We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch! Will return when in the area again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longfellow's Restaurant

Longfellow's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Kingfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice lunch! Will return when in the area again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having driven by a number of times before, we stopped here for lunch when passing through Western Maine today. Great find. They make a lot of their own food. Homemade veggie burger served with homemade chips was very good. The brownie sunday was, if not exotic, very good too. The fries were really disappointing, but with a lot of good choices on the menu, we'd certainly return - we'd just avoid those. As other reviews have noted, the service was very good too. This is a far above average, genuine small town restaurant. Very fair prices too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    63
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Sublime food and brilliant service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Wow! On a road trip up from New York, where we had predominately been living on late night fast food and take away, Longfellow's Restaurant was such a treat!
The friendly staff managed to squeeze us in on a busy night. We immediately felt welcomed and at home. The log cabin-esque feel to the restaurant makes you want to stay forever.
The menu was awesome - we were craving good, home-cooked, healthy food, this restaurant was the only one open in Kingfield. Luckily for us it appears Kingfield doesn't need another eatery - this one cannot be beaten.
The food was so good that we stayed for dessert (unheard of on our low budget road trip). Thank goodness we did - the apple crumble style cheesecake had my girlfriend nearly reinact a scene from a movie - yes, you know the one!
Go here, eat lots, and say hi to the staff from us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobLeeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had lunch and dinner at this restaurant. Both meals were very good, although we thought lunch was the better meal. Portions and price were good. Staff were very helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginny919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
183 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small Town Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This little restaurant in western Maine is a gem. We went there on a Saturday night over the long Columbus Day weekend. We arrived before they got busy and loved the old charm of the interior. The staff was friendly and helpful with the specials. We had fish dinners that were very good and were portioned properly. Have been by several times in our past trip to Maine before finally stopping for dinner. Glad we stopped and hoped to return when we return to Maine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank photojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were tired and hungry after traveling all day, and really didn't expect to find such a gem as Longfellows's in the little town of Kingfield. We were delighted with the atmosphere, service and food. All six of us enjoyed our meals. The menu has many great choices and our waitress had a really fun personality. I would definitely like to go there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank toromerkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longfellow's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Longfellow's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing