We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway at the Captain Fairfield Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence
2 reviews
“Wonderful getaway at the Captain Fairfield Inn”
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Date: December 10, 2007
Reviewer: CA from Providence, RI

My friends and I have just return from our weekend at the Captain Fairfield Inn during Kennybunkport's Christmas Prelude and have been going for the past 8 years, staying at the Captain Fairfield Inn, and it is always magical. The innkeepers treat us like family and make our stay a memorable experience. The service is impeccable. Breakfast is always creative, innovative and delicious. The rooms are always being updated. The entire inn has a festive ambience for the holiday season. We've already booked for 2008! Perfect litte getway during Christmas or anytime.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank CAAProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    75
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
537
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2007

We had a fantastic time at the Captain Fairfield Inn. The location is perfect...right around the corner from all of the shops and restaurants in downtown Kennebunkport. The room was great...very spacious, a warm fireplace, a huge bed, a couch and the bathroom had a old-fashioned tub and a seperate shower. Peter and Jenny, the resident inn-keepers were incredibly nice and helpful. They made a delicious breakfast every morning...and they created a warm...but not overbearing atmosphere. We would highly recommend staying at the Captain Fairfield Inn!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bostoncocoa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2007

I stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn with my husband and another twenty-something couple over the Thanksgiving holiday. The Inn was impeccably clean, the rooms were exquisitely comfortable and the homemade hors d'oeuvres, desserts and gourmet breakfasts were outstanding. Jenny and Peter, the innkeepers, were friendly, relatable, involved and accommodating. We had a fabulous time sampling Peter's delicious cuisine (he's a professional chef) while swapping stories with Jenny, who -- like me -- is from Minnesota (she has certainly brought a healthy dose of "Minnesota nice" to Kennebunkport!). The Captain Fairfield offered us the quintessential bed and breakfast stay, with equal doses of elegance and warmth. By far the best and most home-like place we have stayed on the east coast.

The Inn is steps from the shops and great restaurants (we recommend organic cafe Bandaloop) of downtown Kennebunkport, and is less than an hour from Freeport (home of the L.L. Bean flagship store) and Portland.

The Captain Fairfield Inn offers unequivocal comfort, style and sophistication for travelers of all ages -- do not miss it!

  • Liked — The innkeepers, the gourmet breakfasts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CTSeasonedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, MA
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2007

My husband and I and my brother and sister-in-law enjoyed a two day Thanksgiving Holiday at the Captain Fairfield Inn on November 21st and 22nd, 2007. It was really a wonderful experience. The owners of the inn, Leigh and Rob were very gracious and welcoming. The resident innkeepers Peter and Jenny were very hospitable and made us feel right at home. We enjoyed the hors d' oeuvres Wednesday evening in the living room in front of a lovely fireplace. We had Thanksgiving dinner at the acclaimed Pier 77 Restaurant. Peter made Thanksgiving dessert in the evening at 6:00 PM. Peter is a gourmet cook and his desserts were suberb. I especially enjoyed the chocolate peanut brittle and the cheesecake. The breakfast were a gourmet feast and the presentation of them was a work of art.
The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated. We had a fireplace in our room and we enjoyed the warmth of the fire. We had a wonderful stay at this lovely inn and I highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Marnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Just recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Catain Fairfield Inn, and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband and I are not really the "Inn" types, but after having read such glowing reviews on trip advisor we decided to give it a try. We could not have been happier with our decision. The inn is just beautiful. All of the innkeepers are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was fantastic, excellent gourmet breakfast in a very nice dining room. Our room itself was great, we stayed in the Kennebunkport room, and found it to be private, clean, really just perfect. I would highly recommend this lovely Inn, and look forward to when we can return again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank jacey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

This is a lovely, lovely place with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (including my own!) The breakfasts were yummy and the attention to detail was outstanding. We were there in February and there was not too much to do, but we relaxed in our lovely room and enjoyed the fireplace and the tranquility. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Liked — Bed was fabulous!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphingirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We went to the Captain Fairfield Inn for a quiet 4 day weekend in November and were very pleasantly surprised with the friendliness, cleanliness and hospitality extended during our stay. Leigh was very gracious, Rob was the gourmet chef that whipped up incredible breakfasts and the entire staff was very helpful. There are other places to stay in Kennebunkport, but there is no place else for us to stay in the future!

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing