We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed, would not recommend.”
Review of Ocean Woods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Woods Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed, would not recommend.”
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Our family stayed here for two nights and it was two nights too long. The location is very good and the walk to Goose Rocks Beach takes about 10-15 minutes. The room was very spacious and clean. My main grievance was the price for what you got. The beds were some of the most uncomfortable beds I ever slept in. The breakfast was advertised as expanded but was actually much less than expected. The entire resort site seemed like it needed a lot of upkeep or maintenance done to be called a resort. Even the parking lot was a disappointment: unpaved dirt/sand/stones not very nice for unloading luggage without getting everything dirty. I probably would have overlooked some of these items but for the cost it seemed like I was taken advantage of. The pictures we saw of the place weren't too detailed and from a distance looks like a respectable place to stay. It wasn't till we got there that I really saw what I was paying for. This place has a lot of potential to be a GREAT resort, but not currently. I'm sure there are much better alternatives.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jonmar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    38
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
58
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2008

This resort has been transformed from a nice hotel to a great family retreat. Kathleen and Peter have put their heart and sole into bringing this property from a reasonable hotel to a family friendly spot with on site pub, play area and great rooms. The location is walkable to Goose Rocks Beach, one of our favorite beach spots in New England. The kids were free to roam around and investigate the game area and of course, found the computer with internet access. Kathleen has a long history of hospitality in the region and her special touch at Ocean Woods Resort makes this a great spot for families.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anntwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

My husband and I made a long weekend out of a business trip to Kennebunkport ME. We were very pleased with our large comfortable room, and the cleanliness of the Ocean Woods. The staff and owners are very friendly and accomodating and really made us feel welcome. The location is excellent, just a few minutes from downtown Kennebunkport, within walking distance of beautiful Goose Rocks Beach and a short drive to the outlets at Kittery and Freeport.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of the owners and staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We have visited the Ocean Woods Resort three times this past year and enjoyed every visit immensely, and would like to recommend the resort to anyone planning a family vacation, wedding, business event, or just a quiet get away weekend. The Inn is now owned and operated by the hard working, gracious innkeeper, Kathleen Spang and her family, and Peter Morton. They all have created a warm, inviting place in which to spend time while visiting one of the prettiest areas of southern Maine, which includes Goose Rocks Beach just a half mile down the road from Ocean Woods. Goose Rocks Beach is THE place for guaranteed happy and safe children, and is the beach adults need to "re-charge their batteries"!

The guest rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated, and the Continental breakfast is most generous. PJ's Grill is an on site bar and a great spot to enjoy a delicious bite while enjoying conversation with staff and other guests, or watching a sports event on multiple televisions. Also, there are several cozy areas both inside and outside for reading, playing games, napping, or just spending time enjoying the lovely grounds, pool and hot tub. As an added bonus, if you are visiting in the spring, you may be treated to a beautiful nightly serenade by nature - no charge!

We have been fortunate to have visited Canada, the western USA, and points south and east, but have never found more beauty and restfullness of spirit, than at Ocean Woods Resort, and Goose Rocks Beach. It simply does not get any better!

We always look forward to our next trip to Maine, and hope any future guests at Ocean Woods will become acquainted with Kathleen, Peter and the family . They are wonderful people who strive to make their guests feel comfortable and very welcome at their inn.

Tom and Linda

  • Liked — Everything, plus convenient location to area offerings.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northcreek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We spent a long weekend here just before the summer rush and really enjoyed our stay.

It's located outside of town just a 10 minute walk from what must be one of the nicest beaches in Maine. The beach slopes very gradually to the water and is well protected from the surf ... just perfect for kids!

The inn has only 32 rooms and the service is very attentive. The new owners started with the rooms and the new linens and fresh paint add to the comfort. I had the impression that the rooms are larger than normal, too.

The bar/restaurant was still fairly new and there are some kinks. Still, it's a good place for a bar-style meal and we found locals there every night. You could find it's a place to get away from the tourist crowd and meet some locals.

All-in-all a pleasant stay ... I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddkjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
4.6 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Woods Resort

Property: Ocean Woods Resort
Address: 71 Dyke Rd, Goose Rocks Beach, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-5519
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Woods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on ten private acres, Ocean Woods Resort at Goose Rocks Beach offers a great vacation destination for families or a romantic getaway for two. Relax, enjoy country views and ocean breezes. Just minutes from Dock Square shopping and dining in world famous Kennebunkport. 32 Spacious guest rooms with private baths, cable TV. Continental Breakfast included. Outdoor pool and hot tub, shuffleboard, basketball, tetherball, horseshoes. Affordable family rates. On-site pub and casual family dining with kid's menu and big screen TV's. Great place for weddings, reunions, business meetings and family traditions. Hosts: Kathleen Spang-Morton and Peter Morton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Woods Hotel Kennebunkport
Goose Rocks
Ocean Woods Resort Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing