We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AT THE CAPTAIN JEFFERDS - YOU WILL LOVE IT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwell, MA
1 review
“STAY AT THE CAPTAIN JEFFERDS - YOU WILL LOVE IT!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I have traveled to Kennebunkport for a stay at the Captain Jefferds Inn annually for the past 6 years - we have loved EVERY visit! Generally we travel there in the winter months for a get-together with friends. The Capt Jefferds in the perfect setting for this mini college reunion for so many reasons. They have a wide variety of rooms featuring luxury amenities. There is a lovely 4 season porch that is perfect for gathering for coffee/tea, or a glass of wine. The main living room is a great place for a group to gather to discuss each day/night's agenda. The staff there could NOT be more wonderful - they are friendly, accommodating and personable. Breakfasts are always an amazing 3-course event with both sweet and savory elements - something for everyone! We also stayed at the Capt Jefferds for a spring-time wedding and intend to do the same this coming labor day weekend. We've loved our time at the Capt Jefferds so much that we've given my parents gift cards to go and visit, as well over the years. My parents have so enjoyed their time there that they have, in turn started giving gift cards for stays at the Inn to other family members and friends! It is so accessible from Boston! Finally, I'd like to add that the Innkeepers, Erik and Sarah have done a beautiful job updating many of the rooms since assuming ownership! We will continue to go back for years to come!!

(I have literally never written a review for Trip Advisor before, but feel so strongly about the wonderful experiences that I've had at the Capt Jefferds that I simply had to share!)

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the main house and rooms with outside entry and have loved them all equally!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACG_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
It is particularly gratifying when someone who isn’t in the habit of posting reviews is moved to provide one. Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing and for all of your positive feedback! We so appreciate that you continue to return to us year after year and that you have even inspired a fan club through giving gift cards! There is no higher compliment. We are fortunate to have a team here who love the area and the inn and go out of their way to share their favorite elements with guests. Our hope is that this creates a warm environment where guests feel appreciated and we certainly hope this has been your experience. Along with enjoying our breakfasts you also mentioned our sun room and our living room. Those two spaces along with our patios and gardens in the summer provide what we hope are wonderfully inviting spaces in which guests are encouraged to stretch out in order to make the inn their own. It is wonderful that you and your husband have been able to enjoy those spaces in your own unique ways. Thank you again for your continued loyalty and for tooting our horn! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Our very best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    51
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
98
597
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our second stay at Captain Jefferds Inn. Our first stay was a special weekend as we celebrated our wedding vows there surrounded by our kids and grandkids, all of whom stayed at the Inn and enjoyed a superb dinner orchestrated entirely by CJI staff. Erik and Sarah and all their very caring assistants at CJI made that weekend extraordinarily warm, fun, and memorable. Recently, on the occasion of our first anniversary, they and the CJI team welcomed us back with even greater enthusiam and friendly care. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The location is very convient to quaint "downtown" Kennebunkport. The service is outstanding. A respite at Captain Jefferds Inn is a truely a first rate experience, and we wouldn't even dream of staying anywhere else when visiting the south coast of Maine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so grateful to have played a part in celebrating your wedding vows with you and your family and very much appreciate that you returned to let us also play a role in your first anniversary celebration. It is very meaningful to hear that we have become a special place for you and your wife. Building lasting connections is one of the most rewarding aspects of what we do. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and having the opportunity to again help you relax and build fun memories.

Best wishes now and always, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I spend a weekend at Captain Jefferds Inn every year at this time and each year is just as amazing, if not better, as the first. The rooms are just as they look in the pictures, beautifully updated and decorated and extremely cozy, the staff is warm and friendly and the food is incredible. During breakfast, they also very easily accommodated my vegan diet. The inn is within walking distance to downtown and very close to the beach. I also appreciate that they have dog friendly rooms as I love bringing my canine companion along whenever I can. I would strongly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable trip to the Kennebunkport area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cml711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
It is so gratifying to hear from a longtime guest that we continue to delight you with each visit. Thank you so much for your loyalty over the years and for spreading the good word! We are fortunate to have guests like you who provide us with continuous opportunities to tweak and refine our delivery of everything from service to breakfast to in-room amenities. Our goal is to make you feel right at home, all the more so if you have a four-legged family member, so it warms our hearts to receive feedback that lets us know that we are hitting the right notes. We very much look forward to your next visit.

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of The Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverstraw, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a last minute decision to get away and drive far ~ It was the best thing I did. The staff was super friendly, breakfast was utterly delicious and the room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL. NICE & COZY. Thank you so much for making my weekend a relaxing one.

Room Tip: Connecticut Room was Bright & Sunny. Room is located by the steps so you hear everyone coming up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are thrilled that we were able to play a part in making your spontaneous trip enjoyable. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind review, your feedback is greatly appreciated! We always try to create a warm and welcoming environment and it is wonderful to hear that this is what you experienced. Of course, as a Bed and Breakfast, breakfast is the star of the show, so again it is very nice to know that you found it tasty. We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay soon!

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of The Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I returned this year after a wonderful 3 day stay Feb 2011. This time I stayed 6 nights thoroughly enjoying the hospitality of the innkeepers Sarah and Eric, along with their attentive and low keyed staff. Everything from the delicious breakfasts to the comfy robs and sheets were a delight. The inn is warm, cozy and inviting. And, this is a special time of the year to enjoy the Kennebunkport area with it's beautiful beaches. I'd recommend a stay in The Captain Jefferds Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine_V313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is wonderful that you once again experienced a relaxing retreat at the Jefferds! We appreciate knowing that little touches like the homemade breakfasts, plush robes and soft sheets helped make your stay comfortable and cozy. Winter in the Kennebunks truly is a tranquil time, perfect for unwinding and recharging. It is great that you were able to extend your stay to take advantage of all that the area has to offer. We look forward to helping you kick back again soon!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik Lindblom, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our second stay at Captain Jefferds Inn, and it was just as fabulous as the first. Eric, Sarah and the staff are friendly and attentive. We loved our room, meals, snacks, and beverages.

We stay in the Baxter room and absolutely love it! It was perfect for our get-a-away.

My husband and I will be back again soon!

Room Tip: We love the Baxter room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJA_1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We are so pleased that your second stay with us was equally as enjoyable as the first! With its Maine lodge feel, fireplace, and Jacuzzi tub, Baxter definitely offers a unique escape; we are glad that it has proved to be a “perfect” fit for you and your husband. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that we are hitting the right notes and for continuing to give us the opportunity to be one of your getaway destinations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Wishing you all the best, Sarah and Erik Lindblom, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My Wife and I recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the captain jefferds, our very special place ! We were married there last year and came back to celebrate our 1st anniversary, we can't say enough good things about the warm and welcoming inn keepers and staff, as well as the incredible accomidations, We highly recommend this Inn and we look forward to coming back year after year !

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baxter room, which is located in the rear of the main house, and is decorated like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so thrilled to have played a role in your wedding and it is an honor to become part of your anniversary celebration tradition! It is wonderful to hear that our efforts to create an environment that inspires warm memories resonated with you and that we have become a special destination. Baxter is indeed a unique room that captures a bit of the rustic Maine lodge feel while offering luxurious touches like a two-person Jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace. Perfect for setting a cozy and romantic mood. We look forward to the opportunity of making your anniversary enjoyable every year!

Wishing you the very best, Sarah and Erik Lindblom, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing