We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My first B&B stay and it was one of the best travel weekends of my life. The inn keepers Alana, Jed and Jessica are all top notch and very welcoming. Jed cooks amazing breakfasts each morning while Alana and Jessica provide wonderful service. Not a negative thing to say about this place, if you're looking for a place to getaway in New England I can almost guarantee a great experience at Cpt. Fairfield Inn and Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: The "Breakwater" room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekrub10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Well, it certainly means a lot to hear that the team at our boutique Kennebunkport inn provided you with one of the best weekends of your life! We are so pleased that you greatly enjoyed your Maine getaway, and your praise of Jed, Alana and Jessica is icing on our cake this week. Please come visit again whenever you need another sneak away to New England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked Captain Fairfield after having found it on Jetsetter. By the time we went to book the deal had expired but it looked so good and the reviews were so positive we booked anyways! We basically chose our destination of Kennebunkport based on Captain Fairfield Inn (wanting a Winter getaway somewhere cozy with a fireplace in the room) and were very happy with the results!

We stayed for two nights just after Christmas, though due to a blizzard were able to add a third night. We stayed in the Sweet Liberty room which was tastefully appointed, cozy (fireplace) and immaculately clean. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts with fresh squeezed juices, a variety of flavors and choices over each morning, and friendly (but not in your face) service. We also enjoyed the fresh cookies set out each day (the chocolate chip with sea salt were truly delicious), and also the kitchen area where you could help yourself to a variety of yummy refreshments and then just write on a ledger so they could add it to your room bill. Alana and Jed were gracious hosts, and the perfect balance between available/friendly yet also giving you space and privacy. They were helpful with restaurant recommendations, as well as cross country ski info, and were more than happy to call and see what was still open after the snow storm. They had a fire roaring in the pleasant common room, and made sure all walkways were free of snow and ice for guests. Each room also had an ipad with lots of local info, which proved helpful for checking menus, calling local businesses, and reading about quaint Kennebunkport.


The location was ideal as we were able to walk to some outstanding restaurants (recommended by Jed and Alana), pubs and shops. There are some great old houses right in the neighborhood too, so it was a great place to take a stroll around.

I would recommend this property to anyone, as well as the Sweet Liberty room. We look forward to staying again and have enthusiastically recommended Capt. Fairfield to family and friends.

Room Tip: Swwet Liberty has windows facing the quiet street and a park so allows for a very nice view with lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EABradle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Aren't those chocolate chip with sea salt cookies simply killer!? When we had our Lark Hotels team building session at Captain Fairfield Inn recently I think our entire team packed on the pounds from those things! We are so pleased that you greatly enjoyed your stay and the service at our boutique Kennebunkport inn. Jed & Alana and the inn staff are very knowledgable about where to eat and what to do in Kennebunkport and the Southern Maine Coast. It's great to hear that their insights and the comfort of our Sweet Liberty room made your stay so memorable. We look forward to your next visit to Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After spotting Captain Fairfield Inn on Jetsetter, I was convinced that my husband and I needed to spend Labor Day weekend in Kennebunkport. This is probably the first time that I've chosen a vacation destination based on a hotel/inn. But it turned out to be a truly fantastic decision. We discovered that Jed and Alana were also from the Kansas City area when booking our trip, so it seemed even more fateful...

Prior to our stay, Jed and Alana made (excellent) dining recommendations and helped us schedule a sunset sail and lobster boat trip, which super helpful.

We arrived verrrrrry late due to a series of airport delays and discovered a note left out for us with instructions on how to get to our room, the honor bar (um, amazing) and info about breakfast. We were booked in the "Rachel" room, which was just as adorable as it is in pictures. The only thing that was disappointing (and truly - the only thing disappointing about the inn and why I didn't give it a perfect rating) was the bathroom, which was dated compared to the bedroom. Storage was also minimal, which wasn't a huge deal, but is something to consider.

We slept in every morning except our last and were delighted to find a hot breakfast and coffee waiting for us outside our door. We ate breakfast in bed while plotting our day.

Kennebunkport is a charming town (so much so that we wistfully talked about moving there while sipping cocktails and looking at the water) and the location of the Inn is perfect for exploring. It's just a short walk to Town Square, filled with tons of cute shops and delicious restaurants. The beach and a few other restaurants are about a mile away, but it's a nice walk and totally worth it.

One night, it started to rain while we were walking home from dinner, so we ran back to the inn, grabbed a bottle of wine from the honor bar, a few board games and a DVD and enjoyed the rest of the night back in our room. It was perfect.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and greatly enjoyed Jed and Alana's hospitality (and delicious cooking). We would absolutely stay at Captain Fairfield Inn again and are planning a return trip to Kennebunkport this year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

We are pleased that you so greatly enjoyed your stay at our boutique Kennebunkport inn. It means a LOT to hear that we were your destination for a New England getaway. We also appreciate your kind words about the friendliness and concierge services of our staff. They are a great team. You'll be happy to hear that over the past few months, the bathroom in the Rachel room received a makeover! Plus, we completely renovated our popular first floor suite, now called the Lark Suite. Check our website for new photos later this month. We look forward to your return trip in 2014!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We drove up this past Friday night in just horrendous traffic from Boston but once we arrived our mood changed instantly when we were greeted by Jed at the front door who handed us glasses of wine and a welcoming smile. He proceed to show us all around the Inn, provided a couple of Great recommendations for dinner, showed us how to work the TV and Apple TV functions, helped us turn on the fireplace, and gave us an I PAD to assist with anything and everything we needed. The room was elegant and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a secluded room at the back of the Inn with tons of light and windows which was perfect to watch the snowfall on Saturday evening. Breakfast was incredible and gourmet like which we truly enjoyed on Saturday morning. I must say, we decided to sleep in on Sunday and my girlfriend Melanie was going downstairs to get us some coffee when she discovered Jed and Alana had left us breakfast outside the front door which we then enjoyed in bed. It was an Awesome surprise which further cemented our feeling of Nirvana about the Inn and the Innkeepers. The location is also fabulous in the fact that all the restaurants and shops are within a five minute walk of the Inn. I must say if you are looking for a beautiful, elegant and quaint Inn where comfort, service, and location is at the top of your list... Look No Further. Thanks Jed and Alana for making my Birthday weekend in Kennebunkport so Special

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekingNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Nirvana in Maine. We love it! Everyone should feel pampered and cozy on their birthday getaway and we are so pleased that our Kennebunkport boutique inn could provide that cocoon of relaxation for you. It is nice to hear that our central location, great breakfasts and elegant, stylish rooms contributed to your celebration. Please visit Captain Fairfield again that next time you need a little dose of Nirvana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My fiance and I recently returned from the Kennebunks in Maine where we spent delicious days in snowy, wintery, enchantment at the stately Captain Fairfield Inn. Each memorable day began with elegant, gourmet 3 course breakfasts prepared by the culinary half of the Inn's hosts and keepers, Jed. His wife Alana was our gracious, warm hostess and together, they treated us to the most wonderful, gourmet, getaway experience! They left no detail unattended in order to ensure a memorable stay and experience at the Captain Fairfield Inn.

Our room was comfortable, elegant and as was the Inn itself. In the afternoons, we enjoyed fresh baked cookies and other treats left in the kitchen for guests including a variety of nuts, fresh fruit, and a fine assortment of high quality teas. We also enjoyed the complimentary herbal toiletries and the housekeeping staff was very sweet and accommodating!

The Inn was located within a comfortable walking distance of the village of Kennebunkport with art galleries, art and craft shops, fine dining establishments and sightseeing opportunities galore. Because we were there during the holidays, my fiance even treated me to the realization of one my bucket list experiences: a sleigh ride in Winter! The Rockin' Horse Stables was a 5 minute drive from the Inn and the hosts, Vincent and Sue Thelin followed the sleigh ride with cozy hot chocolate with marshmallows in front of a toasty fire.

Looking back, we can say that the whole experience is already missed and that we would highly recommend this to guests considering a visit to Kennebunkport. We hope anyone reading this will take off on their own special adventure and stay with our wonderful hosts, Jed and Alana at the Captain Fairfield Inn, enjoy a sleigh ride at the Rockin' Horse Stables, and venture into town for a toasty coffee at Morning in Paris.

So much more to discover and experience at Kennebunkport. As for us? We are hoping to return! THANK YOU ALANA AND JED!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AutumnRain5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We are so pleased that we could make your winter wonderland stay so memorable and that we could be your "base camp" (albeit an elegant one!) for you to realize one of your bucket list adventures. Thank you so much for your detailed review and thoughtful comments about our Kennebunkport inn's service and attention to detail. We hope you'll return soon -- whether to cross more adventures off that list or simply relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Alana welcomed us with an early check in and a glass of wine. It was so close to all the shops and happenings in Kennebunkport during the Holiday prelude. The breakfast of blueberry pancakes the next day was delicious! Jed and another gentlemen cleaned off our car after a snowstorm dumped 12 inches on the town the night before! We felt well taken care of!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

That snow storm was a doozie, wasn't it!? We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Kennebunkport boutique inn during Christmas Prelude, that you enjoyed our blueberry pancakes and most of all that you felt well taken care of! That means a lot. Please come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We are regular travelers to southern Maine and Captain Fairfield Inn is our #1 choice for accommodation. Rooms are beautiful and clean, friendliness and service are unsurpassed, location is perfect for walking to shops, restaurants, etc. Capt. Fairfield is a good choice for couples, friends traveling together, and possibly families. (I have stayed on 2 separate occasions with a teen and, later, a pre-teen.) Also perfect for a quick "Mom's Getaway." Do not pass up an opportunity to stay here.

Room Tip: Each room is average-to-large for a B&B. Rooms on the 2nd floor are quieter. Rooms on 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Love the title of your review! We also are very honored to be your number one choice of lodging in Kennebunkport and southern Maine. Thank you so much for your kind words about our location, the quality of our boutique inn, and most of all our service. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 25 in Kennebunkport
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £127 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing