We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Kennebunkport has to offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best Kennebunkport has to offer.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We don't know how it happened, but we stumbled upon 2 available rooms at the Inn when everything else was booked up. They were kind enough to hold the rooms for 12 hours until I could arrange a kennel for the family pet. The location on the green was wonderful, the room was nice and quiet, and the bed was super comfortable. We were in the Katahdin room on the top floor, and it was perfect for us. The food each morning was delicious, as was the afternoon tea and cookies. The weather that weekend was outstanding, although the Inn can't really take credit for that. A+++ on all counts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkjolicoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
Well it is true we cannot control the weather, but can't that just top off a wonderful weekend? Thank you for you A+ review! The Katahdin room is such a wonderful, cozy place. You can hardly beat the view of our neighborhood from the third floor! We hope to welcome you back to this very special place..with perfect weather again, of course!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    50
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
579
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscatine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely recommend the Captain Jefferds Inn! Perfect location for walking to shops and restaurants, quiet neighborhood setting, beautiful gardens and attentive staff. Well appointed room with very comfortable bed...hope to return sometime!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
We love to hear our guests say that the Captain Jefferds Inn feels like home, it feels like everything we work toward has been accomplished! Kennebunkport, Maine and the CJI are our home and we truly love sharing them both with people everyday. We do hope you are able to return sometime as well!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Beautiful and Quiet B& B in Kennebunkport.
Well appointed, delicious breakfasts, friendly and competent staff, and close to town.
A great place to stay for couples who enjoy history, reading and a very relaxing vacation in a Maine venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepleinair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you were able to spend some time in the sunroom sipping some tea or lemonade. This is often a popular relaxing and reading location at the inn, something about the sun coming in there makes it just right and really reminds you that you are on vacation!
I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future,
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I have the same birthday and we always try to take short trip to celebrate. We decided on Kennebunkport this year so we could dine at Earth. The inn was such a treat! Lovely owners, amazing breakfast, and the best bed we have ever slept on in our lives. Since it was May, we were able to take advantage of the Habitat for Humanity promotion as well. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puzzls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
I am happy to hear that your birthday celebration was such a success. What a perfect reason to try a new town and Bed and Breakfast! May is a great time of year to visit Kennebunkport. It is still before all of the hustle and bustle of summer but things are opening back up and plants are back to life as well! It is always a great idea to check our, and other B&B's, special pages for new and different promotions. The Habitat for Humanity deal is a great one to take advantage of seeing as it supports a fabulous cause but we offer many other deals and packages to our guests year round as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back someday,
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first trip to Kennebunkport. We decided to take our first trip without our baby. After dropping him off in NJ with his grandparents, we checked in Wednesday, July 2nd. Steve warmly greeted us and provided a tour of the beautiful inn. Each morning breakfast was delicious and a nice opportunity to meet the other guest. Each afternoon, treats were provided in the sunroom. We stayed in the Camden room, and the bed was luxuriously comfortable. The inn is located a block from downtown. It's a perfect location. We highly recommend the Captain Jefferds Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 15 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments; we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us last summer. The Camden room, located on the second floor and featuring a queen sized four-poster pineapple bed, is a big hit among guests. The yellow walls are incredibly inviting both on a sunny summer day as well as a cool winter one. We hope to welcome you back- to the Camden room or your pick of another- sometime soon!
Warm wishes,
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first trip to Maine, and we couldn't have had a better place to stay than the Captain Jefferds Inn. The location is perfect for walking into town or to local restaurants. We never had to drive the car when in town. The room was spacious and elegantly appointed. The sheets are amazing... The breakfasts served were very good and plentiful. The inn keepers were very helpful with directions and recommending outings and things to do in the area. We would highly recommend the Captain Jefferds Inn for your next visit to Kennebunkport Maine. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: The Arundel room was wonderful. Spacious with a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this kind words with us and other people! It always makes us happy to hear about an all around great experience from guests. We certainly work hard to think of the small amenities that will provide a positive experience and comments such as yours are truly appreciated. We take great pride in our breakfasts, as meals are often a universal way of bonding. We strive for creativity, never serving the same dish in a row, and overall deliciousness, utilizing fresh and local ingredients.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
269 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Captain Jefferds in the Wyeth room and loved it. The bed was comfy, the linens elegant and the room was spotless. Loved the location, being a short walk to the shops in town, the village green outside the back door & Ocean Dr with water views just 2 houses down at the end of the street. Breakfast was divine with 3 gourmet courses. We found the innkeepers & staff friendly & helpful, pointing us to some unique sights. One of the best B&B's I've stayed at.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
It sounds like you had an overall good experience at the Captain Jefferds, thank you for sharing your experience with others. Kennebunkport certainly offers a lot to do and see-beach and nature walks, water activities, fun sight seeing, shopping, dining, and of course relaxing. I am happy to hear you took advantage of some of these things!
Sarah and Erik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Property: Captain Jefferds Inn
Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing