We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - budget pricing and a delicious fish taco”
Review of Seaport Fish - CLOSED

Seaport Fish
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Hopkinton NH
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wow - budget pricing and a delicious fish taco”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was in Portsmouth for an appointment and decided to drive over to Kittery for a look and lunch, and spotted this new restaurant conveniently located on RTE 1. I went in for a quick lunch and was not disappointed.

The restaurant itself is clean, airy and well lit by ambient light. There's an outside deck that I;m guessing will be quite crowded once the snow melts. My service today was top notch, quick, efficient, friendly and attentive.

I wasn't sure what I was going to have until I spotted fish tacos on the menu, and they were excellent. I loved the twist they put on this dish, garnishing it with avocado, mango and cilantro. Yummy! Warm up the tortillas and it would be perfect.

I will come here again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kittery, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unhppy with lunch”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The fried clams batter was moist and not crispy. The French fries were poor. The atmosphere was very nice. Order at the counter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great menu, casual seafood dining at its freshest”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Seaport Fish is the premier retail and wholesale purveyor of fresh seafood to most local Portsmouth/Kittery area restaurants, so you'd hope that if they opened an establishment to sell fresh fish as well as provide a sit-down restaurant experience, it would be good. And it is ! In a brand-new building that is a respectable piece of architecture, complete with an outdoor deck for warmer days.
We sampled some of their local-brewed beers (and a cider). The menu has some of the standard local New England fare on it (fish and chips, chowder, lobster roll etc) but then creativity kicks in and this is what sets Seaport Fish apart from the mundane, by-the-side-of-the-road fish and chips and fried clam huts. For one, the meat in their lobster roll is fresh-picked, not out of a freezer container. Even the sweet potato fries are from fresh sweet potatoes, not from frozen fries, like most restaurants: and they're crispy and excellent.
We tried the Warm Lobster BLT (which is fresh picked lobster meat, poached in butter and cream, on a brioche bun with bacon), which had incredible lobster flavor. Don't worry about the fat content: maybe go for a walk along the beach later if you're worried about gaining weight !
We also tried the Fried Oyster Po'Boy sandwich: crisp fried oysters on a baguette, with arugula and lots of flavor. Picture is attached.
And when you're done with your meal, you can stroll over to the fresh seafood case and bring some home to your kitchen. Much of it is local caught, sometimes a day off the boat !
The service in the restaurant was friendly and prompt. The guy behind the fish counter is knowledgeable about their products, too.
Try this place and enjoy it. No need to scout around downtown Portsmouth for parking and its far enough off the hustle and bustle of the Kittery outlet malls to consider it an escape. Not too far across the bridge from Portsmouth, this restaurant is a good find in a place you wouldn't necessarily look.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mahi mahi sandwich for lunch”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Delicious grilled mahi mahi sandwich with f fries for lunch. Price was 12.95 a little pricy but worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweethang1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, well-prepared, with great service in a casual setting”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have eaten here twice in the last month or so. The fried clams were perfect both times (with semi-local craft brews), as was the broiled haddock. The warm lobster club is brilliant. Even the cole slaw is different and excellent with a touch of dill to better complement the seafood.
The setting is open, casual, and brightly lit. It can get a little noisy, but you don't come here for the ambiance (there's a great fish market in the same space).
If I could make one change, I'd add more of the many excellent local craft beers, especially the Allagash White that goes with most fish, and some IPAs that pair so well with the fried clams and oysters.
See Foodspotting for more photos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaport Fish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing