We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Charming and Relaxing”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Charming and Relaxing”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Nonantum for 4 nights and had a very pleasant experience. We were hoping for a nice experience based on some Internet research, but really did not know what to expect from Nonantum or the Kennebunkport area. Well, we were very pleasantly surprised.

Check in and check out were a breeze. The resort is clean, charming and well maintained. Our room had a great feel to it, and wonderful decor, clean, updated and very welcoming. The only downside was that having a room on the ground floor by the lobby made it a rather noisy/high traffic area.

Each morning there is a breakfast buffet or menu available. It is quite a nice spread for the average eater, though a little more difficult for the truly health conscious or plant-based eating people. The dinner had a fantastic vegetarian option, which was nice.

The grounds are relaxing, the pool clean and the flower beds magical.

The staff were all outstanding and truly helpful in every way. Each day there were various activities for adults and children if people chose to take advantage of them. Overall it was a great stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor, west wing rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24traveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    426
    140
    44
    22
See reviews for
558
761
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Beautiful resort with flowers to rival Longwood Gardens and a great room with a view of the Kennebunk River, swimming pool, and Lobster boat. Dinner was great with a master pianist and the buffet breakfast was excellent. Suggest you take the 1.5 hr Rugosa lobsta boat cruise- Cap'n Dave and his Norwegian crew Jacob hauled lobsters near President Bush's estate. Friendly desk service and the gardens are the work of Nancy Ames- a 5 star horticulturist.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wickedpissah1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperstown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Very lovely Victorian room overlooking the river! Very clean with antique furnishings.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Delicious breakfast buffet; but...must get the Lobster Benedict! It was tremendous!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roman1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We just returned from one of the most pleasant weekend getaways ever due to the fantastic service provided by the staff at the Nonantum Resort. Of course it didn't hurt that we had great weather for June in Maine. We were able to take advantage of an online package which also helped. The main building is over 100 yrs old but is in excellent shape considering its age. The dining room is very nice, as was the live piano music in the background- They were just getting into their summer activities and have something planned daily for their guests. We had some freinds with us and they couldn't believe how nice a weekend stay we had. Would highly recommend the Nonantum for couples and families alike!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Country-music-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This resort has just about everything you need. We had a rate of $99.00 per night in a very nice room. This rate was sent to us via TRAVELZOO .com. Along with the rate we had a voucher for $20.00 off at the ocean restaurant,( really good) a voucher for 1 person on the town trolley (veryNice) 15.00 value. Also a voucher for their lobster boat tour.. But even without all these perks this resort is worth every dollar you spent. I would recoment this resort to all my friends. Next time I will stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The staff go out of their way to be welcoming but not intrusive. Our room was a bit small, with no place to put our things. However the bed was comfortable and the view was fabulous. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Donna511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Beautiful resort. Bright and cheery lobby with delicious breakfast buffet included. It's only a short walk (15 min) from Downtown but it's nice to be a little bit out of the center. Can't wait to get back there.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing