We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Edgewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2005

We have been traveling to K'port since the 70's, and have always heard great things about the Green Heron Inn. Since we had our children we always rented a beach cottage, but now that those days are over, we decided to try the inn out and it was fabulous. Dan and Tony are new owners, (for the last two years) but they continue to carry the torch for the original owners who built up the reputation of the inn for hospitality and charm! We had a charming little room with a fireplace that overlooked the porch. Breakfasts were beyond wonderful. Dan and Tony's small touches make it just fabulous, with a themed menu (for the 4th) and specialties that change each day with lots of choices. The cookies are to die for that they offer with afternoon tea or coffee, beware they are addictive! We will be back for Labor Day and I can't wait!! PS Kristin, their helper, was just a cute as could be with suggestions of how to spend time in Kennebunkport. Everyone there is loving their job and it shows!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank masulliv_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
93
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2005

We are the in-laws referred to in the review from S, J and N, Elkridge, Maryland. Yes, we have stayed at the Green Heron for years and have always enjoyed it, but now with the new owners, Dan and Tony (they took over the inn 3 years ago) it is better than ever. If anybody was born to be innkeepers they definitely were!!! The inn is so wonderful in every respect that we cannot possibly mention them all - every detail to ensure your stay is enjoyable is taken care of!! From the moment you arrive and that dreaded moment you have to leave you feel as though you are truly among friends. The friendliness generated by Dan and Tony spills over to the guests in that the guests are able to relax with each other and enjoy each other's company in just the same way families do. This year Tony's nephew Mike was also there and what a joy he is!! Now as far as the breakfasts - you couldn't ask for more!! Each morning, I would hurriedly rush out of bed and first retrieve the newspaper left at the door (and that included weekends when most hotels do not provide newspapers), then get coffee and look for the day's menu to see what culinary delights Tony had conjured up for the specials. These specials are just incredible but as Dan says "if none of these appeal we can still get you eggs any style, pancakes, blueberry pancakes, french toast, sausage or bacon" so what diner could possibly be disappointed!!! The specials always include a fruit opener such as fruit stuffed crepes; fruit custards or my favorite of baked grapefruit. Then there would be two main course specials consisting of an egg dish (e.g a gourmet omelet) or a sweet dish (e.g. strawberry crusted french toast with raspberry coulis). And, by the way, we will never know how they manage to come up with such variety in these specials - we stayed two weeks and rarely saw repeated items. I also forgot to mention that on top of these there was always a special breakfast pastry and homemade granola available on the buffet for you to help yourself to. The afternoon and evening goodies were also very special and much appreciated and this year Mike added homemade biscotti and moon pies to the mix - they were incredible. Anybody out there who is planning a trip to Maine should definitely include a stay at the Green Heron Inn in their plans. We have already made our reservations for next year!! Ted and Chris, Crofton, Maryland

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2005

My in-laws have been raving about the Green Heron Inn for years and now I know why! From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly by Dan, my family and I felt right at home. Dan and Tony (and Mike - we were lucky to be there during his visit to Uncle Tony) do everything they can to make guests feel completely comfortable. Unlike at other B & B's where we've stayed, either Dan or Tony are around the main house (there is also a detached cottage) most of the day and early evening. My husband, daughter and I spent a lot of time in the "family room" of the house where we did a jigsaw puzzle, watched movies and visited with other guests of the inn - most of which have been going to the Green Heron for many years. Dan and Tony have a nice selection of current DVD's for guest use including many for children. I would highly recommend the Green Heron Inn to anyone traveling with children - my daughter loved her stay there. I haven't even mentioned breakfast and the afternoon goodies!!! We are talking gourmet, unique breakfasts!! Each morning there were wonderful creations by Tony from which to choose. Each afternoon there were more wonderful creations by Tony - to tide you over until dinner:) - along with coffee, tea and delicious lemonade. Did I mention that dogs are welcome at the Green Heron? There are several rooms available for people traveling with pets. I could go on and on. Needless to say, we will be going back to the Green Heron Inn and we will recommend it to anyone traveling to Kennebunkport. S, J and N from Elkridge, MD.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2005

We have been going to the Green Heron for thirty years and have always enjoyed the convenient location, the small size and the wonderful breakfasts. Tony and Dan are the new owners of three years and they have not only continued the traditions of the Green Heron, they have improved the comfortable feeling you have when you are there. They treat you like family and make you want to return. There is no reason not to continue the tradition of staying at the Green Heron Inn when In KPT.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2005

The Green Heron is the most fantastic place to vacation - I have been coming here with my folks every summer since I was born and continue to come here with my own kids now. Dan and Tony make the experience so special with homemade cookies, gourmet breakfasts, and over the top hospitality. The local places to eat, shop, go to the beach etc. make this a very well rounded spot! Lots to do! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Inn

Property: The Edgewater Inn
Address: 126 Ocean Ave, PO Box 2578, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302 (Formerly Green Heron Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edgewater Inn, formerly known as The Green Heron Inn one of Kennebunkport's historic Inns, is located on Ocean Avenue, in one of the town's most charming neighborhoods. It sits adjacent to an estuarine cove, near the mouth of the Kennebunk river and just around the bend from President George Bush's vacation home on Walkers Point. Overnight stays include a 3-course breakfast, prepared by Chef Jason Grant in the "on the edge" restaurant from eight to noon.The Inn was built in the early 1900's as a boarding house that provided shelter and breakfast for weary travelers. Twelve guest rooms including a cove side cottage, thirty-two seat restaurant. Its location, which combines the beautiful surrounding of the Kennebunk River and the convenience of its proximity to all major Kennebunkport attractions, contributed to its popularity from its early days. That tradition continues today. While relaxation at The Edgewater Inn is an art in itself, activities abound in the surrounding area. Guests enjoy rejuvenating walks along the rocky shore, enjoy the sun on the sandy beach, explore the numerous galleries and shops in Dock Square, watch the wildlife and the birds as they gather near the water next to the inn, or spend a sunny day on one of the nearby golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Inn Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing