We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, nice breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Fairfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Convenient location, nice breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

After reading all the favourable reviews of the Captain Fairfield Inn, Kennebunkport we were really looking forward to our stay there. However, having just returned from a four nights stay at the Inn we felt a bit let down. On their website they advertise quality frette designer bed linens which turned out to be microfiber bed sheets. Nylon bed sheets are not what you expect from an Inn who defines itself as a “boutique bed and breakfast experience.” Thank goodness the weather was on the cool side as the air conditioning unit in the room was very noisy and could not be used; combined with the microfiber bedding this would have made sleeping in that room very uncomfortable.
Despite being disappointed with some aspects of our stay there were many things we enjoyed such as:
It’s well-located and only and a short walk to some great restaurants and shops in the town.
The young couple who run the Inn are extremely pleasant.
The breakfast each morning was delicious and well presented.
Most of the Inn has had a contemporary make over and is very stylish.
Our room was adequate and clean as was the bathroom although we felt it was a bit overpriced for its size.
Overall, we shall definitely return to Kennebunkport as the town and surrounding area is postcard-perfect and the local restaurants and shops delightful. If noisy air conditioner units and microfiber bedding are not to your liking, I would avoid room four (the Captain Fairfield room).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We are so sorry that your expectations for Frette linens was not met. We recently changed to super-soft new microfiber linens and that information had not yet been updated on our website. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our gourmet breakfasts, contemporary style and the service of Jed and Alana. All the best to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
522
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The Captain Fairfield Inn is a trendy little inn in Kennebunkport. The rooms are small for the price, but it was comfortable. The staff was helpful with recommending places to eat nearby. The breakfast every morning was nice. It's location is good as well, you can walk anywhere. Overall it was a nice place to stay. I would stay out of the library room if a noisy air unit and lights directly pointed to the windows would bother you.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts and stellar location. Your recommendation means a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have been to Kennebunkport Maine every year since 1980. I usually stay in a rental house on Drakes Island or the Kennebunkport Inn. This weekend was booked so I thought I'd try something else in town and I'm so glad I did!

This updated upscale but casually comfortable historic home turned bed and breakfast has been a delight since our arrival. The owners are very sincere and accommodating, the room is very comfortable, the bathroom spotless and the extra touches like giving us an iPad for our use, the spa music in our room, the wonderful bath amenities, rain shower and fireplace in our room made
The stay very enjoyable.

Its location just about a half mile from Dock Square helped it be quiet and private yet easily accessible.

Well worth it and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are so glad you gave us a try! Wonderful to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed all the modern amenities at our Kennebunkport boutique inn. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope that we've become one of your "go-to's" in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Captain Fairfield Inn is in a lovely, quiet location and walking distance to town. Very chic, minimalist décor – which is nice, but does not really go with colonial style house. . Onsite parking, which is a plus since parking in town can be a challenge. Staff was very friendly, warm and helpful. Tasty breakfasts included in the room rates… fruit dish, fresh pastry and egg dish with sge or bacon. Yummy chocolate chip cookies in the afternoons. Beverages available from honor bar as well as coffee & teas. Common rooms were ok, very dark and not cozy and inviting. They did have a wine tasting room where you could arrange an event. We stayed in a King room. Room is good size, with large TV (important for the men), AC (noisy) and bed was fairly comfy. Bathroom was small and dated. Really it was not up to par with look of the Inn or how they advertise. Overall it’s a nice Inn, but we really wish they made it a bit more cozy or warm place to stay. I think the fact that we never saw anyone in the common rooms was a sign that even on a crummy day they were not inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are pleased that you found our team warm and helpful and that you enjoyed our great breakfasts and central location. While not your cup of tea, our common rooms, designed by the fabulous Rachel Reider, do appeal to many guests and are often used as a place to enjoy a glass of wine or read a book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, loved the updated decor & the little touches, like cookies and wine upon arrival. (Though now that I see that someone else got a Dark & Stormy, I would have preferred that!)

We stayed in the Vineyard Vines room & it was very cute. Breakfast was delightful and the location is perfect for wandering around town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leafarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed the wine and cookies upon arrival, our breakfasts and our fantastic location in the heart of Kennebunkport. Thank you so much for your kind review. Please do visit us again on your next visit East and we'll make sure you get Dark & Stormy drinks if you book the vineyard vines suite again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osterville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked the Vineyard Vines suite for a stay in mid-August and it was adorable. The whole place is incredibly stylish - but it doesn't overwhelm the historic nature of the home. A perfect blend of old and new. Upon arrival, I was offered the signature Vineyard Vines drink (a Dark 'n Stormy) which was a great touch. The room was beautifully styled with a great separate sitting area. The location couldn't be better - you can walk to town, shops, restaurants or beaches. The back yard is perfectly appointed and was the ideal spot for morning coffee with a book. The hosts are so great - even after I passed on breakfast she brought me a few fresh madelines just in case I wanted something earlier (which I did!). Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the vineyard vines suite and your entire experience at our boutique Kennebunkport inn. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location, stylish look, comfy outdoor lounge and the service of Alana and Jed. Please come stay at Captain Fairfield again on your next visit East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Hessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife, my 11 year old son and me went to the Captain Fairfield's Inn in mid August. It was our last stay of a 3 week voyage in the States. And we got everything we asked for: peace, hospitality, nice rooms, amazing food and authenticity. Alana and Jed are the perfect hosts. Everything you read about them on the Inn's website is true. We could have stayed for a couple of weeks longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We are so pleased that your family had a lovely stay at Captain Fairfield Inn. It was a pleasure to cap off your visit to the US! Alana and Jed do a great job and it so nice to hear that you found them to be the perfect hosts. We hope you'll stay with us again at Lark Hotels the next time you travel to New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing