We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious!”
Review of One Stanley Avenue

One Stanley Avenue
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Kingfield
Price range: US$22 - US$36
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretentious!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

On the advice of a nearby B&B where we stayed, we visited 1 Stanley Avenue and came away very disappointed. From the moment we entered we found the staff (of two) pretentious in making us wait in the lobby to be seated (we were 15 minutes early for a reservation) when they had only three tables occupied (out of about ten). The waitress was overly talkative but reasonably efficient. The main courses were way too rich for a mountain ski town in northern Maine. Too much sauce on everything. And once we were finished, we sat for too long for our plates to be cleared and finally had to get up and ask for our check. We would not go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Housed in a beautiful Victorian, this is a special place for a memorable meal. We had venison and lamb. Both beautifully done.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Romantic Must”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had another wonderful dinner at One Stanley last night. Enjoy a cocktail in the lounge before dinner and visit with other patrons; always a nice way to relax before your meal. The atmosphere is wonderful as well as the staff & Chef Owner Dan Davis is always a pleasure. Don't miss the Mignonettes Mercurio, my favorite! Best to make a reservation. I think that they are closing for the summer mid April but call to check!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The B&B next door at Three Stanley and had a wonderful fine dining experience here. We will be back next year for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ikeepitsimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everytime I go there the food is sooo good!!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This is my husband and my favorite restaurant, we love everything on the menu. I have worked in the food service industry for almost 20 years, and this is still my favorite place to eat. the consistency in the dishes and the service are the two top reasons that we love this place. Everything that we have had on the menu is delicious, literally metling in your mouth, but the important part is that it tastes the same everytime you order it!!! The service is outstanding, you leave there feeling like you have been completley spoiled rotten. I love the atmosphere, you walk in feeling like you are in someone's beautiful home, and you can appreciate all the little details in the decor.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bee3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Stanley Avenue also viewed

 

Been to One Stanley Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing