We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I decided to give ourselves a trip for Christmas this year instead of individual gifts. The Captain Fairfield was one of the first Inns we saw online. We loved the look of the place from the website and called immediately to book our room. We could not have been happier with our experience. First of all, Peter and Jennifer are two of the nicest people you can meet. They are incredibly friendly and take meticulous care of the inn. Our room was spotless (and the gas fireplace truly made the room!) The breakfast was incredible! We stayed over during a snowstorm and awoke to find the walkways clear and our vehicle cleared of snow! The Inn is also just a short walk away from the shops and restaurants in Kennebunkport Center. Peter and Jennifer made my wife and I truly feel pampered. We cannot wait to book our next trip to the Captain Fairfield!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JWJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    75
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
59
537
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, MA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for our 1 year anniversary (in September). I'm delayed in writing this but I guess no better day than New Year's to give credit where it is due. The Inn was exceptional. As the innkeepers showed us to our room (Library) the horse and carriage happened to be strolling by - it seemed like ths was staged....but it wasn't - this place was really that quaint. The room was clean and just as pictured on their website - we were so happy with it. We loved the daily, cooked to order breakfasts and the afternoon cookies. I would recommend the Captain Fairfield Inn to anyone looking an enjoyable, friendly, getaway to Kennebunkport.

  • Liked — Location is phenomenal - convenient to everything and such a quaint, friendly place.
  • Disliked — I didn't find the cookies until our second day!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyearsday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2007

What an excellent stay we had over a four night period. The hospitality was excellent, the food was outstanding and the room was very comfortable.
Lovely couple run the Inn, availble if you need them, but not intrusive.
The location is at the heart of Kennebunkport, easy walking to restaurants through the period streets.
First snow of the season whilst we were there, so this made it a magical setting.
Thanks for making us so welcome.

Will be going again next year, good luck to Peter and Jennifer.

  • Liked — Hospitality afforded to us.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSPOakham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Well, I had an opportunity to visit Kennebunkport in the winter, the quiet season as they say. I was a little concerned about how much there is to do up there but I figured we might do some cross-country skiing and shopping for the holidays. As far as I can tell, Kennebunkport is even better in the off-season than during the summer. There are no crowds, there is fine dining, there is shopping, and there are outdoor winter activities. On Saturday our resident innkeepers came to us early in the morning with the idea of taking a sleigh ride. Now, I have never done such a thing but figured what the heck. We were the only two people to arrive for the ride and so we were treated to a private ride, pulled by a single draught horse. As we rode along our guide brought the horse to a fast paced trot and so, indeed we did go dashing through the snow, in a one horse open sleigh. We had a lovely time, our innkeepers were lovely people, they were both thoughtful and attentive. The room, the Lois Walker, was romantic and when the conditions changed to a white out snow storm, we extended the stay another day and really enjoyed the weekend. We will be going back again next year as we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — The comfort of the beds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bhmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Date: December 10, 2007
Reviewer: CA from Providence, RI

My friends and I have just return from our weekend at the Captain Fairfield Inn during Kennybunkport's Christmas Prelude and have been going for the past 8 years, staying at the Captain Fairfield Inn, and it is always magical. The innkeepers treat us like family and make our stay a memorable experience. The service is impeccable. Breakfast is always creative, innovative and delicious. The rooms are always being updated. The entire inn has a festive ambience for the holiday season. We've already booked for 2008! Perfect litte getway during Christmas or anytime.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank CAAProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2007

We had a fantastic time at the Captain Fairfield Inn. The location is perfect...right around the corner from all of the shops and restaurants in downtown Kennebunkport. The room was great...very spacious, a warm fireplace, a huge bed, a couch and the bathroom had a old-fashioned tub and a seperate shower. Peter and Jenny, the resident inn-keepers were incredibly nice and helpful. They made a delicious breakfast every morning...and they created a warm...but not overbearing atmosphere. We would highly recommend staying at the Captain Fairfield Inn!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bostoncocoa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2007

I stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn with my husband and another twenty-something couple over the Thanksgiving holiday. The Inn was impeccably clean, the rooms were exquisitely comfortable and the homemade hors d'oeuvres, desserts and gourmet breakfasts were outstanding. Jenny and Peter, the innkeepers, were friendly, relatable, involved and accommodating. We had a fabulous time sampling Peter's delicious cuisine (he's a professional chef) while swapping stories with Jenny, who -- like me -- is from Minnesota (she has certainly brought a healthy dose of "Minnesota nice" to Kennebunkport!). The Captain Fairfield offered us the quintessential bed and breakfast stay, with equal doses of elegance and warmth. By far the best and most home-like place we have stayed on the east coast.

The Inn is steps from the shops and great restaurants (we recommend organic cafe Bandaloop) of downtown Kennebunkport, and is less than an hour from Freeport (home of the L.L. Bean flagship store) and Portland.

The Captain Fairfield Inn offers unequivocal comfort, style and sophistication for travelers of all ages -- do not miss it!

  • Liked — The innkeepers, the gourmet breakfasts
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CTSeasonedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing