We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“meh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

positives: clean, comfortable, good location, decent price, wonderful staff, quiet
negatives: limited continental breakfast (buy a waffle machine), outdated, small room
odd: both an inside and an outside door

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cathsalzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    102
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
95
147
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you plan to "shop till you drop" at the outlets in Kittery, you will totally appreciate staying at the Coachman. It's across the street from the outlets and very comfortable. They give you a good continental breakfast and free coffee and hot chocolate 24/7. Beds are comfortable and the building is relatively quiet. Good deal for your dollars.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertDRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I have have been going to Maine every summer for a few years and I love it there. This year, work schedules prevented us from going earlier so we decided to stay a little further from the beaches in York and decided on the Coachman inn in kittery. I am so happy that we did. The motel is right in the middle of the Kittery Outlets and was a great location for my daughter and I to walk to the malls and get some great deals.

The motel itself is a little older but, it's well cared for and our room was exceptionally clean with a newer flat screen tv and comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and professional and knew all the best restaurants and things to do in the area. They were happy to give us ideas to keep busy during our stay. The whole trip was great and I was very impressed with where we stayed and will definitely choose to stay there instead of the beach next year. The Coachman is a relaxing, family oriented motel with lots of small town charm and great people. My kids loved the breakfast they offered.. plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels and pastries and my husband loved watching the pats on the big screen t.v. in their lounge area a room called the spruce creek room with a guest computer and a comfy couch to relax in outside of our sweet. They do a great job there and we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAndFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanService, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Coachman Inn during your last trip to Maine and for your kind review. We’re happy to hear that we were able to meet your requests and that you took advantage of our great location next to the Kittery Premium Outlets, just miles from the York beaches. All of us at the Coachman Inn look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This motel is pretty outdated. The rooms are a bit smelly. We had to leave our door open for a while when we got there. The staff is very nice and the location is perfect for shopping at the Kittery Premium Outlets. They offer a limited continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Coachman Inn. Our building was built in 1952 and we try to keep a New England flavor while adding in the modern amenities our guests expect. Each year we are doing renovations to the Coachman Inn to keep it as friendly and inviting as it has been in years past. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The place is close to everything, but it is a bit antiquated,the bedding is worn out (sheets, pillows, bed spreads the need new ones) people that work there are great! The pool area was great, and the breakfast was good. I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neils57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanService, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Coachman Inn for your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper. She has gone through all of the bedding and replaced worn items with upgraded items that will surely exceed our guests’ standards. Our guests’ comfort is very important to us. We thank you for bringing the matter to our attention. We look forward to seeing you at the Coachman Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We love to visit the Maine area at least twice a year, and always stay at the Coachman. It's very convenient for shopping and visiting other areas in Maine and New Hampshire.

The staff are always so friendly and helpful. We always recommend the coachman to family and friends that visit the area.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, and we like the north side on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
It is truly our pleasure to welcome you back to the Coachman Inn. We are grateful that you recommend our property to friends and family. Our location is something we take pride in. The convenience of the nearby outlets as well as many beaches and attractions is what sets us apart from others. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel/motel near the Kittery Outlet stores. it is clean and has a friendly staff, a continental breakfast. Price is ok.
My wife and I encountered two problems staying there. One is fairly minor and the owners can easily fix it. It's this; the sheets on the bed felt like we were lying on canvas. Whether they were new and hadn't been washed yet or whether they are made out of something else beside cotton, I don't know.
The other problem is that in the room that we were in (#21), the wall between our room and our neighbours was very thin. We could hear the guests next door talking and later snoring. We were lucky that we didn't have noisy or drinking neighbours. The fix for this is more difficult. The owner would have to rebuild the wall and add sound insulation between the rooms.
- other minor details; styrofoam cups for the coffee instead of paper and toaster didn't seem to work well.
- good wi-fi
nice flowers on the tables though.

Room Tip: -rooms in the back face onto a nice green area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Coachman Inn. The cleanliness of our property is very important to us as is the overall experience for each of our guests.

Our sheets were recently replaced and washed prior to using them. As with any textile, the more washing/drying, the softer it becomes. Unfortunately, it sounds as though your bed was fitted with sheets that haven’t yet been repeatedly washed.

Our Inn was built in 1952 with an addition being made in 1978. The older rooms weren’t constructed with the same soundproofing technique that our newer rooms have. While the original rooms may lack in construction, our staff makes up for that in operation. If there are noise issues, we will promptly address them if brought to our attention.

We are considering paper cups rather than Styrofoam and appreciate your suggestion. Our toaster is high quality and professional grade. You didn’t note the problem you encountered with it but would welcome speaking with you directly so that you can better provide us with details.

We are delighted you chose the Coachman Inn during your recent stay in Maine. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.7 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
4.0 mi away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#11 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing