We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect November Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect November Getaway!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Booked one night via Jetsetter.com for a steal! From the moment I read the tripadvisor reviews I knew this place would be amazing. This B&B definitely delivered! Alana and Jed took care of us like no other hotel I have ever been to. And yes, the rumors are true, the chocolate chip cookies were out of this world! At check in we were given an ipad with easy to navigate pages for acitivites/restaurants in the area and also a glass of chilled white wine. What a way to unwind! The breakfast the following morning was one of the best I've ever had. Our guest room was modern and I really liked how the inn kept much of the historic feel while having very modern touches. I can not WAIT to go back but for at least two nights!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We love that you say our boutique Kennebunkport inn "kept much of the historic feel while having very modern touches." That was exactly our intent! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Jed and Alana took great care of you. They love what they do and it means a lot when guests comment on their extraordinary service. We hope you'll return again soon. There'll be cookies and wine awaiting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
529
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stetson, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have a tradition of going on a 1 night holiday to celebrate our anniversary each year, looking for interesting places within about 3 hours drive from home. This year was our 41st. Selected Captain Fairfield Inn based on Kennebunkport location, Tripadvisor reviews, and Jetsetter sale price. everything was as advertised. Wine and cookies on arrival, comfortable room, well laid out. Helpful, pleasant staff. Excellent full breakfast. Great value, particularly with Jetsetter discount.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeStetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at Captain Fairfield Inn. We appreciate you choosing us and we are so glad you have a lovely stay to celebrate your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Have just returned to the UK having spent 4 days at the Captain Fairfield with Alana and Jed. This is the third of the chain of Lark Hotels we have stayed in and it did not disappoint. I'm sure there are a number of good gust houses to stay at in Kennebunkport we happened to go here on past experience with this small group of Boutique guest houses....it's first class and a real pleasure to end our two week stay with these guys. Well done to all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks so much for your recommendation! We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time at Captain Fairfield Inn as well as at all our Lark Hotels. We are adding new boutique properties soon, so be on the look out. We look forward to your next visit from the UK - either again in Kennebunkport or at one of our other locations. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We flew in from the Midwest and had an excellent stay at the Captain Fairfield. The breakfast was awesome, location was within walking distance of everything to do in Kennebunport. Rooms and facilities were clean and everyone was friendly. Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #9 that was at the end and had a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for your review. We greatly appreciate your kind words! Please visit us again the next time you travel east from Omaha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericho, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Traveling to southern Connecticut? If so, stop at the Captain Fairfield Inn, located in beautiful Kennebunkport, home of the Bush family and some awesome inn keepers.

You won't find a friendlier family-run B & B, with great rooms, a beautiful common space and a fabulous breakfast. The price is reasonable, and it's a great stopping-off point for exploration of this beautiful town.

Room Tip: They're all nice. I think ours was the least expensive, and it was terrific anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks for your recommendation for our southern Maine boutique inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our lovely lounge, rooms, and gourmet breakfasts made such an impression. Please come again soon for Jed and Alana's exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I loved my short stay at the Captain Fairfield Inn. We were welcomed by two lovely people who helped us to our room with our bags. Then we were taken on a tour of the hotel, it was so charming and nice. We ate these marvelous cookies that were homemade in the community kitchen, where you can buy wine and beer or enjoy a free soda on the house.

Also, when we checked in we were given an Ipad that had all sorts of suggestions of what to do, activities, where to eat, history, the hotel blog, it was great. Once we had stuffed ourselves full of cookies and diet coke, we went up to the room. There was soothing music playing the bed looked so wonderful, and it was (room 9).

After we went and explored Kennebunkport and ate some delicious sea food, we came back to the hotel and went downstairs for some milk and a movie. There is a full cabinet of movies and games that you can borrow and watch or play. The icing on the cake was when we went to leave our room the next morning, there was a basket full of food and coffee and these adorable mini mason jars filled with orange juice. I mean there is nothing missing from this hotel experience. It may be a small hotel, but I think that is what gives it the personality it has.

Literally this was probably the best hotel I have stayed at. It was charming, customer service was great, would definitely go back.

Missing it already,

Madelyn Randolph

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best. It is in the back on the hotel on the second floor. The bed is outstanding and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We are missing you too, Madelyn! Thanks so dearly for your charming and detailed review. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and dubbed us "probably the best hotel you've stayed at." It means a lot. Hope to see you again if your travels bring you back East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We have just left The Captain Fairfield after two nights and three days staying as part of a New England tour that we are doing. Having spent our previous nights in a fab boutique hotel in Cape Cod, The Captain fairfiled had a lot to live up to. It succeeded and we felt welcome and were very comfortable throughout our stay? Alana and Jed were great hosts and Jed your blueberry scones were to die for....thank you for the two you give us when we left. The hotel is in a wonderfully quite and pretty residential street just a few steps from the sea front and a 5 min walk into the town, you really couldn't ask for a better location. We hired bikes and cycled around the coast route and had lunch at Cape Porpoise which was great. We had tea in the town and simply strolling around Kennebunkport was a relaxing joy. The hotel was fab, had parking right outside, spotlessly clean rooms, mattresses on the bed deeper than I have ever seen before. Breakfast was great and home cooked with a small pantry to get drinks from whenever you want. The only part we didn't like was the main common room but that is purely down to personal taste and it wasn't ours.......however we didn't need to use it so it didn't matter. Alana also choose a great restaurant for us for dinner which she booked in advance which was a great help. We have very happy memories of our stay - thanks Alana and Jed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank julienicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Well -- we are so pleased that we lived up to your high expectations! Sounds like Jed and Alana took very good care of you and that you loved our central Kennebunkport location and super-comfy beds. Jed's blueberry scones truly are "to die for" and we are glad that you got some for the road. Please visit us again the next time you "hop the pond" for New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing