We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the food, location, and owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kittery
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Kittery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucker, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the food, location, and owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We enjoyed our one night stay at this B & B. The room was comfy and the bath was large and had little "extras" to make the stay comfortable. They were helpful in suggestions about things to see and do. We did the 2 hour segway ride and had a blast. Breakfast the next morning was delicious French toast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewsin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    37
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
142
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights. The innkeepers were very nice and helpful, but not overbearing. The rooms were nice, clean, and kept up. The breakfasts were different each day. First course is a fresh fruit and second was blintz casserole one day and eggs lorraine the other. We stayed in the Minx room which was small but had enough room for the two of us. The bathroom was very large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Between Leslie awaiting my arrival-- outside-- giving me step by step driving instructions!
And Lynn accepting and storing a huge box containing a coffee table(from Three Graces in Portsmouth wonderful variety in artistic pieces)...
The neat rooms were cool upon arrival and fellow travelers equally comfortable and delighted with tasty relaxed breakfasts.
So lucky to have been able to return to the Inn for a second night and enjoy a fine massage as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntsue417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Inn, the Inn grounds, and Inn keepers were cheery and welcoming. We loved the two-course breakfast. Our room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The location could not have been better. We were just across the bridge from downtown Portsmouth - a short and delightful walk. The only drawback was the bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor and the ceiling slants in the bathroom so that standing in front of the toilet for my 6'1' husband was a bit of a challenge. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone and would even choose the room we stayed in again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clay, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I traveled to Kittery for sight seeing and experienced the Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa. We had actually booked ourselves in another bed and breakfast in Kittery but when we arrived and saw the outside appearance and our room, we decided to call Portsmouth Harbor Inn and we were pleasantly surprised to be told that they could accommodate us for our two nights. When we arrived we were greeted with open arms and they couldn't do enough for us. The other guests staying at the Inn were just a delight and we had a wonderful experience. Our breakfasts was very tasty and the conversations was delightful. What a wonderful inn to stay in for our first experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomalk8295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Granby CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have stayed in other B&B's before, and let me tell you; the attention to detail that Lynn and staff give is second to none! The accommodations are superb, the spa is splendid and the breakfasts are beyond gourmet! If you are looking for an extraordinary weekend-getaway experience with your wife, husband, significant other or friend, I highly recommend this Inn. The inn and spa services are first class.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieR223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, MA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Quite honestly, my wife and I booked a stay at the Portsmouth Harbor Inn because we couldn't get a room in Portsmouth. Well, we've found a new favorite!
Lynne runs a wonderful B&B, complete with attention to details that make all the difference: complementary sherry, port & chocolate, an impressive selection of teas, and rooms appointed with lush bedding and comfortably usable antiques. We stayed in Valora and would certainly again.
Lynne also pours the same stylish attention to her spa. Book a massage a few days ahead to insure she can schedule the type you want.
Breakfast is family style around the dining room table at the appointed hour. Her menu is deliciously innovative. Though it felt a bit awkward to dine with 'strangers' first thing in the morning, a cup or two of (good!) coffee and the meal became delightful swapping stories with our fellow guests. Need dinner recommendations? Trust Lynne: she steered us to Anneke Jans a few blocks away and it was great!
Stay at the Portsmouth Harbor Inn once and you'll be back. I know we will!

Room Tip: look them over on-line: good representations
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Duke_of_Url
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kittery
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.1 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa

Property: Portsmouth Harbor Inn and Spa
Address: 6 Water St, Kittery, ME 03904-1641 (Formerly Inn at Portsmouth Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Kittery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kittery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-bedroom Victorian bed-and-breakfast furnished with fine antiques; walking distance to downtown Kittery and over the Piscataqua River to Portsmouth; day spa on premises. All private en-suite baths; River and Harbor views. Gardens, porches. Delicious, two-course breakfasts, afternoon cookies, evening port & sherry. Outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portsmouth Harbor Hotel Kittery
Portsmouth Harbor Inn And Spa Kittery, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing