We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2007

We selected the Captain Fairfield Inn based on the write-up in Trip Advsior. This B&B is ideally located close to town so can walk to almost everything. We stayed in one of the King bedrooms located downstairs. The bed was very comfortable, but the room even with a little sitting area is not very big. We loved the breakfast served each morning.......the best french toast with maple icing I have ever tasted. The staff were all very nice and helpful. Recommend if you want to dine in a lovely setting and and dress up a bit, try On the Marsh restaurant. For great clam chowder go to the Arundel Wharf within walking distance from the B&B. All in all a nice stay, but disappointed the leaves hadn't turned colors yet which was the main reason for our visit.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadiParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
527
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
central NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2007

The fact that I returned for a sixth time probably says it all. I have now stayed in 5 of the nine rooms. (Yes, my goal is to stay in all of them at least once!) Its size is one of its charms, unlike larger inns which have more of the feel of a hotel. This was the first stay for my companion and he is now hooked on the inn experience. Each room is lovely and so are the common areas. Location is ideal, close enough to walk into town. The innkeepers are wonderful and do anything and everything they can to make you feel at home. Until my visit last month, I had traveled there alone. I was never made to feel less important because I was a woman traveling alone. Breakfasts are wonderful. Who can resist eggs benedict and 72 layer cream cheese biscuits on a Sunday morning. I am already anticipating visit number 7.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LoVeinncentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2007

My Mother and I took a long weekend to Maine to enjoy nature's fall colors and stayed at this lovely period inn in Kennebunkport. Walking distance to downtown but far enough away to enjoy nature’s beauty. A step back in time with modern amenities and a gourmet breakfast served by friendly and courteous staff! It’s all in the details and these innkeepers have only their guests in mind. Highly recommended to adults of all ages.

Helpful?
Thank 93Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

My husband and I have been to Kennebunkport several times and always stay at the Captain Fairfields. The rooms are very nicely done, not too fussy and very comfortable. The inn is very cozy and is walking distance to the center. We enjoyed chatting with the innkeepers, who were very helpful and informative. They made dinner reservations for us both nights and offered to make any other arrangements we might need. The inn offers two different breakfasts each day, with a few little extra touches. We also liked Peter's afternoon cookies and butterscotch crumbcake! The innkeepers definately want to make you feel right at home and take great care of you. I would definately recommend this inn to anyone who would like to enjoy the Kennebunkport area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank mom3boysboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

October 2007
In October we visited The Captain Fairfield Inn in Kennebunkport Maine. This was our second experience in a bed and breakfast. It far exceeded our expectations. I had made arrangements for a rose to be in the room upon our arrival and it was there and it was beautiful. They even put it in a vase for us when we went to dinner. When we arrived we had no plans for dinner and the the inn keeper made a suggestion and called for our reservations.
Each morning we had a gourmet four course breakfast. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. They served eggs Benedict, french toast with maple syrup mixed with walnuts, quiche, pancakes stuffed with small chunks of apples, fruit, muffins, and a juice of orange juice mixed with bananas. The rooms were cleaned and serviced each day we were there.
During our stay, there were several people who had been in Kennebunkport before and had stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn. They enjoyed it before and enjoyed it more this visit. Staying at the Captain Fairfield Inn was a thoroughly enjoyable experience!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank readaloud1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Captain Fairfield Inn in Kennebunkport, Maine, is one of the best B&Bs we have experienced. This was our second trip to the area and loved the inn the first go around, so we booked a second time. We were there for four nights, and each morning were impressed with the breakfasts. Peter's cooking was fabulous...our first course consisted of fruit and/or yogurt with homemade granola, our second course was either a muffin filled with blueberries & cranberries, a 72 layer cream cheese biscuit, or a fabulous butterscotch coffee cake followed by either an omelette with various ingredients or made from scratch pancakes with a variety of fruit sauces. Jenny, Leigh, and Rob were incredible hosts. Our every need was met. Leigh gave us suggestions on driving tours of the coast and fall foliage. Our room was very cozy and comfy. The linens were incredible! The atmosphere of the inn was so friendly that we are planning our next trip back and will experience another stay in one of their many fabulous rooms. We highly recommend a stay at the inn! Guy & Cindy

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fiestamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Captain Fairfield for 2 nights and had aa wonderful time. The location is great, in a very quiet little street, 2 minute walk from the centre of Kennebunkport.

Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated (yes the floor boards do creak sometimes - as per the prevois review. BUT that is what old properties do!)

Peter & Jennifer were great, they gave us lots of information on where to visit and to eat (you must try Mables Lobstar Claw, 10 minute walk from the Inn, the food is fantastic)

The breakfasts were fantastic.

We would highly recommend the Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mark17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing