We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Apre Ski” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hug's

Hug's
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Kingfield
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Smithfield, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Apre Ski”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Excellent food and drinks. This place has history and atmosphere. It is truly a Sugarloaf tradition to stop here after a long day on the slopes.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveAugusta_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield, ME
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Convenient, cozy, good Italian food.Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank snoluvr_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ME
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As always excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Enjoyed our favorite restaurant over at Sugarloaf. I swayed away from my usual favorite, Mushroom Ravioli with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce, and this time choose the Chicken Parmesan which was great also. Of course we had to start with the Havarti Fritter and the Portabella Mushroom stuffed with seafood, delicious! My husbands usual Salmon Picatta was amazing. We enjoy so much seeing Kimberly and always have the best of service. Please go and enjoy their Italian cuisine....... oh and the pesto bread......... can't wait to get back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PSIBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Good itailian Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We recently went to Hug's on the last night before their fall closing. Even though it was the last night, the food was great, well prepared and very fresh. The eggplant Parma was very good and the wild mushroom raviolis excellent. Service was very prompt. Overall a very good eating experience. Reservations are essential in this smallish restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4everSeekingSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, ME
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing pesto breadsticks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Right by Sugarloaf is a very good Italian restaurant where each item on menu is really excellent. The warm pesto breadsticks alone will have you coming back. Having been more than 12 times, I cannot wait to go back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hug's also viewed

 

Been to Hug's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing