We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value and location”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“value and location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Rooms for a family at reasonable prices include two double beds and a single, along with two bathrooms. Breakfast is plentiful and included in the price. Location is right across from Kittery outlets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moms76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    105
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
98
148
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danforth, Maine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Huge clean comfortable rooms, two large beds with the most comfortable snugly bedding, microwave, mini fridge. Lots of options on tv to relax after shopping. Warm room as it was freezing out. Inside access to lobby as well as outer access to our car, great location, excellent friendly service. Great time Christmas shopping. Great value. This was my first trip to kittery but it won'tbe my last. And coachman inn is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMBNewcAstleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souris, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Large clean room located in the middle of all the Kittery Outlet Malls. You could walk to the mall from here. Free local and long distance calls to US and Canada - yes I said FREE! Free wifi and cable TV and breakfast. Great water pressure in the shower too. All at a reasonable price. I stayed a night at the Hilton in Boston and didn't get any of those amenities for free and it cost twice as much.

My husband and I were returning from a trip out of Boston airport and choose to stop here for the night before continuing home to Prince Edward Island. We weren't here for the shopping, but what a convienent location if shopping is on your list of things to do. I grew up in Kittery and knew of the Coachman. It has been in that spot for as long as I can remember. So being an older establishment, I wasn't sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised with my stay here.I would confidently recommend it to anyone. My sister ended up showing up to visit and they happily supplied us with a cot for her to stay the night.

Room Tip: If you need/like a larger room, ask for an upstairs one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was a return visit for us. We were attending a meeting to be held at the Inn on Saturday Nov 2, 2013 but we wanted to relax and visit a friend an hour away in Acton, ME; so we came up from the town where we live South of Boston on Friday afternoon and stayed till Monday morning for a total of 3 nights. Enjoyed the room # 53 very much, spacious and very comfy. Just a suggestion if you are a senior, you might want to get a King Room with one king bed instead because the Jacuzzi tub for two is actually very high on the side to get in and out of the tub. That is what I will get next time for us; but if you are younger and agile, this room is SUPER! Breakfast was good and plenty of it. Make sure you ask for the fridge and the microwave, it is not standard furnishing; has to be requested - first come first served.
Will return, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: See my comments on room # 53 in my review. The room's bed area is separate from the sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAST48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very clean and conveniently located right in the Kittery outlets. Friendly staff and good continental breakfast. When I don't have room at my place, I always recommend Coachman Inn to my out of town friends and family.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The whole staff was pleasant and helpful from reservation to check out. This is not a high quality stay, and we were frequently woken up by the boom of the plumbing in the upstairs rooms. The kids thought it was fun though because there was a pool and the people were nice. The breakfast/check in area was kept clean and well stocked, and they're located very close to the outlets which was a huge plus. We would stay again if the hotels in Portsmouth are all booked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaugatuckMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were very impressed with the Coachman Inn, we stay in York a few times throughout the year and this was our first time here. Rooms were decorated nicely, beds comfortable and the bathroom was nice, very easy to use shower, good pressure and the shampoo and soap were a step above usual amenities. A nice continental breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Close to Outlet malls walking distance to one and short drive to York beach and Ledges golf club.

Room Tip: Rooms further back around turn were quiet and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyKelley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.7 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing