We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A shopping trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northeaster Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northeaster Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A shopping trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

On our last trip for shopping to kittery outlets, we ask some poeple and they point us to couple of hotels northeaster was one of them. We never have any experience in staying in motels as we usually go for big names hotels. We called for rates and found there were couple rooms and 1 cabin was available. We rented one of the rooms. By the look it not that great but it it turned out a nice experience in that motel. Beds and room was clean, customer service was great and it was affordable so we saved some cash to put towards our shopping list :). We are glad we found that place in kittery. Next visit we will for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memoona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    4
    4
    19
See reviews for
12
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Amwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We first stayed here in 2005 after finding it when the tourist information people suggested we look on Route 1 By-pass for less expensive lodging. We've stayed every year since. The owners are very nice and helpful when we need their help. We usually stay in one of the cabins but have twice stayed in one of the rooms. Everything is always clean and comfortable. I particularly like the fact that they have windows which can be opened to let in the wonderful outside air when we are there in Sept. The owners care about the place and keep upgrading equipment and accessories. There are always pretty flowers planted and we like being surrounded by trees.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CWR_EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

It first started out with a phone call for a room, Only had 1 left, so with in 10 mins. we were there. Well that room was no longer there, but had one more for 30 dollars more. Hmmm . We took the room anyway. The room was not vacuumed. or dusted. We found bugs going around on the bath floor. The bath drain did not work, The A.C. did not work. There were no shades in the room, the lights from outside were on all night. Call front desk to have them shut off. They did but 20 mins later they were on. Spend a little more money and stay up the road. Well not stay here again..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler57311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kittery hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Northeaster Motel in Kittery,Me. twice a season for
58 years. Ownership has changed over this time span, but it has always been family owne
and therefore more accommodating and friendly than most motels. The grounds (flowers ar
everywhere) and buildings have always been kept in excellent condition and the rooms clean and well decorated. We've had automotive problems and had to stay longer than we
planned. The present owners couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. There is a
swimming pool on the property and the present owners have upgraded and maintained the
property beautifully.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snook63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

The motel is nice and well priced in relation to Kittery area. Rooms are clean and washroom was spotless. Me and my wife stayed for two days and paid cash and save taxes. Beds were comfy and sheets were nice and clean. Front desk staff was nice and welcoming. We got the service we paid for as this is not five star hotel so we do not have much expectation. Location is right next to highway and outlets as we were there for shopping and sight seeing. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal-Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Made reservation for this place with no problem in summer with short notice, apparently because hardly anyone stays there. It doesn't look like a motel from the road. You have to be looking for it specifically. There is another motel on either side of this one that people have to drive by to get to this one, and they were both busy. When we arrived no one was in office, just our room key with our reservation slip on the desk. Self serve!

Room was okay, older but clean. Had a small fridge and A/C that made noise when you turned it on - but did not cool the room. Not being near much of anything we turned on the TV. It was all snowy. Tried to tighten the connections, and then NO TV at all.

So, I would have gave it a lower rating, but it was reasonably priced, and clean. But could not go higher because of no TV, bad location and A/C that didn't work.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedBippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We reservered two cabins here for guests of our wedding. After making the reservation and settling on a price ($70/ cabin/ night) the business changed owners. I phoned a week before the event to confirm the reservation and was told that the price had changed because they were new owners. However, I was offered a "deal" which was, if I paid cash for the entire stay (two night) they would not charge me any tax. So we paid for the rooms in cash.
The cabins were quite shabby, and old. A big like staying in Grandmas attic. The pool was "closed" but had not sign saying so and we only found out it was closed when one member of our group went for a swim and was chased off. There was a partially dressed man apparently making repair to this car in the parking area/ courtyard which the cottages looked directly on. This was a big mistake on our part - we booked over the phone and had not visited the place ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ivyjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
0.2 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northeaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northeaster Motel

Property: Northeaster Motel
Address: 79 Old Post Rd, Kittery, ME 03904-1070
Region: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Northeaster Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, clean and convenient motel minutes from Kittery Outlet Malls, York beaches and historic area. Pleasant staff and comfortable rooms and cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Northeaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northeaster Motel Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing