We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This made our fourth visit to this fantastic inn. Staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and constantly went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. We were lucky to be able to spend four nights in the Adare suite. Very comfortable and unbelievably clean room. Fruit and cheese tray with sparkling wine was waiting for us when we arrived. Sarah and Erik even went above and beyond to obtain a special variety of roses for me for my wife and my 14th anniversary.
Breakfasts were fantastic and different. Service was outstanding especially with Tina tending to everything and remembering how you like things done, like how you like your coffee. Steve was like talking to a friend about the local cuisine each evening when we came back "home".
Thanks for a having such a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsmith71399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and kind words about our staff and the inn. We want the inn to be a welcoming, relaxing place especially when you want to celebrate a special occasion such as your 14th anniversary!
We look forward to your 5th return visit!
Sarah, Erik and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    51
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
98
597
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The property is beautiful. The location is perfect. The staff bend over backwards to make you feel as welcomed and comfortable as possible. The breakfast is delicious. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation at a first rate property in lovely Kennebunkport, then look no further. My wife and I have travelled all over, and this place ranks right up there at the top. Surprisingly great, considering the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPhillip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that your getaway was everything you hoped it would be. It is very gratifying to hear that your experience here ranks so highly among the many places you have traveled! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to make your next visit just as special as this one.

All the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful property during a trip along the Maine coast, and we brought along our 85-pound Great Dane puppy. We only give 5 stars out for truly exceptional properties, and this inn absolutely deserves a 5-star rating. There is an incredible attention to detail, and the property is spotless. The inn is pet friendly, but you would never know it from how clean everything is. Upon arrival we were given a tour of the inn, including their complimentary beverages, selection of teas, and afternoon snacks. In our room the owners has prepared a welcome kit for our puppy, including a big dog cookie with his name on it and a brand new tennis ball. Totally unexpected, but such an adorable touch. Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed, and had it's own Keurig coffee maker. When we mentioned we were going to the beach, we were provided special beach towels as well as a parking pass for the beach. The breakfast was delicious, and the property is conveniently located next to a gorgeous park and walking distance from the center of town. All in all, this is a perfect inn and we would love to stay here again in the future. Kudos to the owners for creating such a fabulous B&B experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
It is so wonderful to know that you had a fabulous time staying with us and very gratifying to hear that this was among the best B&B experiences you have ever had. Our hope is to provide a comfortable spot for guests to relax in while exploring the area and we try to make our four-legged guests feel just as welcome as their humans. We recognize that the inn is an unfamiliar environment which hopefully feels infinitely more comfortable with the addition of a snack and new toy. Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to making your next visit just as enjoyable.

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincroft, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Starting from when we first arrived to the minute we left we loved this place. It was very centrally located, within walking distance to town with shopping and restaurants. The garden was beautiful with a nice little sitting area with a pond. Our room was private and very comfortable with its own private entrance and porch. The breakfasts were delicious and the inn keepers were very nice as well as accommodating. I truly can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
We are so happy to hear that from start to finish you had an enjoyable experience! Summer is the perfect time to settle into one of our garden seating nooks, including the one by our waterfall and pond. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baie-Mahault, null, Guadeloupe
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This property was absolutely wonderful.

The inn itself is extremely well appointed and an antique marvel. Access is great and parking is very easy. After, its bikes and walking everywhere as it placed perfectly to visit the area and leave the car keys in the room.

The rooms are very clean, very comfortable, and the small extras with the sun room and kitchen down stairs is supper.

We will be back early I imagine. The only problem is, it will be hard for us in other B&B's as The Captain Jefferds Inn has put the level way up at the top.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
We couldn’t be happier to hear that you had a wonderful stay and truly appreciate your glowing review! It is very gratifying to know that you feel we set the bar high. We certainly strive to create the perfect mix of luxury and comfort so that each guest feels warmly welcomed and valued. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and making your second visit just as special!

Warm wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a beautiful B&B in Kennebunkport. The owners were very nice and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance to the downtown area. They offer coffee, tea and soda in afternoon as well as cookies.

Breakfast is served at 8:15am and it is served a one big table.

I would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orthodontics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendation! We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kennebunkport.

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Captain Jefferds Inn's location was easy to find and close to town yet our room was very quite and felt very private. Erik, the innkeeper, was welcoming and helpful. The grounds were gorgeous and the entire property appeared to be carefully maintained. I spent an hour before breakfast reading a book in one of the shaded side gardens while sipping coffee. The yummy breakfast was served at a long table that allowed us to meet other guests. After the meal we had time for a five mile run that took us along the coast and even past the Bush's family compound on Walker's Point. All in all we had a terrific stay and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estherskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We are so happy to know that your visit was a peaceful retreat and that you had a terrific stay. Our hope is to offer a place where guests can kick back, unwind, and let us take care of the details. Coffee and a book in the garden sounds like the perfect recipe for relaxing and a run along Ocean Avenue is a great way to unwind. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#9 of 26 in Kennebunkport
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing