We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winthrop, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I could not have been more pleased. The staff was courteous, kind & very helpful. The room far exceeded our expectations in terms of size, views, cleanliness & comfort. It is a beautiful resort close to the downtown area....and their breakfast is to die for!!

I only have very good things to say....absolutely no negatives.
Absolutely charming.

Room Tip: Request river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello Patricia:
Thank you so much for your very kind review! I must agree, our staff really could not be nicer! It is also wonderful to hear that you very much enjoyed your breakfast. With winter on its way, it sure is nice to have a yummy breakfast in the morning!
Please come and see us again. Thanksgiving weekend is a great time to start your Christmas shopping and Chirstmas Prelude will be here soon. Hope to see you then!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    419
    139
    44
    21
See reviews for
539
748
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We just returned from our one night stay in Kennebunkport. We drove 2 hours to just get-a-way for our 6th wedding anniversary with our 1 1/2 year old daughter. Our room was upgraded to a suite, not because I mentioned our reason for visiting, but because a standard King room wasn't available, just two queens. The suite was amazing and I loved having the sliding doors to sit on the patio or walk out to the Adirondacks and watch the boats come in. Now I had heard/read they had a fabulous breakfast buffet and it was all true...and included with the room! The lobby in our building had a wood fire burning which I really loved. If there was any downfall at all it's that the lobby can get loud, our room was the first room next to it and my daughter woke up because of it so if you're sensitive bring earplugs or ask for a room further from the lobby. Every single employee was attentive and eager to help. Usually if we return to a locale more than once we try different places to stay, however if we find ourselves in KBPT again we definitely will be revisiting The Nonantum.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hello Pamela!
I am so happy to hear you had such a lovely anniversary celebration here at The Nonantum! I know just the room you stayed in and when my daughter was young, she loved to stay in that room too! She also enjoyed going out on the lawn to watch the beautiful boats come in!
I hope you will come back and see us soon. Christmas Prelude is coming up fast and the whole town joins in the fun. I bet your daughter would really enjoy it. Brunch with Mrs Claus. How can you beat it?
Thank you again for your lovely remarks!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Loved our corner room and the location. Staff was very nice and accomdating. Thought the cost considering the great breakfast that was included was very reasonable! Room was clean and we we able to check in early. GREAT VIEWS and atmosphere!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Bill:
Thank you so much for your lovely review! You bring up an excellent point. This is value season at The Nonantum Resort so there are lots of great deals available. Granted some of the hustle and bustle of summer is no longer here, but for many of our shoulder season repeat guests, this is a great thing. It is quiet in Kennebunkport in November, so it is a great place to get away from it all and just enjoy crisp, beautiful days and cool nights (spent bundled up in a Cuddledown comforter!) You might even find a few moments to walk downtown and get your Christmas shopping started!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel but definitely would have been able to spend more time. I had a beautiful corner room, that was brightly decorated in water colors, with a fantastic view of the water, boats and a small lighthouse on the property. This hotel was a delight and the morning breakfast a surprise. Yes, it was a buffet but with two wonderful quiches, oatmeal with nuts/fruits, and in a very charming room in the main hotel building. I imagine that the area is wall to wall people in the summer and fall, but I was there in late October so our group of 42 almost had the whole place to ourselves.

Room Tip: If you are there in the cooler fall months, I would wear a sweater or coat if you have to walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Californian Friend:
I am so happy to hear you and your group had such a wonderful time! As I often say, Kennebunkport is beautiful in every season! I am fortunate enough to have an office that overlooks the water and no matter what the time of year, I always find it a challenge to do my work instead of gazing out at the boats and the always changing scenery!
Please come back and see us again soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved this hotel. It's an old building & quite quirky but the rooms were very comfortable. The situation is excellent & the area beautiful.
The food in the restaurant is very good, both breakfast & dinner with friendly service.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible, go for a room at the back, overlooking the river, although all areas are pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 665Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Pauline:
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at The Nonantum Resort! Our building is a bit quirky isn't it? I think it adds to the charm! We were first built in 1883, and we really enjoy our historical side!
I hope that you will come back and see us again soon! Thanks again for the nice writeup!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great location with a short walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Room was beautiful with a great view of the river. The staff was outstanding- very helpful, friendly, and responsive to all our requests! Excellent breakfast buffet. We ate and drank at the hotel bar and were very pleased with the food and service. All in all it was a great hotel experience. We will definitely return to The Nonantum Resort!

Stephen J

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Stephen:
I really appreciate your nice review! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests are enjoying the many yummy options in our hotel bar Heckmans. This time of year is an especially nice time to wander downtown to the many shops and galleries. The leaves are still pretty and the air is fresh and clear. Just a really pretty time of year!
Please come back and see us again soon! We really are grateful for your business!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A charming couple met our tour bus with trays of cookies and hot cider and really set the tone for a wonderful stay. Our room was very attractive and comfortable and located in the newer part of the complex. Looking out our window, we could see boats moored in the bay, a tiny lighthouse on the property,and immaculately landscaped grounds. You could tell the people in charge of decorating really enjoyed their jobs as there were delightful Halloween displays, fall pumpkins everywhere, and beautiful mums. We had a lobster dinner provided by our tour, and the staff went out of their way to help us remove the delicious lobster meat from the shell. It is a picture perfect place for a wedding, but it was a very special place to end our New England tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Texas Traveler Gal:
Ken and Rose, the couple who greeted you, are an institution here at The Nonantum! They really are amazing aren't they? We feel so fortunate to be working with them. They set the standard for gracious hospitality for all of the rest of Team Nonantum!
I hope you can make it back here another time! If you think our Halloween decorations are amazing, wait until you see the Christmas ones! Totally amazing!
Christmas will be here before you know it!
Happy November,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing