We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go-To Place for KPT!”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We head to Kennebunkport for 3-4 day mini get aways at least twice a year, usually in June, July or Sept t coincide with my hubby's birthday or our anniversary. The Nonantum offers spacious, comfortable rooms ( we only stay in the Portside), a variety of onsite activities ( pool, bikes, kayaks, lawn sports of different kinds), and a convenient location to walk to town for shopping and/or dining...or head off in the opposite direction for a fast stroll to Mabels Lobster Claw or to Dannah's for shopping fun. The room rate includes breakfast -- not a skimpy continental, but rather a bountiful,and lovely, hot one with a variety of items all freshly made ( eggs, pancakes, fruit, granola, oatmeal, potatoes, sausage, bacon, muffins, etc.) i was thrilled to see they offer gluten-free waffles and pancakes upon request! The waitservice staff is usually college kids who are very polite and do a nice job. What we love about this resort over others in KPT is the lack of pretense. By that i mean, it's lovely, well-appointed, with great food and activities and charm, without being stuffy. The last thing my husband wants to do is put on a tie and jacket for dinner while on vacation. He prefers to wear a collared short sleeve shirt and Docker pants or shorts with sneaker or boat shoes-- that attire, thank goodness, is more than acceptable for dinner at 95 Ocean ( the dinner restaurant at the resort). The Nonantum strikes a fine balance between catering to couples like us and families with kids. Oh, yes, one other thing...staff is top notch! Our room is always spotless!

Room Tip: Any of the Portside rooms on the first or second floor. Ask for one with a view of the river. Each r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Lynn:
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoy your visits to The Nonantum! It is especially good news to hear we are hitting our goal of over-the-top service without pretense. It is a difficult balance to strike but one we work on constantly! Our mission is to exceed our guests expectations and as you can imagine, everyone has different expectations!
It is amazing how many people are watching their intake of gluten. Our non gluten options in the morning have been a huge hit this year! Thanks for mentioning this!
Have a wonderful summer!
Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I spent two great days at the Nonantum this week. The staff at the desk were were warm and friendly; helping to orient us to the town and the excursions we could take on our own, and helped us think about excursions we could made around town. We did mention that it was our anniversary and the next day there was a handwritten card and a small box of chocolates in our room. Because it was off-season, we were given an upgrade to a lovely room in the new building, with a picture window over-looking the harbor. The location is right on the water where you can sit and watch boats move in and out of the harbor and you can also take a sailboat or lobster boat ride. You can also walk the near-by Parson's Way up to a beautiful old stone church – with more views of the water and stony shore. A full breakfast was included with gluten free foods available on request, and a capable, friendly wait staff.. What's not to like? We hope to be back soon again.

Room Tip: be sure to get a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Newton Friend:
You have done a wonderful job pulling together all the attributes that make the Nonantum such a special place! Lots of fun places you can walk to yet plenty to do if you just want to stay at the hotel. The walk on Parson's Way is one of my favorite activities. It is just so beautiful. I always return from a walk down there relaxed and renewed.
So glad you will be coming back to see us soon! Every day is just more amazing than the last! Looking forward to seeing you!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family of 7 recently stayed for two nights at the Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport. We were there for a local wedding. The hotel was outstanding! We had 3 rooms in the annex building all overlooking the river and were extremely comfortable. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff was welcoming and accommodating to all of our requests. The breakfast buffet was a huge hit with our 5 teenage boys and they also had dinner in the restaurant, and lunched at the pool café.
I highly recommend the Nonantum for its location as well, as we were able to walk to town and do some shopping and sight seeing.
We look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: We were in a lower level room over-looking the river. Two of the rooms had king beds and one had two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Greetings Massachusetts Visitors:
First of all, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our unique location. We are the only place I am aware of in Maine that offers 7 acres of lawn,a waterfront view and our own marina yet is just a short walk downtown. Location, location, location!
I am not surprised your 5 (!) teenage boys enjoyed our breakfast buffet. There absolutely is something for everyone offered on that buffet.
Please come and see us again soon.
Summers are beautiful in Kennebunkport!
Best Wishes,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I took my four children, their spouses and two adult grandchildren to Nonantum Resort for a family weekend. I was apprehensive about staying in the Carriage Home but we all loved it. The rooms were exceptionally clean and each had its own character. The entire staff is gracious, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is very good and has much to choose from. There are adirondack chairs lining the river where we gathered to enjoy relaxing, watching the activity on the river, and playing games. The pool is heated and there is a poolside bar and grill where we had lunch. It's a short walk to dock square to visit the shops or restaurants. We are already planning to return. It's our place to go in Kennebunkport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi Sandy!
Thanks for bringing your family here for a vacation! What a lucky group!
One thing I really enjoy is watching families like yours with multiple generations chatting and playing on the grass. Everyone looks relaxed and happy and with our beautiful lawn and waterfront as a backdrop you can't help but create lifelong memories.
Now that we are your place to go to in Kennebunkport, I will look forward to seeing you here often!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was a very special week-end and we were lucky enough to stop in when Angela was working the front desk. She paired us with Tom, the wonderful and friendly bell-hop to show us several rooms in both buildings. He even let us compare two rooms as he explained the benefits of each. Angela gave us a discount when we asked if she would honor AAA or AARP, and gave us complimentary Nonatum Resort wine openers and a map with special places to see; a real sweetie.
Our room was in the newer building with gorgeous views, a fridge, and a Keurig coffee machine. They recommended Bandaloop Restaurant which would accommodate all of my food allergies (more on them in a separate review), as well as a few others. The next morning not only was the included breakfast buffet delicious with many choices, but Ian in the dining room, helped me narrow down which foods I could safely eat. They prepared gluten-free, dairy-free French Toast just for me, which was excellent.
As we were checking out, Kim and Sue, the lovely gals who were doing the gardening, stopped and took our pictures. A special, memorable week-end at The Nonatum thanks to above and beyond caring people.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeacherLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello Boston Friend!
It is wonderful to hear about how our staff made your stay so special. It sounds like from beginning to end Team Nonantum took great care of you!
Angela and Tom are a fantastic one-two punch at the Front Desk! Both are always calm and friendly, and in this face paced world we live in, they are a welcome breath of fresh air!
I also am very proud of Ian. He worked in the kitchen for many years and this year has made the jump to the dining room. He is an expert in food preparation and that is certainly very helpful with our guests who have allergy issues! (dairy free, gluten free, French toast sounds like an Ian creation!)
The ladies who take care of our gardens, Sue, Kim and Cheryl are all absolutely delightful and I am thrilled that you had the chance to say hello to them. They are a great source of information about gardening and the area in general and I get lots of comments from our guests about how welcoming they are to all!
I hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Thanks for writing!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I chose the Nonantum Resort for a last minute escape with my 4 year old daughter. You'd never know our room was 'not newly renovated' clean and adorable for $99 (on a Saturday!!). Comfy bed with crisp white plush duvet. Best part, this included the full buffet breakfast. Expansive and delicious. Great coffee and attentive staff. Small pool and fairy garden thrilled my daughter. Poolside bar and garden side tavern did the trick for me. Rockers on the porch, Adirondacks by the inlet out back. Short walk to adorable town center shops and restaurants or to small sandy. Everyone seemed happy and proud to be working there. It showed in their willingness to help and ease of their smiles. Absolutely loved it and plan to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisZuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Kris:
How lovely that you and your 4 year old had the opportunity for such a enjoyable getaway! The Fairy Garden is near my office and I always enjoy watching the excitement on the children's faces (and some of the adults!) as they spy the little shell seesaw or the little angels tucked between some of the plantings.
I loved your sentence "Everyone seemed happy and proud to be working there". Wow! What a huge compliment! Thank you very much!
Keep your eye on our Facebook page and website for other specials! Looking forward to seeing you and your daughter again soon! The Activities Program with loads of fun activities for kids starts soon and I am sure your daughter would have a ball!
All The Best!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We really enjoyed our time at the Nonantum. It is not the most well appointed hotel, not does it have the best rooms. What it has are very clean well taken care of rooms in an older hotel as well as some of the nicest staff you are every going to meet.. Sitting out back on their white Adirondack chairs, with a glass of wine, watching the boats come in and out is just as relaxing as anything could be. We look forward to going back to the Nonantum in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suntraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangm11, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello Boston Friend:
You have hit upon our number one favorite activity at The Nonantum! In this crazy world being able to unplug, settle in to an Adirondack Chair, Adult Beverage in hand, and watch the boats go by can offer relaxation on a level you may have only dreamt of! You cannot believe how many people have told me they NEVER nap - until they visit the Nonantum! I think this is the ultimate compliment!
Just wait until you see the hotel this fall! The gardens fit perfectly into Mother Nature's backdrop and if history is any indication there may be a scarecrow or two stopping by!
See you then!
Happy Summer!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#6 of 6 in Kennebunkport
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range: £111 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing