We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were in Kennebunkport for a wedding and the bride suggested Nonantum as a "Maine-y" place to stay. We enjoyed our stay very much. We had some unique needs for accommodations, and the friendly staff worked with us to find a room that would suit our needs. The only complaint we had was the elevator noise; however the room that met our needs probably wasn't available in any other location. If you're sensitive to noise and have options, don't get a room near the elevator! The brunch was delicious each morning and every staff member we interacted with was friendly and welcoming. The woman in the gift shop was delightful to converse with. When we first arrived, all we wanted was room service -- they said we could order anything on the dinner menu and have it sent up. The blueberry ribs were fantastic! And the rest of our meal delicious, too. Only other nit pick is that the heated pool was quite cold (though it was early in the season). Overall we had an awesome time and would definitely consider staying again if we return to the area for vacation in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSSMMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Visitor From Maryland!
We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time here at The Nonantum! Our staff and their friendly attitudes are what makes this hotel stand out in a town of outstanding properties!
Kennebunkport is truly unique in that there is a ton of fun things to do, yet if you want to relax and enjoy the laid back Maine way of life, that is an option too! The choice is yours!
Please come back and see us again soon!
Happy Summer,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    419
    139
    44
    21
See reviews for
539
748
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Nonantum last month and when booking our travel agent had told them it was our wedding anniversary during our stay. When we got to our room, we found a card of congratulations and a small box of chocolates. The first morning we asked at breakfast to reserve a window table that night for our anniversary dinner, and the breakfast hostess arranged this for us. She clearly passed the information on as that night, both the evening hostess and the waitress knew it was our anniversary and congratulated us. The next morning the breakfast hostess even remembered, and asked us if everything had gone well. We were really impressed with this attention to detail.
Prior to that when checking in, we found the service excellent, with the lady checking us in providing us with a map on which she marked various areas of interest and places to visit, and gave us useful tips such as where to park for the beach etc. We found this extra information really useful and it greatly enhanced our stay.
We were also extremely happy with our room, we had booked a corner room, which was big, had windows on two sides so loads of light, a great water view, and a lovely big patio.
Given the location and room we would have enjoyed our stay anyway, but the friendly and helpful staff and the extra touches in remembering our wedding anniversary really made it extra special.

Room Tip: Rooms with water view and balcony/terrace are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Carolyn:
Thank you so much for celebrating your anniversary with us! We really appreciate you allowing us to help you build some wonderful Anniversary memories. Hopefully this can be the start of a wonderful tradition for you and your husband, as it is for so many other couples!
It is great to hear that even in a place as busy as we are, the staff takes the time to share important events our guests are celebrating with each other so the fun can continue!
Hope to see you again next year!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Love this place! Great pool activities every day for kids and adults, kayaking is great we do it every year from the resort. Beds are amazing ( when do you say that!) Staff is so friendly and relaxed. Great for families and for couples! We stayed in the main house and the room was perfect #325! Highly recommend we will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceMac197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Joyce:
We can't wait to see you back here next year! We just bought a bunch of new kayaks that I think you will really enjoy!
Our beds are really amazing. I spend the night here regularly to make sure everything is up to par (it is a tough job but someone has to do it!) In addition to high end beds, we have high end linens and pillows from a Maine based company called Cuddledown. So comfortable!
We really appreciate your kind remarks!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This property offered everything on premise for you to enjoy a quiet or active holiday.....
Kayaking, boating,sailing,fishing,biking,swimming,shopping,and dining!
The grounds were beautiful people friendly and quite helpful. Our room was nicely furnished and recently updated in soft pastel colors.
We will definitely book a room with them again overlooking the water.

Room Tip: We had a bay window on second floor facing road and it was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Linda:
Thank you very much for coming to see us! I hope you had time for Kayaking, boating,sailing,fishing,biking,swimming,shopping,and dining! They are all such wonderful ways to spend a Maine summer day and all are available right here at the resort! I am someone who exercises every day and I know if I was on vacation I would really love to go to a place where I could take advantage of all these kinds of activities instead of my usual visit to the gym!
Please come and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My family and I stayed at this Hotel in June, unfortunately just for one night. I cannot think of one thing I did not like about this Hotel.

Our room appeared to have been recently renovated together with the bathroom. Great toiletries and even a black 'make up' flannel (great idea).

Breakfast was first class with a great deal of choice. All staff were helpful and pleasant.

Ideally located for walking into the Town. Dont hesitate stay here you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello Evans Family:
"I cannot think of one thing I did not like about this hotel"! What a nice thing to say! Thank you very much!
Our wonderful location makes for easy access to downtown without being in the hubbub and traffic of the village. I hope you had a chance to walk down and check out some of the cute boutiques (as well as our own gift shop!)
Please come back and see us again soon! We really appreciate your kind comments!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was a beautiful resort with a wonderful and friendly staff. Nice breakfast buffet and had a lovely dinner there. We stayed at the Portside and had a room with a view of the parking lot. The bathroom was not good and in need of updating. No place to put anything.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hi Jeanne:
Thank you so much for coming to visit us in Kennebunkport! I am happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast and dinner here in our award winning restaurant 95 Ocean.
As I am sure you know, our parking lot view rooms are available at a lower rate than our water view rooms. Many of our customers appreciate the more economical option as they spend the day outside enjoying the best that Kennebunkport has to offer.
Hope to see you again soon!
All The Best!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel reminds me of the old traditional hotel where you go and it has everything to offer and you never have to leave. There is a restaurant, pub, pool, activities for kids and adults, lobster boat, sailing cruise, wave runners, kayaks, etc. The room was updated, although the bathroom was a little small. The hotel is 0.7 miles from the main town, but is between the town and the beach on the river. Unfortunately we only stayed one day as it would have been fun to get into the activities. This would be the perfect spot for multiple families to gather. One thing however is that our room had a water view, but only after you looked past the cars directly outside our 1st floor sliding door.

Room Tip: WiFi is free, but our make sure to get a room closer to the wireless router than ours. We had spott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Eddie:
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a nice time at The Nonantum Resort! There is just so much to see and do that a 1 day stay just will not do! You need to come back so you can really check things out!
As far as the parking lot view is concerned, rooms that have a parking lot view are priced lower than the ones that just face the water. Most of our guests feel they are priced appropriately given the lessor views.
I also would like to apologize that your wifi was not strong enough. I had our IT man go over and check it out today and sure enough one of the routers had been inadvertently turned off. The signal you were receiving was coming from the Inn so that is why it was so weak. When you come back if you ever have a weak wifi signal please call the desk and let us know so we can fix it right away!
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your observations!
Happy Summer!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing