drink and do and we are only a short stroll away from the heart of it all. We will look forward to seeing you again for longer (??) next time.

All the best to you both,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Attleboro Ma.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October. Working with Teri on the booking was a breeze she's so great to work with and a fantastic host. The room was perfect we stayed in the Sebago Suite wonderful bathroom, comfy bed and a great sitting room with fireplace . The Inn is located a short walk from downtown which is great after a big meal. Teri's breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start the day. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sebago Suite is the biggest of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi Kevin,

It was our pleasure to have you and Eileen as guests. Thank you for your very kind review - so glad that you two enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to drop in at the restaurant and let you cook for us sometime if we're down your way! Best wishes to you both and we will look forward to seeing you again!

Best wishes,
Teri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the 1802 House for a week-end and had a wonderful time. The accommodations were excellent. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Teri is a wonderful host, she made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and restaurant recommendations were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Joe,

It was such a pleasure to meet you and Jeannie. Thank you for choosing the 1802 House for your weekend away. We do really appreciate you taking time to give us your very kind comments. Best wishes you both and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Teri, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We cannot recommend the 1802 house highly enough. We had a wonderful couple of nights stay back at the beginning of October. Teri was a wonderful host (there to greet us even though we turned up about 5 hours later than we had said!) - recommending great places for us to eat, and booking us a place on a lobster boat which was fantastic fun. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and to top it all off the breakfast was fantastic. We definitely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1802House, Owner at 1802 House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Jonathan,

Good to hear from you. Thank your for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you and Kirsty enjoyed your stay here at the 1802 House. We love getting visitors from 'home' as you know so enjoyed having you as much as it sounds like you enjoyed being here. Our best wishes to you both and we hope to see you again if your travels over the pond bring you back to Maine.

All the best,
Teri & Roger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1802 House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1802 House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1802 House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Locke St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1802 House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 3 Diamond Southern Maine bed and breakfast is one of Kennebunkport's finest historic Inns. We offer understated, casual luxury in our 19th century restored colonial. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood, we are only a short stroll from Dock Square. Our rooms are well appointed with queen size beds, many have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. A three course gourmet breakfast is served each morning. 1802 House is an ideal destination for relaxation and as a base to explore everything coastal Maine has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1802 House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1802 House Bed And Breakfast Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing