We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and were warmly greeted and given an upgrade to the master suite upon checking in. They were incredibly kind, the service was wonderful and the property itself is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimesmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Michael congratulations! and thanks for taking the opportunity to write a note about your stay.

So happy for found the experience "Amazing", the staff is so into their roles here that the superlative just makes our day! Thank you!

Since it was your honeymoon we hope you will choose to return for your first year anniversary?

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Eric and Sarah are amazing inn owners! The inn is spectacular and the rooms are all updated and gorgeous! I love coming here to relax and the staff is so accommodating with all your needs. The breakfasts are to die for and there are always delicious cookies! I make it a point to come here once a year and recommend it to everyone staying in the area. Hands down the best inn I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Leah713 hi,

Yes, Erik and Sarah are amazing but SHHH! we don't want to inflate their ego's (not that it could ever happen) :) The service you receive is really as a reflection of the service they give to everyone working here. Service doesn't get to this level without really special people at the lead.

Breakfast...Yum! Did you know that March 21st its Maine Maple Weekend and we're serving delicious blueberry pancakes made with wild Maine Blueberries, the little ones that grow close to the ground? If that wasn't enough we're making them with butter and buttermilk from Kates Homemade Butter Company, a Maine company that recently won 1st prize at the world dairy expo in Wisconson. Are you sure you don't want to come back sooner, if not just for two days?

Thank you for all the kudos, referrals and testimonials.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B. This inn is so charming and elegant and the innkeepers are very friendly and welcoming. All three of the common areas are beautifully appointed with period furniture and elegant oriental rugs. We especially enjoyed the "solarium", a beautiful sitting room with windows on three sides...so bright and inviting. It snowed the weekend we were there, which added a special ambiance while sitting there enjoying a bottle of wine with friends. This room is where you will find complimentary tea, coffee, hot mulled cider, cookies and snacks....truly charming!! The dining room is exquisite and here you will enjoy a wonderful gourmet breakfast each morning. There is also a living room with love seats in front of a wonderful fireplace and a piano if you fancy playing a tune. The guest rooms are very cozy and comfortable, each with a special charm. The bed was very comfortable and the linens very elegant. I must stress that the Inn is immaculately maintained in every area. It is within walking distance of some lovely specialty shops and wonderful restaurants. We already booked again for a future stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Diane711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

23Diane711 hi,

The sun room is the favorite of all our guests, thank you for sharing your winter experience at the Inn, and for the compliments about our fanatical attention to the details. Winters in and around Kennebunkport can be a special time. In December we have the Christmas Spirit of Prelude, January the excitement of New Years, February, it's Valentines and Love. March, the sap is running and you see hopeful crocus' pushing up in bare patches of ground. Sprinkle in a snowstorm or three and you have an opportunity to create special memories.

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words and exceptional rating.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I figured I'd splurge and stay here with my fiance last July. I'm so glad I did. We both loved it. Upon arrival, we were shown around the inn by one of the extremely friendly staff. The place immediately felt homey yet fancy. It had a bit of an antique and authentically Maine feel without it being at all stuffy or musty. They have really done a great job turning this old building into a wonderful bed and breakfast. They have a beautiful sunroom with complementary cookies and tea along with menus and other helpful references to practically all the other local restaurants and attractions. They are happy to give out parking passes to the nearby beaches and they have bikes you can borrow as well. The gardens were also beautiful--looks like a great place to relax--wish we'd had time to enjoy it more. We stayed in the Katahdin Room, which is on the third floor. The room was small but very clean and pleasant with tons of decoration details. The bathroom was tiny but still very nice. My only minor disappointment was the clunky loud AC window unit (but at least there actually was AC, unlike some of the other places around). In the morning we sat at the large dining room table with maybe 8 other people and had a delicious breakfast. It started with a poached pear, then a tasty muffin, then a piece of quiche. Portions were fairly small but it was all very well done. The location is great too. It is right next to the shops in Kennebunkport and is within walking distance to the Colony Beach and to Walker's Point which is definitely one the most scenic walks in the entire area. Our biggest regret is that we only stayed here one night. Months later, my fiance is still talking about it. We will absolutely be back here on a future visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brennan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Brennan J

Thank you for taking time out to write and for posting the summer time pictures. After February 2nd we begin to consider summer to be ahead of us, and winter occasionally, on days like today loosens it's grip long enough for us to take a walk up Ocean Avenue, to Dock Square or to simply enjoy a cup of tea on the terrace that overlooks in the garden from which you took your photo. Happy you enjoyed breakfast, it's really a source of pride for us when a guest takes opportunity to comment on how they enjoyed it.

Just a thought if your fiance would like a quick getaway. Our peaceful season rates are in effect till the end of May and although the air is a bit cooler and water is not quote as warm as it is in July, the fireplaces are still on, the beaches are less crowded, and we have plenty of springtime activities taking place in Maine.


Thanks again for the excellent review.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you want to feel "at home" in spectacular setting with a welcoming staff, this is the place. I could not find any little detail that had been missed or cheapened. At our gourmet breakfast this morning I mentioned tha the owners could give lessons on B&B hospitality... I guess what... they do!! We both felt we were staying at the family house ( grandma's home) with all our cousins the week after Christmas!! THE FIRST INN WE HAVE EVER STAYED AN EXTRA NIGHT!!

Room Tip: Has a pet friendly section with pet sitting available. Have you ever been hugged by the Inn Keeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rons99876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

rons99876

Thank you for the glowing review. Yes, Sarah and Erik do host a hospitality class in conjunction with the B&B Team. If anyone reading is interested they can learn more on our website's specials page. BTW you were at grandma's house... counting Kate's dogs Sarah has 7 grand kids :-) . Happy you chose to stay the extra day and please return soon.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely perfectly appointed inn circa early 1800's. Big comfy beds, delicious 3 course breakfast, walk to shops, water. And this dog friendly place had bowls & towels & a personalized dog biscuit. It is impossible to improve. We are definitely coming back this summer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Aileyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Aileyfan hi!

Yeah we can get a bit obsessive with the dogs, but when you have your own it becomes more than an accommodation to make to our guest. More and more people are traveling with their four legged friends as companions, for them we have pet-friendly rooms each with separate private entrances. Dogs are rewarded with their own personalized cookie, towels, sheets and dog bowls during their stay and although they cannot let their owners wander about Kennebunkport unattended while they cat-lounging in their room they're a very welcomed guest here at the Inn.

See you on your return trip this summer,

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived on New Year's Eve. The service was exceptional, very personal and friendly. The room was cozy, but we also spent a lot of time in the public spaces, on the porch and in the living room with a roaring fire in the fireplace. Breakfast was outstanding. The Inn is within walking distance of some great restaurants, and during a snowstorm one night we had the town all to ourselves.

Room Tip: We saw most rooms and liked them all. The pictures on the web give a representative impression of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309Gert38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

309Gert38 hi!

I really love the fresh fallen snow as the town turns to into a "post card perfect" image, happy that you chose us for a getaway. We find ourselves frequently sending extra pictures of rooms to guests before they have reserved, a picture gallery is a great idea. Thanks!

Hope you return to us soon,

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Kennebunkport
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £152 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing