We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very clean and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Although the decor in the room we stayed in was a bit dated, it was very pleasant and very clean. Nice area for pets to do their business. Located in convenient area. I would definitely stay again. Reasonable rates

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank clusterkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    103
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
96
148
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Coachman Inn for the past 7 years. We just celebrated our 7 year anniversary there this past weekend 6/8/14. We loved it. Sue, Cindy and all the others at the front desk are great and very helpful. Beds are comfortable, pool is nice, continental breakfast is great when you just want to eat and run across the street to do your shopping at the Kittery Outlets. They just renovated some of the areas and it looks great. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. This is our weekend getaway and will continue to be for years to come. Thank you Coachman Inn for always making my yearly getaways great! See you next year.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all their rooms but I prefer the ones in the back area. Any of the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your continuing patronage each year. The beds are more comfortable this year with our new down alternative comforters. The continental breakfast is great. We've just added healthier choices and are always improving our selections to meet our guests needs. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Located right in the middle of shopping and on the same road to leave town. Its basic lodging but very clean and great staff. Lots of great takeout and restaurants within walking distance, I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Shopping and great food are definitely plentiful in Kittery! We are happy to be centrally located to all that Kittery has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had recently spent a night at the coachman, We had originally booked a room and there was a mistake on our room, The General Manager immediately got the situation resolved and gave us a wonderful room at same price. It was our anniversary, so the upgrade was amazing. The Manager went above and beyond to make this amazing for us. I would come here again, it was clean, staff was very nice, and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: choose room 53
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Angela, the General Manager, is a valuable member of our staff. She goes above and beyond every day to ensure that all of our guests are happy and comfortable. We are so happy that we were able to help you have an amazing anniversary experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed at other places nearby but none as nice for the price as the Coachman Inn. Spotlessly clean and up to date rooms were quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and quite professional in their handling of a minor emergency when a water main broke out in the street. The expanded continental style breakfast was good and had the best hotel coffee we've had in a long time. Overall, the facilities were more than adequate. A very enjoyable stay and a lucky find. We love the southern coast of ME and NH for the beaches, parks, forts and reservations as well as the plethora of shopping and great restaurants in Kittery and Portsmouth. Thank you Coachman Inn for your hospitality, we'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a clean and fresh pet friendly room at the back end of the building, away from the road, wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Fort Foster is just ten minutes away and is one of Kittery’s hidden treasures. For just a small entrance fee you can enjoy hiking, swimming, picnics, and even a cookout. With Portsmouth, York, and the Outlets nearby, there is always plenty to see and do. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duryea, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The staff is well informed of the area and more then happy to share with you some great places to go. Town had water main break. They went above and beyond to help anyway they could. I'm looking forward to coming back soon. :)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Judemary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to tell about some of our favorite places. It is good to know that we made an uncontrollable situation better. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Coachman and, if possible, was even better the second time around! The room was spotless and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We are already looking forward to our return trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoachmanGuestService, Online Marketing Coordinator at Coachman Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
The staff does a great job on our rooms and we are more than happy to help our guests in any way possible. We also look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
1.7 mi away
Ramada Kittery
Ramada Kittery
#2 of 3 in Kittery
3.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 380 US Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coachman Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly across the street from famous Kittery Outlet Malls and only minutes away from historical downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire. The beautiful beaches of York, Maine are a short car ride away. We are a newly-renovated, first-class inn with 43 beautifully decorated guest rooms. Each room features extended cable with free HBO, 35" flat-screen televisions, and hair dryers for your convenience. We serve a complimentary supreme continental breakfast every morning from 6am to 11am in our main lobby. We also provide coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Forgot your computer or just want a place to read? Spend some time in the Spruce Creek Room with its big screen TV, house computer, and an assortment of games and reading material. Our Inn hosts an outdoor, heated swimming pool for your relaxation as well as an outdoor patio with cafe tables and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Kittery
Coachman Motel Kittery
Coachman Inn Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing