We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Lord Mansion
Ranked #3 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ahoy!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This former sea captain's home is one of the best bed and breakfasts around. Most of the guests we met were repeat patrons. They have so many people that come back that they have a memorial garden with pavers with people's name on them who have stayed 10 times or more! There are tons of pavers! We stayed in The Regulator suite and we just loved it. Many people told us that this was their favorite room. I am sure they are all wonderful. The weather was so nice that we slept with the windows open. They have A/C, it's just nice to be somewhere that you don't HAVE to have it on. We try to escape the summer heat of Texas and we really loved this hotel and Kennebunkport. The breakfast is awesome. There is a big barn with bikes you can use to ride all over town. It was so much fun! I felt like Jessica Fletcher! Ha! The staff are wonderful and so helpful. I would highly recommend this B & B.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Candy M,

Ahoy! Your review was full of excitement and I could tell you were still smiling from your visit as you wrote. We have repeat guests because of the memories that were created riding bikes or eating a multi-course breakfast with strangers who then become lifetime friends. Jessica Fletcher would have surely been a repeat guest with a stone in the Memory Garden! Come back soon.

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    46
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
40
773
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had heard so many good words about The Captain Lord Mansion over the years and we finally decided to book it! Wow! The inn feels like a newfound home from the moment you step onto the property. The history, the decor, the superbly kept gardens, the warmth, the staff, the breakfasts...everything was just fabulous. Nothing has been left out with respect to the staff serving its guests. I don't think that I've ever been to another hotel the world over that pays such attention to every last detail. Not one except the CLM. The rooms are beautiful and beds so comfortable. Simply a slice of heaven. A special thanks to the entire staff, including Al, Tim, Donna and her colleague at the front desk, who all went out of their way to make our (Steve and Mary's) stay so special.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteevyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Steve & Mary,

We are so glad you finally came to see us! All of us were so glad you were here and can't wait for you to be a regular guest. Your review showed me that we are truly making wonderful memories by doing the right things, everyday. Thank you for sharing the Captain Lord Mansion with the world.

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

So let me begin by saying I think the stay started poorly for me and I may have not bounced back. Upon check in the young lady at the desk did not offer the most genial of welcomes. Then, told us the bellman had left for the day (though in our 3 days there I never saw anyone who was a bellman) and we needed to take our suitcases to the room ourselves. In fairness, I believe the website notes there is not an elevator on the property. Maybe it's my assumption getting in the way but, I did assume there would be help with our bags for the level of accommodations at CLM. The young lady showed us to our rooms then gave us a tour of the main rooms. This was thorough but, again she was not friendly.
The room was lovely. The furnishings were well cared for and suited for the room. The bathroom in our room was very nice. It had heated flooring which for some reason still emitted heat when off. This was only an issue because the air conditioning in the room couldn't keep up with the hew terminating from the bathroom floor. We kept the bathroom door shut and opened the bathroom window and that did help. We had 2 rooms and we all struggled with feeling very warm at night in spite of the room air conditioners. This is in no way fault of the hotel, just be aware if traveling in the summer months.
The breakfast was outstanding! You had more than enough to eat and the quality was top notch. The breakfast staff went out of their way to customize all orders and accommodate individual tastes.
The locations was really great. We were there in mid august and the traffic was a crazy mess. We parked the car and never moved it for 3 days. Everything you need is a short walk and is well lit and safe at night.
We ate at Nonatum, Mabel's and the Colony Hotel. We enjoyed all but, make reservations ahead of time. Some guests said the hotel called for them but, that was not offered when we inquired about where to dine. Our fault for not asking for that service.
Also, there is a fantastic yard to relax in with great water features and plenty of furniture to enjoy. We truly took advantage of the beautiful weather and their outside accommodations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Msknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear msknights,

Thank you for taking the time and care to share your experience. We always want to know when our high level of service is not met. We have addressed your experience with the front desk employee and are confident that we have resolved the issue. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the other outstanding qualities of the Captain Lord Mansion. We hope that you would give us another chance and make a return visit. Please feel to contact me regarding any other issues you might have.

Regards,

Your innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Captain Lord Mansion (CLM) in July 2014 for 3 nights. This was our first visit to Kennebunkport. We stayed in the Champion room. Champion room on 2nd floor at top of steps on the left in the corner very quiet. The room was gorgeous with a huge bathroom that included a whirlpool tub, stand up shower and waterfall on the wall. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. I am a clean fanatic so cleanliness is the highest priority.

When you check in they give you a tour and give you your choice of breakfast times. The breakfast was several courses. Our first breakfast started with fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. Followed by fresh Blueberry muffins and main course of steak and eggs. Our last morning was a breakfast buffet served in the garden. It was awesome so nice to enjoy breakfast outside. The buffet consisted of fresh fruit, made to order eggs and omelets and fresh waffles. Very well done.

Snacks, coffee, ice tea, provided all day.

The garden has many nice places to sit and relax including a swing, hammock. CLM is within walking distance--- 3 blocks to town--great location. Ample parking.

Service was very good and staff very pleasant. Definitely a place you will never forget and want to go back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PVonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear P V,

Breakfast in the Garden is always a guest favorite and fun for us to do! Bev keeps the gardens flourishing so we can do those special times through the year. You will have to check out the website for Wine Night in the garden on select dates. We hope to see you again soon and try one of our other fanatically clean rooms!

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Highly recommend the Mansion for a married couple with kids who just want get away for a few quiet nights and leave the planning, cleaning, and cooking to the Mansion staff! If you enjoy quiet New England charm and relaxation, then the Mansion will meet all your needs. My wife and I spent a wonderfully quiet and re-energizing weekend strolling in and out of the Mansion and it's romantically manicured grounds as we explored Kennebunkport. Our car never moved from the parking lot. The room was classicly decorated, clean and had all the feel of a historic but well maintained New England home. The staff was friendly, the home cooked breakfast is amazing and so satisfying that we skipped lunch for 2 days in a row! It is a 2 minute walk to the town center and we used the bikes provided by the Mansion to stroll to the beach and explore the surrounding sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Cory M,

A retreat for the parents is always a great reason to visit the Captain Lord Mansion! We are happy to know that your time spent was refreshing and recharging. Thank you for the excellent recommendation and please come back soon!

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We highly recommend this lovely inn. The accommodations are beautiful, the staff is superb, and the inn is well located. We loved the wonderful breakfasts and interesting people we met. We can't wait to go return.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful--didn't see others but imagine they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolevy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear jolevy_12,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your recommendation and kind words. Please don't wait too long to see us again!

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our visit to the Captain Lord Mansion in July may just be one of my all-time favorite getaways.
The visit was perfect in every way. Plenty of off street parking which made arrivals stress free.
The location of the inn is so close to the center of town that you can easily walk to all restaurants yet the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed and out of the main foot traffic. It is in a historic area that is nice to walk through.

We were greeted by very attentive and kind inn keepers when we checked in and we received a tour of the mansion. There was delicious chocolate cake and tea being served in the kitchen and we were told that wine and cheese would be offered later in the evening.

Our room was beyond expectation. We keep wishing we were back there.

We went to David's Oyster bar (there are three sections to the restaurant, each with its own vibe) with a beautiful view for cocktails and then traveled up the hill to Bandaloop for dinner. It was an easy stroll back to the Captain Lord Mansion.

One of my favorite little things was the Nespresso machine that was available at all hours. In addition to coffee, it made a delicious cappuccino and they even had cinnamon on hand.
Breakfast was fun and delicious.
Tips:
Each room is named after a ship that was built by Captain Lord. On the entrance to the room you can see the ship's name and specifications.

Check out the family tree near the main entrance.

Bikes are available in the carriage house.

There was someone there to carry our bags when we arrived and I wish I was better prepared to offer a tip. I had assumed incorrectly that we would carry our own bags at a B&B. I would ask when you make a reservation to find out more (hours available, etc.).

They offer tip envelopes at checkout if you need to catch up with anyone you might have missed during your stay.

Thank you, Captain Lord Mansion. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnowa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWL21, Owner at Captain Lord Mansion, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Inowa1,

I love reading these reviews because of the uniqueness our guests draw out of our inn. The family tree in the entrance is often overlooked but creates an interesting story that makes the Captain Lord an inn and a home. We are so happy that we made such a memorable experience. Thank you for writing about us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Your Innkeeper, Rick Litchfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Captain Jefferds Inn
Captain Jefferds Inn
#2 of 26 in Kennebunkport
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Lord Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Lord Mansion

Property: Captain Lord Mansion
Address: 6 Pleasant St, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain Lord Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience the only 4 Diamond AAA bed and breakfast in Kennebunkport, ME., A Select Registry Property. Enjoy spacious guest rooms at our Kennebunkport inn with comfy oversize beds, heated bathroom floors, luxurious amenities, gas fireplaces, & Jacuzzi-style tubs. Our B&B in Kennebunkport also features complimentary, three-course breakfast, beach chairs & towels, Wi-Fi, in-room snacks & afternoon beverages. Three short blocks from wonderful shops, galleries, and restaurants, our Kennebunkport bed & breakfast is perfect for a romantic Maine Coast getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Captain Lord Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Lord Mansion Hotel Kennebunkport
Captain Lord Mansion Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing