We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in kennebunkport”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nonantum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nonantum Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Best hotel in kennebunkport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

The nonantum has it all. It is family friendly, great location, lots of amenities, great breakfast, staff is helpful and courteous, rooms are large and very clean and is overall the best place to stay is kennebunkport. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
You and Trip Advisor agree: The Nonantum Resort is the number 1 rated hotel in Kennebunkport on Trip Advisor as well as by you! Thank you! That is quite a compliment as there are many really wonderful properties in Kennebunkport!
All of us here at the Nonantum pledge to do our best to insure that all our guests have a Number One on Trip Advisor worthy visit! Kennebunkport is a lovely little town with lots to see and do! I hope you will be back to see us again soon!
Thanks again for your kind words!
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    411
    135
    43
    21
See reviews for
510
708
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our family (two adults, 3 young children) had a lovely stay at the Nonantum. The rooms were modern and very clean (we were in the newer, modern rooms - Portside). The breakfast is outstanding (there was an omelet station on Sunday morning, and scrambled eggs on Monday morning, and both days plenty of pastries, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, fruit and even fruit-infused water! And plenty of kid options including cold cereal and donuts. The views from the property are amazing. Two days we had lunch outside by the water (once by the pool and another by the adirondack chairs by the boats) and loved it. The kids activities were terrific. Just having a basketball hoop, crafts, ping pong, corn hole toss, etc. at all times were great for a post-breakfast activity or activity for a non-beach day. We had great weather and took advantage of the beach (Goose Rocks) in the AM and then the hotel pool in the afternoon. The pool wasn't huge but the kids loved it (they had noodles and balls there for the kids to play with and they provide towels). And parents can order cocktails by the pool and kids can order snacks/lunch. We will definitely be back again next year and you can't find a prettier setting or more kid-friendly place - and the service and rooms were terrific. Thanks for a lovely stay! And it was our anniversary, and the hotel left us a small box of locally made chocolates with a handwritten note. Very nice touch.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are Portside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hi Meredith:
What fun your kiddos must have had on this vacation! Your description of the fun your family enjoyed sounds like the perfect family getaway! Lots of fun for parents as well as kids!
Also happy to hear the breakfast buffet had something for everyone. Sometimes with kids this is a hard goal to achieve!
Happy Anniversary! Perhaps next year you can celebrate with us as well!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the report. We found the facilities, centrally located and just a short walk to downtown Kennebunkport. The staff were knowledgable and very customer oriented making our stay a pleasure. The breakfast buffet was large and diverse with something for everyone. The rooms were clean and modern and not run down like many reports.

For families and others the resort offers on-site many activities that could easily keep you on their grounds without having to leave to occupy kids in firm activities regardless of their age.

We would recommend this resort to our friends and family members and plan to stay with them when we return to Kennebunkport in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Joseph:
I really appreciate your thoughtfully written review! It isn't easy sometimes in the summer to keep everyone happy in busy Kennebunkport, but we sure do try our best! We are blessed with a beautiful setting and summers in Maine are really hard to beat!
Our breakfast buffet (which is included for free if you book your room directly with us as opposed to a third party booking agent) really does have something for everyone and our staff enjoys a Nonantum Family breakfast (which is always hard to resist!) each morning.
Please come back and see us again soon!
Warm Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a great time staying at the resort. The resort is clean and have a very nice view. The location is very convenient. We walked to dock square every morning. It's a very nice 15 minutes walk too! We'll def like to come back and stay here next time we visit kennebunkport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awenhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello Connecticut Friend!
How lovely that you are looking forward to your return visit already! We are looking forward to your return visit as well! What a coincidence! :-)
The walk downtown is a lovely stroll. Just far enough that you do not have to feel guilty about enjoying a yummy dessert, but no so far that you are tired when you get there!
The fall is beautiful here in Kennebunkport! Hurry back!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I make our way to Maine every year for my birthday which happens to fall around the Labor Day Holiday. This was our first time to Kennebunkport. Yes, the Bushes were in town :-) First, the grounds are beautiful. I spoke with one of the ladies watering the flowers on the property and she was most knowledgeable and helpful with suggestions for my own garden. The front desk staff are well spoken, well dressed, always with a kind word and a smile and most helpful. The hostesses in the dining hall are very warm and friendly and efficient. The housekeeping staff are English speaking ladies who actually interact with the guests. I applaud the Inn Keeper for getting "American" help in that area. The two ladies who keep our room in order did a fantastic job. Our room was large, with a great view of the river and ocean, and it had a potbelly stove that made our evenings rather romantic. It's a great location..you can walk Ocean Ave to Walker's Island and it's a short walk to all the downtown shops. They have bikes for rent, they are family friendly with activities for the little ones, and the pool is well maintained. Our stay was very comfortable and I highly recommend this resort

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstevesNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello New Jersey Friend!
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your birthday with us! We would love it if you make this an annual event!
The ladies who take care of the grounds here really could not be any nicer! It is a rare day that a guest does not comment to me about how much they enjoyed chatting with them. Luckily for me they are very generous with their time and suggestions as my yard is looking pretty awesome (and I have a black thumb!)
Thanks again for coming to see us! Don't be a stranger!
Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

If you like being treated very well, beautiful surroundings, friendly and helpful staff, ideal location, delicious meals, heated pool and a feeling of happiness all around you, this is the place to vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hello Sandra:
I loved your remark that The Nonantum is for you "If you like the feeling of happiness all around you". What an awesome compliment! We did a Happy Video this year that is posted on our website as well as our Facebook page - check it out! We had so much fun pulling it together. I never knew we had so many folks who love to perform!
It is fantastic that you had such a wonderful time while here in Kennebunkport. I hope you will come back and see us again soon! Danvers is not very far away!
All The Best,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Perfect for a sisters' weekend. The staff was very welcoming, unpretentious, and accommodating. The view from our room was relaxing and gorgeous. The grounds are immaculate. Dinner at 95 Ocean, their restaurant, was excellent. Their gift shop had great prices on unique clothing. The ocean is within walking distance. We can say we had a fabulous stay at the Nonantum and highly recommend it to others. It would have been nice to have an in-house spa.

Room Tip: if you want a room with a balcony that overlooks the water, there are only a limited number, so be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birthmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah3, Owner at Nonantum Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hello Colorado Friends:
The Nonantum is the perfect place for a Sister's Weekend. We have lots of ladies traveling together as they love taking advantage of the great restaurants, bars and shopping in Kennebunkport as well the safe easy lifestyle Kennebunkport affords. While you are correct that we do not have an in house spa, there is a beautiful spa less than a block away and there is an amazing gift shop in between here and there!
Throw in a boat ride and a walk on the beach and you have the perfect girls getaway!
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
Best Regards,
Jean Ginn Marvin
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.3 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonantum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonantum Resort

Property: Nonantum Resort
Address: 95 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kennebunkport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nonantum Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Maine waterfront resort where traditions begin. The Nonantum has been welcoming guests with genuine hospitality since 1883. Enjoy historic charm with just the right modern comforts. Located on the Kennebunk River, along scenic Ocean Avenue, close to the shops and galleries in Dock Square, near Walker's Point and the beaches. Offering casually elegant accommodations, award-winning dining, family activities, and a gorgeous setting for special events. Seasonal outdoor heated pool, kayak rentals, trolley tours, scenic lobster boat tours, sailing tour and fishing charters departing right from the resort's on-site marina. Free WiFi, free parking, and free breakfast when you book directly with the resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nonantum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nonantum Resort Kennebunkport, Maine
Nonantum Hotel Kennebunkport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing