We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Captain Fairfield Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Fairfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Captain Fairfield Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2007

This was a great bed and breakfast. The owners were friendly and very helpful in making dinner reservations. And, the breakfasts were excellent. The location was ideal for walking directly into Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Momofjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    74
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
527
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2007

If you want to be pampered and stay in a beautiful room with cozy fireplaces and comfy beds then The Captain Fairfield is the place to go. Every morning when you wake up there is a homemade 3 course breakfast prepared for you by either Rob or Leigh and they are truly delicious. Beautiful sitting room with magazines etc.., hammocks on the grounds and they even gave us beach chairs and a beach pass when we went to the beach!!! I have stayed there 2 years in a row and would not hesitate to go back. Walking distance to the small town on Kennebunkport where shops and lots of great food awaits. Enjoy it we did.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank dsambuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

I've been to Maine before and stayed in a few B&Bs there, as well as many across the country. Captain Fairfield Inn was by far the best experience I've had in a B&B. The room was charming and clean, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful, the location was perfect, and the breakfast was magnificent. They also recommended a place for dinner, which turned out to be one of the best meals I'd had in a while. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Winter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Captain Fairfield this past weekend while in Maine for a wedding. We were very pleased with the location
of the B&B--within walking distance of downtown Kennebunkport. The innkeepers Rob & Leigh were wonderful. The breakfasts were as fantastic as everyone else has commented (maine blueberry pancakes, eggs benedict, crepes, scones, biscuits, all fabulous). I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m25111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pedro
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Our room was very comfortable, in particular the bed. The linens were of high quality. The room we stayed in was in the old part of the house and was tastefully decorated to enhance it's period charm whilst providing modern comforts. We felt the level of comfort was what we'd expect for the price we paid.

The hosts were very helpful in recommending things to do in the area, without being intrusive. We thought that the book full of reviews of local restaurants written by prior guests was extremely helpful. We also enjoyed the pantry where you could help yourself to tea and coffee (the tea was organic) - this was much appreciated when we returned a little tired from our day's adventures.

The location is extremely easy (and pleasant) walking distance from the centre of Kennebunkport (less than 2 minutes walk).

The breakfasts were very good.

Overall, good value for money if you want to stay in the centre of Kennebunkport.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, friendly service and the breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great all round
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pedro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

We stayed at the Captain Fairfield Inn for 1 night during our annual Girls Trip last week. The inn is wonderful and the bedrooms & bathrooms were just modern enough to provide all the conveniences of home without compromising the historical value of such a beautiful home. Reilly was an added bonus while we sat out on the patio and enjoyed the calmness of the surroundings. This is a place I could visit time & time again and still enjoy it.

  • Liked — The bathroom & breakfast!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvlbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

My wife and I planned a trip to Kennebunkport under the assumption that B&Bs only attract an older crowd. Since we are in our twenties, we figured this would be a slow and sleepy vacation with no TV, no distractions, and that we would have to work really hard to keep things interesting.

Rob and Leigh Blood, owners of the Captain Fairfield Inn, erased that notion as soon as we walked in. The room we were in had a flat panel TV with cable, wireless internet, and they even let us borrow DVDs from their own collection. They were friendly and always ready and able to give us first timers in Maine great advice. We saw beautiful rocky beaches, art galleries in Portland, whale watching, lighthouses, and ate in wonderful seafood restaurants. Overall this trip was the best vacation we’ve ever had. For us, the inn was a like a bridge between the quaint historical feel of the area and the modern accommodations we have come to depend on everyday.

And then there was breakfast! Oh my god, these were the best breakfasts I have ever had. Leigh has muffin and omelet making down to an art. And the cookies in the afternoon...well let's just say that each night I made sure the plate was empty!

I would recommend the Captain Fairfield Inn to anyone and everyone!

  • Liked — The overall involvment of the owners and their attention to detail.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tderoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Fairfield Inn

Property: Captain Fairfield Inn
Address: 8 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Fairfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport's Boutique Choice. An artful blend of bold and soft modern design. Crisp, uncluttered rooms. Located in the heart of Kennebunkport, just steps from Dock Square. Expected amenities like plush beds, designer linens, fireplaces, whirlpool and soaking tubs, wireless Internet. Unexpected luxuries like iPod docking stations, French press coffee, 32" HDTVs, beach chairs and towels, warm cookies in the afternoon an an outdoor lounge with fire tables. A creative gourmet breakfast prepared with fresh seasonal and local ingredients; choose a multi-course breakfast served at your own table in the dining room, or coffee and a pastry basket delivered to your door. Customize your stay with packages, a la carte add-ons and personalized itineraries. A carefully-selected wine list and small plates menu compliment a relaxing afternoon or evening. With 9 rooms, the inn is sized to offer exclusive attention to your wishes, or privacy if you prefer. Located on a quiet street near the center of Kennebunkport; just a short walk to nearby restaurants, the quaint harbor and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Fairfield Hotel Kennebunkport
Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport
Fairfield Kennebunkport
Kennebunkport Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing