We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Captain Fairfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at Captain Fairfield”
Reviewed 31 August 2006

My husband and I recently returned from a one-night stay at the Captain Fairfield Inn, the last stop on a whirl-wind tour of coastal Maine. We highly recommend this inn for a homey and comfortable experience right in the center of Kennebunkport.

The most impressive aspects of the inn are the hosts themselves, Rob and Leigh. We arrived on a busy, yet colder and rainy afternoon, but were warmly welcomed by both hosts who, independently of each other, congratulated us on our tenth anniversary. Personal touches like that always go a long way, yet they did even more. From arranging wonderful dinner reservations to mapping out excursions to even bringing their dog, Riley, out for a little quality time with these dog-lover travelers, Rob and Leigh are most gracious hosts. Most importantly, the pair prepared breakfast at an earlier hour for us due to our morning flight out of Portland. It was clear that these innkeepers truly care about their guests and we certainly appreciated their attention to detail.

The room met all expectations, was quiet with a very comfortable bed and wonderful flat-screen TV, which on a rainy evening was most welcome (and they also have a DVD movie library). We also found useful the book of area restaurant reviews written by past guests of the inn.

We only wish we had had more time in Kennebunkport, and we would certainly recommend the Captain Fairfield Inn to anyone.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canne803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    75
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
537
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My husband and I did a driving tour of New England and this place was by far the best B&B we stayed in, in terms of value for money and comfort. A lot of the places we stayed in had very 'chintzy' decor, this place was very stylish. We had 2 nights in the Captain Fairfield room, it was gorgeous. The couple who own the place were very sweet and friendly ( a lot of other places we stayed in, the owners were quite aloof). The breakfasts were great and they baked cookies in the afternoon. The only downside was the noisy air conditioning units from the B&B opposite. There was a large lounge to sit and read etc and guests could help themselves to hot drinks. It was a short walk to the main shopping, restaurant area. I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and could happily have stayed longer. The Inn is a lovely building ,with nice gardens with chairs for guests, in a perfect position within walking distance of the coast and five minutes from the centre of Kennebunkport with it's many restaurants and up-market shops. The rooms were of a good size and delightfully furnished. The bathrooms were similarly large with Aveda bath goodies.

We were travelling with our 2 teenage sons and they appreciated the tv which was something that was missing from most of the other inns we stayed in during our trip around New England. Although all rooms have a double bed, (I think), on arrival Rob kindly offered an additional put-u-up so the boys didn't have to share.

As mentioned by other reviewers there are lots of nice touches, like magazines, beach bags with towels, the 24 hour pantry with drinks and the chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. The breakfasts are very good.

What probably makes it special is the effort Rob and Leigh make to help you enjoy your stay, like recomending and booking restauarants, providing parking permits for the beach and generally being available and very willing to help.

  • Liked — Thoughtfulness into making the Inn a great place to stay.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Newreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Captain Fairfield Inn. We chose it based on previous TripAdvisor posts, and it lived up to the hype. If you're going to Kennebunkport, this is the place to stay.

Innkeepers - Leigh and Rob were extremely nice and helpful. When we had to leave very early on our last day to catch a flight home, they made sure we had muffins and coffee to go. They were also ready to help with suggestions and directions around the area. And they make fantastic home-cooked breakfasts each morning - and fresh cookies every afternoon.

The house - a perfect mix of an old, rustic house with modern amenities (including WiFi). We stayed in the Lois Walker room, which was a good size and had a beautiful (and comfortable) canopy bed. In the backyard, there's a great hammock under the tall shady trees - a great place to take a nap after a few cookies, and Reilly the dog just might nap beside you.

Location - couldn't get any better. Short, easy walk to the center of town, but just far enough away to be quiet. Lots of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. (And they keep a running journal of restaurant suggestions/reviews done by guests in the living room.)

Cost - very reasonable, and we went during peak season.

Did I mention the fresh cookies every afternoon?

Stop looking - book now. We'll definitely go back to the Captain Fairfield.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank afaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2006

My husband and I booked a week at the Captain Fairfield for our "babymoon", and it was the perfect place to spend some time in Kennebunkport! We chose the Captain Fairfield based on the reviews on tripadvisor.com and we were glad that we did.
Our room was quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were spectacular - we definitely put on some lbs during our stay. (Hopefully, it all went to the baby.) The common areas of the house are very welcoming with games to play (good for the winter) and menus of local restaurants available. Rob & Leigh also put together a book of previous visitors' reviews of the local restaurants, and we enjoyed reading them and deciding where to go for dinner each night. Another reviewer mentioned Riley, their friendly chocolate lab - she was so cute and would sit at your feet out in the yard.
We would definitely return to the Capt. Fairfield. If you are staying in the Kennebunkport area, there is no better place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kct123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester Pa
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2006

If you like B&B's, then you're going to REALLY LIKE this place. Heck, even if you don't like B&B's , you're going to really like this place. The problem with a lot of B&B's is that the owners don't think of the customers when designing the amenities offered. The owners of Captain Fairfield are young, married and are in the first couple of years of operating this B&B.They have really spent a lot of time figuring out what their customers want and need. The location is right in the middle of Kennebunkport and is a 5 minute walk to anywhere you want to be. They have great ideas for "day trips" or things to do if you just want to stay local. The breakfasts that they offer are all original and excellant. It's like eating at a gourmet restaurant, only it's breakfast. The rooms have small flat screens and are air conditioned. The bathrooms are up to date and modern. There are extra pillows in the closet and the bath products are Aveda. In each room there is a beach bag with beach towels included. The owners have just spent a lot of time knowing what each guest needs to have a comfortable stay in Kennebunkport and they make sure that they provide it.

Also, Rob and Leigh are pretty nice people who seem to have a lot of fun doing this, and are pretty engaging people to talk to and "hang out" with. I can't imagine that you could do better than this in Kennebunkport. I don't think that I would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bobjusacoils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2006

Having found this Inn on the internet, we were not sure what to expect. Within the first 5 seconds, we knew we had lucked out! Innkeeper Rob Blood greeted us with his warm smile and eagerness to assist. Without a blink of his eye he unloaded our car and carried our heavy bags, as he ushered us to our beautifully appointed room. He made sure we were aware of all of the creature comforts available to us within the room and informed us that the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies would be out of the oven momentarily (a daily ritual)! We then went on a quick tour of the Inn itself, which has a wonderful living room, where a portrait of Captain Fairfield himself sits above the great fireplace, and the "candles" in the windows always burn brightly so you can find your way home at night. The dining room is cozy and cheery. The walls are decorated with wonderful artwork from local artists, and attention to details is everywhere from the tablesettings to the little bunch of wildflowers from the garden on each table. There is a refrigerator near the dining area to store any leftover goodies one might have, and drinks are always available, so it definitely has that "feels like home" atmosphere. Everything is extremely well kept, and clean. The outside grounds are lovely as well.

Our first night at the Inn was exceptional. We relaxed in our sitting room and watched our favorite British sitcom on the flat screen TV, had the best sleep we ever had in the incredibly comfortable four poster bed (with steps to get up onto) fitted with luxurious soft cotton sheets and a choice of feather or synthetic pillows. The room also is equipped with an air conditioner, but the weather was such that opening the window for fresh air suited us best. You ladies will be happy to know that, although this is an old Inn, the bathrooms have been remodeled with beautiful new tile, toilets, sinks, shower heads and, as I mentioned before, attention to details are everywhere. There was a hairdryer for our use as well as Aveda soaps and lotions and the towels were thick and smelled "just washed."

The best was yet to come. Breakfast and meeting Leigh Blood! Both were exceptional! Leigh is as charming as her husband and as eager to please. The breakfast was amazing, and, as they advertise, we truly were so well fed, we were not really hungry for lunch. Rob and Leigh alternate cooking and serving this amazing feast. We were fortunate enough to have stayed for two days, and I must say that they both are equally talented in the kitchen and as servers. Oh, I almost forgot that they have a great mellow chocolate Lab, who was available for anyone who is in need of a doggy fix, as we were. We missed our Labs.

Both Rob and Leigh were always available to recommend restaurants, the best beaches, or anything else you might want or need. They were quite knowledgeable of the local "best bets." I only wish we had a few more days to spend at their great establishment. You really can't go wrong with a stay at this Inn!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lov2cr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing