We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Combination of Food”
Review of Pedro O'Hara's

Pedro O'Hara's
Ranked #40 of 105 Restaurants in Lewiston
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: If you haven't visited Pedro's yet, you don't know what fun you're missing! The stuff of legends, Pedro O'Hara's can spin many tales, but it's the mix of American, Mexican, and Irish cuisines that makes it unique. Open daily starting at 11:30, the kitchen dishes up something for every taste, whether you're craving New England clam chowder, tequila lime chicken, a chimichanga, bangers and mash, shepherd's pie, or Murphy's lamb tip sandwich. The bar is well stocked with spirits, draft beers, and other libations that are just as good on their own as they are with a bite to eat. The ambiance has a traditional pub-style feel, complete with bar seating, televisions for sports events, and that Mexican-Irish influence that is the cornerstone of Pedro O'Hara's.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Combination of Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A good atmosphere with great service. Food is okay- interesting combination of Irish dishes and Mexican dishes- which are not usually types of food that go together. Most people can find something to eat at this location.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank coelnic826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    17
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
206 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a bite”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I love coming here, it is a short and beautiful walk from the Hilton accross the river, and you get to stop and visit the Veteran's park and memorial on the way. Great food, great service!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 788BILLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm never disappointed when I go to Pedro's. Good drinks, geniune people and hearty food. It's always a nice environment and I always enjoy the night with live bands at the Lewiston location.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krystle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Gloucester, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

SInce our move back North after living in Georgia for several years, we have been trying to find a good, local Mexican restaurant. We heard a few mixed reviews of Pedro O'Hara's and thought is was worth a try. The atmosphere was dark. They need more lights. The waitress was good and attentive. The food was just OK. The refried beans tasted more like baked beans. The green rice was attempted and left on the plate. We may return to see if they do Irish food better than the Mexican. I can only hope that they do. As far as find a decent, local Mexican Restaurant...the search continues.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad for the cost.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

8-10-2013 4 adults
Great Falls Balloon Festival

Stopped in on Sun late afternoon before the 6 pm balloon launch.

Mexican, Irish is not a common combo in a Pub, so we were leary.

Not bad, better than we expected. We decided to eat inside, since we had been at the Balloon Festival since noon, and we wanted some A/C.

The hostess/ waitress told us to sit any where. We picked a table. Service was slow, but we took into account most people were eating out on the patio, and due to the festival the patio was at capacity.

The menu covered most typical Pub food. Burritos, chimichangas, burgers, bangers & mash, chicken, fish, beef....

I ordered the burrito, hubby had the sampler appetizer, and the other 2 adults shared a mushroom quesadilla.

Chips and salsa were brought to the table. Nothing special, salsa isn't fresh, it comes from a jar.

Burrito was served with rice, refried beans, and sour cream on the side. Good size burrito, loaded with chicken. It could have used more sauce, and tomato inside, the chicken was a tiny bit dry. Refried beans were good, as was the rice. I would have added a wedge of lime for garnish, and to twist over the rice.

The sampler appetizer, came with; 2 halves of a baked potato, one stuffed with chilli, the other with cheese, 6 wedges flour quesadilla, 2 jalapeño poppers (turned out to be 2 chicken wings, instead) and 2 chicken fingers. Sour cream and salsa serves on the side. Not bad, a bit over cooked on the fried fingers, wings, and skins.

The mushroom quesadilla had fresh 'shrooms, not canned. The flour tortilla wasn't over done and dried out. It was also served with sour cream on the side.

Our meal with the burrito, sampler, and 2 soft drinks, was about $27.00

Summary: food is fair, service was slow, cost was average.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiisai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pedro O'Hara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing