We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Birch

The Black Birch
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set in a one story retired brick post office, The Black Birch has an unassuming exterior. The interior is modern minimalist balanced by reclaimed wood and hand blown glass lighting. Outdoors is a hidden gem of a beer garden.
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
130 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Nothing to right home about. I guess I am just not into this small plates thing, the food was ok and you can pretty much find a line up of good beers almost anywhere in this area. The deviled eggs are good, the pork spring rolls where greasy and lacking pork, the roasted cauliflower was ok, I have had better, the French dip sandwich ,ok. You get it a lot of oks, not to many this is the "best thing I have ever had I will be back here tomorrow." There are so many great options in the area I wonder why people are waiting in line to get in here, what am I missing?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    24
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cozy spot for a good beer and average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have gone here several times in the past year and it has been fun. The beer is delicious, of course, the food just average. It is difficult to get a table, and if you don't mind squeezing in, you can meet new people if you sit at the high table. I would go again for a beer and skip the dinners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hidden jem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in Kitterys Government Street is a delicious eatery. A Friday night visit around 6pm lead to a 45 minute wait time. A small, communal table kitchen/bar was worth the wait. We sat a very long and wide reclaimed piece of wood that was our table. Since it wad communal we spoke with the guests around us. Asked about what they liked to eat and when their food arrived we queried them. Strangers turned into new friends. Our service was quick and appetizers delicious. The whipped eggplant with fresh pita chips was superior. Fish and chips, meatloaf sandwich and tomatoe soup with a grilled cheese sandwich followed. The sandwichs sound simple, but were amped up with the use of artisan bread and delicious cheeses. The fish and chips were good, nothing extraordinary. The chocolate creme brulée was yummy but could have been a lot warmer. Overall, nice atmosphere and good food.

Helpful?
Thank parmalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Kittery (or Portsmouth, for that matter)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I am a local, and I love, love, love this place. The food is absolutely fantastic, and every time. The menu changes, with some staples always available, and it never disappoints. You would be hard pressed to find better food in Portsmouth. If you are visiting the area, eat here, and leave happy that you did.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flesbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice unassuming find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was visiting some friends in Kittery Point so they took me to this great little place for our evening meal. They have a tall table as you come in that is “family style”. Three seats were available, so we were escorted to them. A bar is on one side and the other side has several tables lined up against them. The kitchen is straight in from the main door, with open walls so you are able to see the chef’s at work. We started out with deviled eggs. I must say, these were the best deviled eggs I’ve had at a restaurant ever. I had the fish and chips (also wonderful) and we shared the three desserts, chocolate flan, fresh made donuts with pumpkin ginger sauce and tiramisu. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that we had some local beers as well, which finished off the meal delightfully. I will be back when I make a visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enjoying_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Birch also viewed

 

Been to The Black Birch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing