We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Jefferds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our first time at Capt. Jeffords Inn and we loved every minute of it. It's a beautiful property and no detail is overlooked. We stayed in the Monticello room which was a large room with a fireplace. We really enjoyed the fireplace and the king sized bed was very comfortable. Highly reccommend and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
It is so great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and loved every minute of your experience at the Jefferds. We certainly try to think through every detail in order to offer guests a setting in which they can kick back and relax in comfort and style. We are very happy to know that we hit all the right notes for you. Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review. We hope you return very soon too!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
90
560
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We just spent five nights in the Vermont room and couldn't be more pleased. From the room, to the service, value, breakfast, decor, and location we rate it tops in all categories. If we travel to Kennebunkport again, Captain Jefferds is where we'll stay.

We wanted a very short walk to Dock Square and all the shops, restaurants and "action" but not right on top of it. Captain Jefferds fit the bill. Each day after sightseeing it was like coming home and I can't think of anything better than that.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, the Inn has four rooms to accomodate you. We don't have one, but the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meeza4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are so pleased to know that you had “five terrific nights” with us and enjoyed so many aspects of your stay! We have tried to create a setting that offers everything a person might desire to have a relaxing visit. Our location in a neighborhood of historic homes definitely offers a peaceful respite from the bustle of Dock Square, but as you mention, is still just a short walk away. It is wonderful that the inn felt like coming home after your explorations, that is exactly what we hope guests will experience. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Kennebunkport!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our second time to the Capt. Jefferds Inn. The room we had on this visit was very small, though clean. However, we did book last minute so did not have a choice of rooms. The room we had previous was large and very comfortable. Unlike other inns we have been to, they do community seating at breakfast. It's a nice change and gets the guests talking with each other. Afternoon tea and breakfast are both enjoyable and food is good. Service is good, though didn't see the Inn Keepers as much this visit as we did our first time there. Perfect location for walking downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your second time with us at the Captain Jefferds! We truly enjoy welcoming familiar faces back to the inn and feel like no compliment is higher than having guests return time after time. Each of our rooms have a unique personality and they come in a wide variety of sizes; ranging from very cozy to several that are around 380 square feet. Hopefully the next time you book a stay with us there will be enough lead time to get the room of your choice. We are always happy to describe rooms in depth to help guests make their best selection. We look forward to welcoming you back for visit number three!

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We enjoyed two nights in this wonderful B and B this August and couldn't have been happier! We were made so welcome by all and the facilities were excellent! Our room was sunny, warm and bright with maybe the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The location is perfect , the house beautifully decorated throughout and we our every need was taken care of !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
It is so wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay and felt like your every need was taken care of! We aim to offer comfortable, yet luxurious accommodations and have done our best to offer the kinds of creature comforts that one would most desire while on vacation like silky sheets, plush beds, and spaces that are warm and welcoming. Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Kennebunkport!

Kind wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. We chose this place based on trip advisor reviews and so glad we did. The Captain Jefferd's Inn is a lovely house. Beautiful on the outside as well as the inside. We stayed in the Wyeth room. The bed was super comfy and the bath was very modern and clean. Even though we were on the second floor, we never heard a peep from another room. Extremely quiet and peaceful. The only noise we heard was the gentle "clomp" from the horse drawn carriage that would occasionally go down the street. Steve was a pleasure to talk to. We looked forward to breakfast which was delicious and a wonderful treat. Drinks were always available in an open pantry and the afternoon cookies and cheese and crackers were a nice touch. The inn is only a few minutes walk into town and right next door to "Ganny's Garden". I would love to go back!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on the website and read what's in them. Some rooms are larger than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
We would love to welcome you back and are so happy that you had a lovely experience staying with us! We strive to strike a balance between a sense of luxury and simple pleasures in both our accommodations and service delivery, so it is gratifying to hear that you enjoyed so many elements of your stay. Steve is a gem, and like all of our staff, is always focused on making sure each guest gets the maximum out of his or her stay. We're glad to know you particularly enjoyed the breakfasts and the afternoon drinks and snacks. It is always our hope that they will add a special touch to the overall experience. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights at Capt. Jefferds Inn. We picked because of proximity to Portland and much to do in the area without lengthy drives. In fact we walked all the time which was perfect.
Breakfasts are terrific and the service is that of a 5 star hotel. All staff are helpful; place is immaculately clean and the sheets are like silk, softest i have ever slept in. Tea in afternoon is welcoming and there are lots of nooks and crannies to hang out in all kinds of weather. Music is peaceful and inviting in the background. You can walk everywhere in Kennebunkport and the Inn is ideally located for short day trips all over southern Maine. We will be back to experience another season there!

Room Tip: Monticello has 4 windows and is large; lovely for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your kind review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and feel honored to be your favorite B&B! We truly appreciate your compliments regarding the 5-star service that you feel exists at Captain Jefferds. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure that guests are comfortable and feel well taken care of. As you mention, Kennebunkport is a great area to use as a jumping off point for day trips and the village itself offers lots of interesting nooks to explore. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience another season here! Each one is beautiful in its own unique way.

Wishing you the best, Sarah and Erik – Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Kennebunkport for a wedding. this was our first time there, and we chose the Capt Jefferts in because of reviews that we read on TA, and it's location. Wow, the Inn Exceeded our expectations in every way. The accomodations, public rooms, breakfast, and ambiance was the best we have experienced anywhere, and we travel alot. The owners, Sara and Erik take a tremendous amount of pride in their establishment, and the personal touch is evident everywhere. We had several friends try to save a few dollars by staying at further out location, but the money they spent on taxi's, parking, breakfast, etc. more than made up the difference in cost. Thank you Sara and Eril and the rest of the staff for making our stay so pleasant...we will return!

Tom C
Naples Florida

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monticello room which was quite spacious and excellently appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise023, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We couldn’t be happier than to know that your visit exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your time here. We have tried to create a special place that is as welcoming as it is comfortable, so it is wonderful to hear that we hit the mark perfectly for you. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon; we love to see familiar faces walk through the door!

Warmest wishes, Sarah and Erik, Keepers of the Captain Jefferds Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing