We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick weekend getaway”
Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“Quick weekend getaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We got a last minute reservation at the Nonantum and we couldnt have been more pleased. The grounds are beautiful, the service was excellent, the breakfast was delicious. Our room was recently redecorated and it was designer quality and eco-friendly. This is a superior place to stay and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We had a corner queen room and the view was right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Eileen!
Thanks for staying with us! We work hard to be as eco-friendly as possible. Many of our renovated Portside rooms have bamboo flooring and motion-sensored lights to contribute to that effort! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeepet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    426
    140
    44
    22
See reviews for
556
761
36
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contoocook, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoy staying at Nonantum Resort. We could see that it worked for families with kids, but it worked with us being 60 and without kids as well. Wonderful experience.Thank you! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Mary:
I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time. As someone with grown kids who is headed towards 60, I also enjoy watching the families with the little children playing on the lawn! (although I must admit that in the morning I am happy to sleep in to any time I please without any little visitors!)
Thanks very much for your kind review!
Please come back and see us soon!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've spent 7 weeks at the Nonantum since 2000 and have loved each visit. The grounds are beautiful, service is excellent and the entire menu is delicious! The Nonantum could be a case study in customer service, where nothing is left undone. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The Nonantum is our place where we can relax on our balcony, sit by the pool, take a lobster boat ride, etc. Truly a fantastic place for vacation!

Room Tip: Portside Lodge! You get views of the water from each room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horgan050287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Horgan Family:
Thank you so very much for your continued years of vacationing with us! We so appreciate your support through all the years. Gosh, where has the time gone?
We especially appreciate your remark "The Nonantum could be a case study in customer service, where nothing is left undone". How very kind of you! Thank you!
We hope that you will be back to see us again soon! Maybe a trip this fall to see the changing leaves?
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We love coming here every year. We stay in the Portside building because we love the balcony overlooking the river and the ocean in the distance. The staff is so attentive. Breakfast buffet included is fabulous. My daughter loves the activities at the kid's club tent and we get to enjoy some time alone.

Room Tip: We like the second floor in the Portside building with the balcony. Be sure you ask for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Ohio Friends:
Your review is the great example of "If the kids are happy, Mom and Dad are happy"! It sounds like your daughter is the perfect age for having a ball in our Activities Program. I often feel sorry for parents when they come to pick up their child and the child bursts in to tears because they want to stay a play a little longer!
Hopefully your family will be able to come and enjoy an 8th consecutive year of Nonantum fun next summer. We'll see you then!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Nonantum Resort for a night and my only complaint would be that it wasn't long enough! The resort is located in a picturesque setting on the river along Ocean Ave. It is within walking distance to beaches and town. The hotel offers rentals for kayaking and there are boats conveniently docked along the resort area to reserve for fishing or sunset cruises. One can also opt to chill with a good book on the Adirondack chairs and take in all the beauty around you. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful; our room was nicely decorated and dinner was outstanding as was Sunday breakfast. We plan to return for a longer stay and highly recommend this resort. Great for families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augustine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello Augustine:
We hope you can come back again soon and this time stay much longer! While most of our guests come to take advantage of the opportunity for R & R, there are lots of fun activities such as paddle boarding, hiking, biking, surfing and antiquing. As you mentioned, we have our own marina so boat rides are right on our front lawn. What could be easier?
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We really appreciate it!
Happy Summer!
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Absolutely wonderful all the way around. Beautiful rooms and grounds. Service was excellent, friendly and helpful. Food was terrific. Breakfast buffet was above average. Well prepared and always hot. A wonderful family resort as there are many activities for children. Within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Marcia:
I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time here at The Nonantum! Our food is really terrific (having the Maine Chef of the Year as our Executive Chef sure helps!) and our restaurant with its many seating options (inside, outside, screened in porch, 95 Ocean and River Room)means that there is something for every taste!
Please come see us again soon!
Gratefully,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived where we were greeted like old friends by management we were incredibly impressed. The room was the best in the resort with water views from two sides. Breakfast and dinners were fantastic (the chef is award winning) and service spectacular. Great way to return to US after two year tour overseas! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reinman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Reinman:
Welcome back to the USA! What an adventure two years overseas must have been!
We are thrilled we could be part of your welcome back home and we are delighted your stay was such a wonderful one!
Please come back and see us again very soon!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#5 of 5 in Kennebunkport
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing