We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the moment we stepped in, we were definitely impressed! The inn-keepers Jessica & Jeb were wonderful and upon approaching them, you felt as if you were the only guest in the house, they were very attentive to our needs! The breakfasts were delicious and the room (#4) was clean, very comfortable and quiet! Room 4 is on the second floor towards the front of the house and recently renovated with modern touches. We had such a beautiful time that we stayed an extra night!!! I would definitely stay at this Inn upon retuning to Kennebunkport and would recommend to all my family and friends! This Inn is very special in that they have awesome people running the inn and it is like home away from home!! Do not hesitate to stay here, it took me 3 years to find the perfect place & it was definitely the perfect choice! Thank you Jessica & Jeb, I hope Lark hotels appreciate the wonderful service that you provide for your guests!!

Sincerely, Jeff & Gini

Room Tip: Room 4 was at the front of the house on the second floor, we loved the view and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gini211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are honored that your choice of Captain Fairfield Inn as the "perfect place" was the result of three years of research. Wow! Our onsite team of Alana, Jed and Jessica are certainly very valued here at Lark Hotels as are all our wonderful managers and our terrific designer, Rachel Reider (who recently completed those updates on Room 4). Our motto is "amenities you desire, service you'll remember and a touch of mischief." We are so pleased that we delivered all the way around for your Kennebunkport getaway. Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
529
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn Heights, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This comfortable spacious B&B is located walking distance from the town of Kennebunkport , Maine. Large,tastefully decorated bedrooms and well appointed newly renovated bathrooms provide a haven after a day of hiking and sightseeing. A sumptuous 3 course breakfast starts ones day glowingly

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you! It's nice to hear that you found our three-course breakfasts to be "sumptuous" and our bold modern decor so appealing. We appreciate your stay and your recommendation and hope to see you again in Kennebunkport at our boutique inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decided o n this hotel from a last minute phone app. Very glad I did. I was literally 5 minutes away and was there before my booking went through. I was a little nervous as this was my first time using this app. The assistant Inn Keeper was very friendly and helpful, And the inn was 1 room shy of being booked it was still very quiet. There's a little kitchen area that you can store your items in the fridge, ( it is also stocked with complimentary canned soda and water ( bottled soda, beer, and wine are on a honor system) Breakfast each morning consisted of fresh squeezed juice (a blend of orange, granny smith apple and banana) fruit, a muffin 1 day and a popover the next, and a choice of 2 entrees, one was egg bsed the other was waffles or pancakes with sausage.And GOOD coffee. The room was on the 2nd floor, spacious, Big screen tv, docking station, a sleep sofa, desk and chair, a/c and a gas fireplace. The bathroom was well stocked ( although a little small). And the huge bed was one of the more comfortable I've slept in in a long time. It is close but yet far enough away from Dock Square. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbp144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for dropping in and experiencing our Kennebunkport inn on a lark! We love hearing that guests who find us last minute are pleasantly surprised by all Captain Fairfield Inn has to offer in the heart of the southern Maine coast. Sounds like our breakfasts and service were quite a hit with you. Thanks for recommendation and come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first time staying at CFI and we absolute loved it. The service was great and the property is beautiful. This is one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed. We are already planing our return and would love to try and stay at the other Lark properties.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It's nice to hear that you had a lovely time on your first visit to our boutique Kennebunkport Inn. We hope you do return and also try our other Lark Hotels properties, as you mentioned. Our whole philosophy is to provide a welcoming stay, but also high-tech luxuries and chic design. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just wanted a night away for a change of pace and this was the perfect place for it! At check-in we received a tour of the property from Jed and enjoyed coffee, cocoa, and homemade chocolate chip cookies. As members of the "On a Lark Club", we also received a bottle of wine in the room that we enjoyed before dinner. (If you're not a member of the club, join! So many perks come with it!!) The inn is located just a couple of minutes out of "downtown", so we were able to walk to a great dinner at David's KPT. We were then able to come back to our cozy room (Sweet Liberty) and gas fireplace. The bed and linens are the most comfortable that we have come across! The rainfall shower was also a treat. Breakfast was very nice. Tasty coffee, fruit with freshly made creme fraiche, blueberry and cornmeal muffins, with our choice of orange french toast or scrambled eggs with goat cheese (both served with bacon). Alana and Jed were fantastic hosts and we are already looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Sweet Liberty is at the front of the house and stays bright through the day. There is no traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmaek0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and for the plug for our Lark Hotels loyalty club, "On a Lark." We're go glad to have you as a member and that you greatly enjoyed your stay at our boutique Kennebunkport inn. Sounds like Jed, Alana and Jess took great care of you during your visit to Captain Fairfield. We are pleased that the rainfall shower, super-soft linens, dinner at David's and breakfast made your quick overnight getaway a relaxing one! We look forward to seeing you again here in Kennebunkport or at one of our other Lark Hotels throughout New England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at The Captain Fairfield Inn for our mini-moon. I'm delighted to say that it was a lovely, and memorable start to our marriage. Alana communicated through email with my husband prior to our stay and gave him recommendations for places to have a romantic dinner. When she made our dinner reservations she made sure to mention I had allergies to certain foods, making sure I had a pleasurable and safe experience. I really appreciated her thoughtfulness.

When we arrived at the inn, we were greeted warmly by a lovely young woman at the front desk. She gave us a tour of the inn, showed us to our room (The Walker) and made sure we were comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated, and clean. The bed was very soft, and amazingly comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast that was brought to our room each morning. The breakfasts were delicious and creative.

Both my husband and I look forward to relaxing at The Captain Fairfield again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brittanyd413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We were honored to be your choice for your mini-moon. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and that Jess, Alana and Jed could help make the start of your marriage so memorable. Thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast, comfy (and stylish) rooms and, most of all, our service. Please visit our Kennebunkport Maine inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate that @ 9 pm they had a room for the 2 of us. The staff was awesome, helpful & friendly. Our room (king's room) had a bed from heaven. I never slept so good & woke with no backache! The breakfast was one of a kind. Filling & creative. All local products. Our 1 nite turned into 3! Would go back in a heartbeat & refer anyone who is coming up this way.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at Captain Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We were the fortunate ones to have you as our guest. We appreciate your kind words regarding our Kennebunkport inn's "bed from heaven," helpful and friendly staff and creative breakfasts. We are so pleased that you were able to stay for three nights on a "lark" and we hope to see you soon when your travels bring you back to the Kennebunks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing