We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Maine Family Resort”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Maine Family Resort”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A quaint family resort , located in a very central location. The staff and resort amenities were ideal for our young family. Will visit again. There is lots of activity around the resort , swimming , kayaking , cycling and children's activities. The breakfast was great !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi James,

It's great to hear you had a nice time! As a family-owned property, we try to be as family-friendly as possible! It sounds like you participated in many of the activities we offer and took advantage of short trip into town or to the beach!

We'll see you again soon!

Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    419
    139
    44
    21
See reviews for
538
748
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

As part of our family road trip exploring New England, we opted to stay at Nonantum whilst in the Maine area. It was a perfect choice for our family. Our young children joined in lots of the activities put on by the staff (mostly free) and enjoyed playing the games, like basket ball and table tennis, that were scattered around the hotel garden. The resort's position on the edge of the water was lovely and we happily walked the 10minutes or so into the centre of Kennebunkport with the kids in the evening. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast service was excellent. Relaxed atmosphere. We had a super stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello!

I am glad you had such a great time! Kids do love playing with our activities staff and making new friends while they are here! Having a group of staff members who entertain children all day means we also have an extensive list of babysitters we recommend if parents need a night out. However it sounds like your family enjoyed spending time together and dining in town!

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the beautiful New England!

Warmly,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were here for two nights on a mother-daughter weekend away. We were surprised to see that our room was not a river view but a parking lot view. And, we were surprised that the pool was Very Small for a "Resort". Nevertheless, staff was helpful, bedding and beds were wonderful, and adirondack chairs by inlet provided lots of beautiful wedding views. The small size of the resort and the limited options there forced us out into town and to the beach, which was not what we anticipated but which turned out to be a nice change of pace from actually staying on the grounds. Nice location. Not sure if I'd go back given price of room, awful view (cars parked almost right up against windows) and bathroom size (very small). Bad option if the weather is rainy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attycps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello there!

We have many different types of rooms, some with waterviews and some without. In an effort to cut costs, many people choose to book rooms without a view and spend time in the Adirondack chairs like you did.
On site we have bike and kayak rentals, exercise classes, lawn games, movie nights, s'mores nights, and more! However, these activities do not suit everyone's needs, which makes our location great! We are an easy walk to town and a quick drive over to the beach.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

All the best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this room last minute. The staff were so accomodating when I checked in. The room was adorable, clean, and comfortable.The breakfast was excellent. The bonfire at night was a hit with my children. The Mojito's are the BEST I ever had! I want to stay again just for the Mojito's at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanandjennyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello there!

I'm so glad you were able to book a spur of the moment room with us! Booking last minute in Kennebunkport can be a challenge. The bonfire night has been a huge success with both our guests and our staff! I love to see families toasting marshmallows together in the evenings after spending a day at the pool, mojito in hand! Thanks for the great review!

I hope to see you back soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our stay at the Nonantum was a fabulous experience. Great Location for the beach or town, charming property and some of the best staff you can imagine. Room was light airy and very comfortable. The daily breakfast/brunch was fantastic with something for every taste. we hope to be back soon!
Mike & Gail

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Mike and Gail,

We hope to see you back soon as well! Many of our rooms are decorated in a style reminiscent of a seaside cottage, which is perfect given our location! Waking up in a cloud-like bed surrounded by pastel walls and a view of the river is heavenly. Then to head down to a massive expanse of your favorite breakfast foods? What could be better?

Thanks for visiting!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Ma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although we have been to Kennebunkport on several occasions, this was our first visit to The Nonantum.. Upon arrival, we were greeted immediately by the super friendly staff and was informed to go to the "meet and greet: for complimentary drinks and appetizers.. We had a lovely conversation with Jean, ( one of the Mgrs) and enjoyed the awesome view of the river..

Our stay only got better, we had a great breakfast, really anything you could think of was there on the buffet and the turn down service at night with chocolates was a really nice touch..

We had dinner at The Nonantum and several people told us to try the Blueberry Ribs, ( I know, sounds weird) but they were memorable! I had lobster which was delish! Our room was very pleasant with a view of the River. If you have children, this is a great place to take them. Lots of activities to keep them busy and the staff is second to none.. I would have given this a 5 star if not for the noise factor, not outside but above our room.. It's an older Hotel but super clean and comfortable but floors squeak etc.. If you like quiet, I would advise asking for the highest floor. You can't beat the view and the staff truly makes your stay memorable! Also, you can walk to town or go the other direction and talk a breathtaking walk along Ocean Ave.. We had a great time!

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room, select the highest floor, that way you can't hear anyone walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Ava!

Thanks so much for your kind words! I love the meet and greet because I get to meet all of our guests and give them some insider tips to touring Kennebunkport. Being invited for snacks and a drink outdoors immediately following check in sounds like the perfect way to kick off a vacation!

The blueberry ribs are certainly unique, but they are extremely popular! In fact, they contributed to Chef True's commendation as Maine Chef of the Year.

As for the room, I am glad you enjoyed your view so much. It is so soothing to awake to the sight of boats floating by. The hotel is 132 years old, and soundproofing just wasn't as advanced then as it is now. Each winter we add more soundproofing, but retrofitting this building is a challenge, however we will continue making improvements until the noise no longer carries. I apologize if your stay was disrupted at all by any noise above you. Staying on the top floor is a great tip, or you could request a room in the newer section of the hotel (The Portside Lodge).

Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of 5 had a great stay on our way from Boston to Bar Harbor. Hotel is in walking distance to the town and the beach and we enjoyed walking to both. The pool is very nice and the setting on the river is fantastic for kids with a large lawn and lots of activities. We rented kayaks from the hotel and had a great trip on the river out into the ocean and over to the sand beach. We stayed in a newly remodeled room on the fourth floor which had been converted from two rooms into one. It was perfect for a family as the two bedrooms (which are small) were separated by a really nice bathroom with a fantastic shower. All in all a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi George!

It sounds like you have a very active family! I am so glad you were able to participate in our Activities program and utilize our kayaks! We love to see families enjoying spending time together! We have recently created a few of those family units that you stayed in, and they have been a major hit!

I hope you join us again soon for another family getaway!

Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing