We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary stay in ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary stay in ME”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Sarah and Erik for a beautiful stay in historic Kennebunkport! Accommodations were spotless and warm, with a legendary breakfast service. Despite the cold weather, everything in town was walkable from the Inn. Would highly recommend for couples for any occasion.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MABurns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
MABurns hi! Boy what a difference 2 weeks makes, yes it was cold at the end of April but now, as I write this note we are finishing off a classic Maine spring weekend where the days are warm and the evenings cool enough to walk the Port in a light jacket, but still sleep comfortably with the windows open. Crisp mornings and the threat of rain may have greeted our guests this weekend but that didn't stop them from coming, and true to form with Classic New England weather we just needed to wait a few minutes for it to change :-)

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for the kind words and great review.

Please return soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
567
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a special place for my wife and I. This is our 4th visit and each time is perfect. Sarah and Eric run a first rate bed and breakfast in beautiful Kennebunkport. The breakfast's are always great and you can't wait for what awaits you the next morning. It is cozy, comfortable and a place you will never forget. We will be returning to this Inn on our next Maine trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Mark hi! Thanks for the kind words and the excellent review. Sarah and Erik, as you know have poured their hearts into making the Inn something special, and it means a lot to hear such kind words from our guests. Thanks for continuing to choose the Captain Jefferds Inn when visiting Kennebunkport.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thank you Sara and Eric for an incredible stay at your Inn. Rachel was wonderful, cookies and breakfast were fantastic. Our two dachshunds were welcomed and treated to moose shaped doggy biscuits, silver dog bowls and a huge yard to run and play. We stayed in the Baxter room
Which was spectacular with a private entrance, a hot tub and very comfortable king bed. Loved the tour Rachel gave us of the rooms that were not occupied. Our first trip to Maine and we will be back to Capt. Jefferds Inn

Room Tip: If you're traveling with pets and its just two of you, definitely go for the Baxter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Kathy hi and thank you for the review. Baxter is a special room with lots of custom features as you have noticed. We love catering to the pooches and the separate entrances for the pet friendly rooms makes it an enjoyable stay for all our guests, whether they have a four legged travel companion or not. Thanks again for the kind remarks and excellent review.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Tripadvisor plans our trip again. This has got to be one of the most beautiful inns that i have ever stayed in. Sarah and Eric have thought of everything: from the comfortable beds, bubble bath beside the tub, candles in the windows, books to read and chairs to read them in, fireplace. The entire Inn is steeped with history through the paintings on the walls. Yummy breakfast every morning. Enjoyed a vast selection of teas in the afternoon in the comfortable sun room.Thank you to everyone for making us feel at home and relaxed.A perfect getaway.

Room Tip: The Wyeth and the Camden room were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsailluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Topsailluv hi! and thank you for the wonderful review. Yummie breakfasts and teas are what brings our guests back again and again. Of course our location in the heart of Kennebunkport doesn't hurt either. :-) Please come back again soon, maybe in the summer months when the beaches are warmer and the hot days give way to cool evening ocean breezes, or for Christmas Prelude? Christmas around here is special with new snow, parades, celebrations, and A-wassailing.

Hope to see you soon,

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed with Sarah and Eric at the Captain Jefferds Inn. What a treat. The have the best sun room that I just couldn't stay out of. Our room had a water feature, a fireplace and a king bed. We were so comfortable we could have just moved right in. They also have the best sheets ever in the history of inns. It's a wonder I got out of bed at all. Breakfast was great and we had the best time chatting with other guests. Truly we were so comfortable and felt so welcome, I didn't want to leave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Kim thank you for the wonderful review. Yes the sheets are great they are a sateen sheet which has have a luxurious look and feel. The room you stayed in was the Assisi room. It is a beautiful, large room on the third floor of the main house, with a king size iron bed and a lovely sitting area in front of a gas fireplace. It's large bathroom features an Italian tiled shower with dual shower heads. We are happy you felt so at home. Please return anytime you like.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Southern Maine Coast has plenty of charming destinations, and Kennebunkport is at the top, in my opinion. High-end without being stuffy, appealing to the tourist without being tacky, it's a beautiful place. Adjacent to the small shopping district is a lovely residential neighborhood, where inn after quaint inn is located. And it's there where Captain Jefferds stands out, possibly for its sheer size. It's big. It also has lots of curb appeal. Sarah and the staff greeted us and gave us a quick tour; it didn't take long for me to see that, just like the town itself, the Inn is beautiful, manicured and comfortable.

The room in which we stayed was great... huge for two people, with a gas fireplace that warmed things up in a hurry. I think it's a bit of a balancing act when it comes to decorating B&B guest rooms: convey the local flavor, the personality of the house, or both; in a way that isn't knick-knack-y or overdone. Captain Jefferds succeeds here. Cozy doesn't begin to describe the bed experience, which envelops the slumberer in an extraordinary pillow-top experience. I happen to be more of a firm mattress kind of guy, but I did get a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was innovative and tasty; and the service was very attentive. We chatted briefly with Sarah as we left; she is well-suited for this business, as she was very engaging and welcoming. I can't imagine that there's a reason to stay anywhere else in town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
George hi and thanks for the review. I just checked, 442 total reviews and 90% of them in the EXCELLENT category! Thanks for calling our attention to that!

You mention curb appeal, I remember doing some recent historical research on the area, and although the long rounded fenced in corner of Pearl and Pleasant Streets has been replaced over the years (with the new one adding some terrific scale to the view) the Inn was easy to pick out. For those into historical architecture , Kennebunkport and Kennebunk makes for a great walk about. We have well preserved homes, hotels, granges and open spaces all within walking distance from the Inn. For the arborist, aside for the 100 year old American Elms outside our door, across the river is the Franciscan Monastery and an open space with walking paths designed by Frederick Law Olmsted CO of NY.

Happy you enjoyed breakfast, as I have often written in the past it's a part of the experience we take delicious pride in being very good at. Can't tell you how popular the gas fireplaces have been. Our guests can still get the ambiance of a real wood fire in the living room but it was a good move to change to gas in the guest rooms as they are very convenient for our guests and a lot safer for everyone. We'll keep the gas on for a while longer as the nights still get chilly but in the summer we stop the gas heat and turn on the air conditioners for the few weeks they are needed at the sea shore.

Please come again,

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I discovered the Captain Jefferds Inn 12 years ago when we had three babies and a fourth on the way. We only had 24 hours to be away and did not want to spend our few precious hours driving. I found this Inn online. I cannot give enough accolades to the wonderful people who own and run this little taste of Heaven (the real one will be greater still). The House itself is absolutely gorgeous; the location is perfection and Maine speaks for itself as the "way life should be." The variety of room styles and rates helps guests to tailor their choice to the purpose for their stay and their pocketbook as well.
We LOVE this place!

Room Tip: This is our fifth time staying at the Captain Jefferds Inn. Each time we have chosen a different roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Mary hi!

It's always terrific to have returning guests, we are flattered to be mentioned in the same sentence as heaven, humbled that any comparison should be made to it. Thank you. You and your family are always welcome home here.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#6 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing