We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best in Class of B&Bs"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Jefferds Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I toured through Maine for a couple of weeks during the month of June and one of the highlights of our first trip to Maine was the three days we spent in Kennebunkport and our stay at the Captain Jefferds Inn. We have stayed at many Inns over the years so we feel qualified in saying Sarah and Erik have created something special. The house, grounds and the food are spectacular BUT the best part is how comfortable you are made to feel from the minute you walk in the door. We also really enjoyed being able to walk anywhere in Kennebunkport from the Inn and how conducive and friendly the Inn environment is to meeting other people. We will definitely be back, as often as we can return. Thanks Sarah & Erik!!

Room Tip: We scoped out several rooms and will opt for the Camden room when we return. There are no bad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackbright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Thank you for your very kind review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and are honored to have been on your lists of places to go during your first trip to Maine. We certainly live in a wonderful location here in Kennebunkport and love sharing this spot with our guests. We certainly work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and part of that, to us anyway, is making you feel right at home. As we innkeepers say you arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
All of our best,
Erik and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The drive up appeal to this bed and breakfast is so wonderful. Erich works hard on the yard and it shows. We were greeted immediately and in a friendly manner. Our room was large and detached from the main house, but we almost preferred that because it was on the first floor. We were a little isolated, but we loved it. There were a lot of sweets and drinks available upon check-in, and coffee and drinks 24/7. Every amenity you could possibly want was I the room (Garden Room), and the bathroom was large and very well-stocked. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. We were in Maine and were served lots of raspberries. Boo! And the sausage egg casserole was reminiscent of what I make at Christmas. Just a little underwhelming. Everything else was fab!! It's in a great location for shopping and dining as well.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room that was separate from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJIInnkeeper, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you acknowledge how hard Erik works on the grounds as he does the landscaping as well as the interior decorating and cooks on the weekends - he's a busy man :-)
We're sorry you didn't like our breakfasts. We try to serve locally fresh fruit and raspberries are now in season. Unfortunately the blueberries that Maine is famous for aren't available quite yet.
Aside from that we're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our B&B as well as in Kennebunkport.
Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have been fortunate over the years to have stayed in a number of inns and B&Bs, and none compares with Captain Jefferds. From the moment you walk through the front door you know you are entering a very special place. But the furnishings are just the beginning. Each room is uniquely decorated. Sara and Eric and the staff are always very welcoming and helpful. The grounds are so beautifully manicured and the breakfasts are amazing. Add to this the lovely people you meet when staying at this inn and you have the ingredients for a delightful and relaxing vacation. We've been to Captain Jefferds 3 or 4 times and hope to return often.
Phyllis and Murray, Miami

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank greenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Thank you for your very thoughtful review! We certainly love welcoming guests back to the Captain Jefferds Inn so thank you for thinking of us for your getaways. We happen to agree that our breakfasts are amazing. Erik and our cook work very hard on coming up with creative delicious dishes and Maine certainly provides fresh, fun, ingredients to incorporate. I think there is really something to be said about eating and conversing with the other guests here. We certainly enjoy that aspect as well.
Best Wishes,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Among many features that separates the Captain Jefferds Inn from other Kennebunkport properties is the staff. They care about their guests – they are “connected” to the Inn. The Innkeepers – Sarah and Eric – set a relaxed atmosphere with a clear focus on extraordinary comfort and service.

Breakfast is a great experience. It is the perfect start to a day in Kennebunkport and the southern Maine coast. The dining room is large and beautifully decorated – the food is outstanding (usually three courses). While the sun room and patio are comfortable and welcoming all through the day, it is a special treat to get an early cup of coffee (before breakfast) and sit back to enjoy the garden or check the morning newspapers.

Each guest room is different and each is decorated beautifully. The bed linens and towels are soft and luxurious. The beds are large and comfortable. The Inn grounds and gardens are well tended and beautiful.

It is a short walk to Dock Square and a quick ride to any of the beaches in the area. The Inn provides parking passes for the local beaches that require them.

You simply cannot go wrong staying at the Captain Jefferds Inn. We have stayed at the Inn at least once a year since 2006 and will certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NJ-314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Thank you for taking time to write such a thoughtful review of The Captain Jefferds Inn. I will certainly pass along your kind words to all of the staff here- it is a group effort to bring you such an experience.

You are certainly correct in mentioning the uniqueness of an early morning at the inn. Not only does the delicious smell of breakfast fill the first floor, but enjoying your coffee or tea while looking out on the gardens and grounds is a time we as owners enjoy as well!

I'm happy to hear your room accommodations have fit your needs as well. We certainly have a fun time decorating all rooms of the house. I am always curious to see if returning guests prefer to enjoy the same room over and over or if they like to explore new rooms.

Hope to see you, and find this out, soon!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in the Florida room of the Captain Jefferds Inn which had a skylight as well as a door that we could open to the outside. The staff is very accommodating. The first morning we ate at a table with a nice couple from Montreal, and we enjoyed visiting with them. The next morning we had to leave early, and coffee and muffins were waiting for us. The inn is in walking distance to everything in Kennebunkport, which is a plus because parking spaces in town are hard to find. There is a beautiful sunroom in the inn where cookies and drinks are served and there are plenty of magazines to read. A refrigerator with complimentary soft drinks and water is available for everyone.

Room Tip: We loved the Florida room, but the ceiling is low, so if you are tall choose another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janfranhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Captain Jefferds Inn and your time in Kennebunkport. We are delighted that so many of our guests take advantage of the fact that we are so close to town and they can park their car and leave it for the duration of their stay. The sunroom is also one of my favorite places on the property. You may even find one of us sneaking in there for a few minutes of relaxation to enjoy the sunlight and some goodies!
All the best,
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The hospitality is outstanding -- everything from soft music playing in our room at arrival, to a gourmet breakfast, to bicycles to ride. No details are too small. It is clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbpitts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjefferds, Owner at Captain Jefferds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2014

Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts on your stay with us at the Captain Jefferds Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to welcoming you back once again. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding our hospitality to the whole staff. It certainly is a group effort!
Thanks again!
Sarah and Erik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed her in the 4th week of July; 3 nights. Overall this is a very good inn. Excellent location to dock square, close to a number of good and very good restaurants, 45 minutes to Portland and a little bit less to Portsmouth, NH. The staff was excellent, very helpful and accommodating. The inn itself is in good condition and very picturesque. The one complaint I do have is the air conditioning. 90% of the time AC will not be needed but when it is required, our window unit was horribly noisy. This is certainly not am economic inn and therefore the AC issue should be remedied. This is a great location to spend a couple of days sightseeing, spending time at one of the many local beaches, walking, bike riding, kayaking, etc. Our room was large, comfortable, clean, very nicely furnished. We stayed in the Adare room which has a large main room with king size bed, a large bath with tub and separate shower with a gas fireplace separating the bedroom and bath. The large bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were fine; traditional New England breakfast. Overall great stay, would definitely go back in non-summer months. The load AC would be a deal breaker for me in summer months.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank runningonq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 25 in Kennebunkport
866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
Cape Arundel Inn & Resort
#10 of 25 in Kennebunkport
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Fairfield Inn
Captain Fairfield Inn
#5 of 25 in Kennebunkport
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jefferds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jefferds Inn

Address: 5 Pearl St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £155 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Jefferds Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly "Your Very Special Place." The Captain Jefferds Inn Bed & Breakfast in Kennebunkport, Maine is a warm and inviting 1804 sea captain’s home. From the time you enter through this Maine inn's red front door you will experience the charm, comfort and exceptional hospitality provided by these Kennebunkport innkeepers and their dedicated staff. At the Captain Jefferds Inn it's all about personal service and little touches to enhance your stay like free wireless internet access throughout the property and afternoon tea featuring a wonderful assortment of home baked goods and light hors d'oeuvres as well as fresh squeezed lemonade and iced tea in the summer months and hot mulled cider in the winter. We are pet friendly in 5 outside entrance rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Jefferds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jefferds Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Jefferds Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing