We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to experience Kennebunkport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first trip to Maine, and we couldn't have had a better place to stay than the Captain Jefferds Inn. The location is perfect for walking into town or to local restaurants. We never had to drive the car when in town. The room was spacious and elegantly appointed. The sheets are amazing... The breakfasts served were very good and plentiful. The inn keepers were very helpful with directions and recommending outings and things to do in the area. We would highly recommend the Captain Jefferds Inn for your next visit to Kennebunkport Maine. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: The Arundel room was wonderful. Spacious with a king bed...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this kind words with us and other people! It always makes us happy to hear about an all around great experience from guests. We certainly work hard to think of the small amenities that will provide a positive experience and comments such as yours are truly appreciated. We take great pride in our breakfasts, as meals are often a universal way of bonding. We strive for creativity, never serving the same dish in a row, and overall deliciousness, utilizing fresh and local ingredients.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Captain Jefferds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Captain Jefferds in the Wyeth room and loved it. The bed was comfy, the linens elegant and the room was spotless. Loved the location, being a short walk to the shops in town, the village green outside the back door & Ocean Dr with water views just 2 houses down at the end of the street. Breakfast was divine with 3 gourmet courses. We found the innkeepers & staff friendly & helpful, pointing us to some unique sights. One of the best B&B's I've stayed at.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

It sounds like you had an overall good experience at the Captain Jefferds, thank you for sharing your experience with others. Kennebunkport certainly offers a lot to do and see-beach and nature walks, water activities, fun sight seeing, shopping, dining, and of course relaxing. I am happy to hear you took advantage of some of these things!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Captain Jefferds is absolutely beautiful, immaculately clean, spacious and wonderful original, yet restored historic details. Staff was very friendly. The breakfast was amazing, but so much I couldn't eat it all. Location couldn't be better. It's a 5 minute walk to the charming downtown with food, shopping & river views. We stayed in Wyeth room that had a great 5 jet shower. I hope to be back soon!

Be sure to look under your bed too :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoingNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful Trip Advisor review about our B&B. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members. They work very hard to preserve this beautiful building and comments like yours make it all pay off. Its hard to beat Kennebunkport's river views isn't it?!
Kind Regards,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome from Eric & Sarah, who showed us around their exquisite house and gave us great local information on things to see & do, and places to eat. The room was well appointed & very comfortable. The three course breakfasts were lovely and beautifully presented. The house is on a quiet street within a few minutes walk of central Kennebunkport, without doubt the prettiest town we saw in New England. While you're here try David's in town and The Ramp in nearby Cape Porpoise; the trolley ride around town is fun too!

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were superb - you're spoiled for choice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the town of Kennebunkport so much. It is a great place to live as well as visit and we are happy to show it off. So many different restaurants offer a variety of choices and you just can't beat those water views!
Best,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This property is gorgeous. The staff is so attentive and sweet. The owners, however, may need a vacation. The husband walked by us at least 5 times and didn't speak. I don't think he even made eye contact more than once. The wife was stand-offish and almost seemed nervous. It was strange. Perhaps because this Inn is so beautiful they don't feel they really need to try that hard. Too bad, really as our little room was $400/night and we wouldn't stay here again as there are many beautiful places in Kennebunkport that are much less expensive and just as lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

This review is a bit difficult to answer as it feels like a personal attack. I have been called many things, however, nervous and standoffish are not some of them. Erik no doubt was working and I'm quite sure he would have spoken had he been spoken to.
It is unfair to suggest that we have ceased trying to both keep this wonderful property beautiful, and to give our guests a great relaxing B&B experience. We work hard, and know we are most fortunate to be in the position we are in today. We have not for a moment taken our inn or our jobs as innkeepers for granted.
Just for the record, we take our vacation in March as we want to enjoy the inn, our guests, and Maine in season!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

For my first stop on my first trip to Maine, I chose the Captain Jefferds Inn and boy did I pick the perfect spot! The Innkeepers (and Rachel) are just so sweet and helpful!!! The room (The Arundel Room) was huge, gorgeous, well decorated, with an oversized jacuzzi tub, fireplace and lots of room. King size bed and mini fridge added to the luxury. The bed was so comfortable, the room was so quiet, and the view of the neighborhood was quaint. The location is perfect..... just one block from the port (and restaurants), and 3 blocks to town.

If you want a pet friendly place, this is your spot, as they have rooms designated for pets in the Carriage House. If you are not a fan of pets, not to worry.... they are not allowed in the main house. (I didn't hear a peep out of the dogs staying there ). The Inn is immaculate! The 3 course breakfast was gourmet and delicious! .... simply perfect!! I will go back, for sure!!!! No place else to stay in this town!

Room Tip: I Loved the Arundel Room... the largest in the house, with the tub and fridge.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyMcGowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

We are honored to have been your first stop in the state of Maine. The Arundel room sounds like it was the perfect fit for you; that is a very welcoming room with a fabulous view. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfast here at CJI. We sure enjoy making the fruit dishes, muffins, casseroles, pancakes, omelets..and lots of other treats!
All the best to you,
Erik and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic inn. Immaculate. Walking distance to the center of town. So beautifully maintained! The bed we slept on was so comfortable I am going to buy the mattress. One of the most beautiful inn/ hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosebudNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you for your kind words! Our staff does an excellent job keeping the property so well maintained. We are glad you enjoyed our comfy beds too.
Hope to welcome you back again someday,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kennebunkport
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £160 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing