We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #15 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great place. We stayed in the cottage with my son, his wife and their dog. Perfect set up. The owner and staff were all very attentive and made us feel welcomed. Loved the staff in the restaurant, very friendly. Their 3 course breakfasts are unbelievably delicious. You don't have to plan on lunch after their breakfasts. They have a nice outdoor area where you can sit and relax. Beach that allows dogs all day is right across the street. I can't say enough nice things about this place. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Did not see the other rooms in the Inn, but the cottage is great for either two couples or a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

nice place, but new owners were still getting up to speed when we were there. solid walk into town; prefer staying closer to town. I was surprised that I had to answer many questions on arrival prior to being pointed int he direction of the bathroom. very good breakfast.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _Hayley_600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are super clean, the location is great both for walking to town and getting to the ocean, the owner is incredibly helpful with making reservations, and the included breakfast is delicious! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The joy of staying with an owner operated establishment;passionate & personalized attention to every detail during your stay. Caroline, Peter & Tristan hosted us like we were their favorite relatives coming to visit them at their home! The morning breakfast ( both from the menu as well as added daily delights) was delightful. It was more like the fine dining one experiences on the French Rivera- presented so pleasing to the eye that you just wanted to look at it. Then after the first bite, the freshness & flavors take over reinforcing the eye appeal. This is the epitome for the B & B scene.
Paul & Michelle, Sioux Falls, SD

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our stay here was marvelous. From us checking in late to having them make reservations for dinner for us. The room was very nice. I had my coffee on the balcony outside our room. Our breakfast was wonderful . We met some dear people from New Jersey. The area is beautiful. Lots of cute shops. We will stay again.

Room Tip: I wish we could of stay for more then just one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent this past weekend at The Edgewater Inn, based on excellent reviews. And we were not disappointed! The Inn has a clean, fresh feel to it. It was recently renovated to a very high standard. The rooms are lovely and simple. Ours was a bit small, but absolutely fine for us.

The breakfast was exceptionally good. Great service, wonderful food and a welcoming atmosphere. Because breakfast is open to the public, it was not the typical 'inn breakfast' where everyone needs to be in the dining room at the same time. Breakfast is served from 8 - 12, which was very welcome if we wanted to sleep in!!

The Inn is very service oriented. Caroline and Peter, have taken every opportunity to ensure that their guests are well taken care of. They were always available to answer questions, and helped us launch their kayaks into the river across the street. It was great to be able to use their kayaks, so that we didn't have to go somewhere else to rent them. A special shout out goes to 'the master of the house', Tristan, who is their son. He was welcoming, friendly and well trained in the how to take care of guests. Also, we loved the 'cairn' rock key chains from our room so much that Caroline gave them to us when we left!!

We would absolutely go back to the Edgewater. Thank you so much for a memorable weekend!!

Room Tip: Room 45 is small, but has a nice view over the 'pond' on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Edgewater Inn (formerly Green Heron Inn) has always been a great place to stay, now it is even better. The Inn has undergone extensive renovations, inside and out, and the results are stunning. It is beautiful yet very comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts are outstanding!

We find the location to be just right. The beach is just a three minute walk and the quaint shops & restaurants of Kennebunkport are about a 10-15 minute walk or short drive. Also, from this location, there are abundant opportunities for exploring the southern coast of Maine. For those that like to do short day trips, the rocky coastline, lighthouses, lobster shacks and shopping are all within easy reach of the Inn.

My two miniature dachshunds travel with us and love staying here! The fact that the Inn is pet friendly is of great importance to us. There are several pet friendly rooms, each with easy, direct access to the outdoors.

Overall, our stay at the Edgewater Inn is everything we could ask for. It's beautiful, friendly, comfortable, impeccably clean and competitively priced. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogdaystraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.9 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 126 Ocean Ave, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Inn, formerly known as The Green Heron Inn one of Kennebunkport's historic Inns, is located on Ocean Avenue, in one of the town's most charming neighborhoods. It sits adjacent to an estuarine cove, near the mouth of the Kennebunk river and just around the bend from President George Bush's vacation home on Walkers Point. Overnight stays include a 3-course breakfast, prepared by Chef Jason Grant in the "on the edge" restaurant from eight to noon.The Inn was built in the early 1900's as a boarding house that provided shelter and breakfast for weary travelers. Twelve guest rooms including a cove side cottage, thirty-two seat restaurant. Its location, which combines the beautiful surrounding of the Kennebunk River and the convenience of its proximity to all major Kennebunkport attractions, contributed to its popularity from its early days. That tradition continues today. While relaxation at The Edgewater Inn is an art in itself, activities abound in the surrounding area. Guests enjoy rejuvenating walks along the rocky shore, enjoy the sun on the sandy beach, explore the numerous galleries and shops in Dock Square, watch the wildlife and the birds as they gather near the water next to the inn, or spend a sunny day on one of the nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing