We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Travel Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewiston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travel Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lewiston
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Booked the place through http://www.travelinnlewiston.com/
The reservation did not reach the reception. Fortunately, we arrived early, before checked in time. Tammy at reception was able to get us a room for two nights.
The price is the best in town, at least according to Orbitz.com . The price was so much lower than any motel we could find in Portland and Freeport. It is hard to set high expectation. As long as the room is clean, that's all we hope for.

There was an disagreement between the rate on the web site and what was quoted by the lady. After showing the proof of reservation, Tammy happily honoured the lower price.
BTW, Tammy is very pleasant and helpful.

All rooms were listed as non-smoking. However, our room have the typical ordour of a smoking room. As we are both non-smoker, we were very sensitive to the scent of the room. Bought a bottle of fabric freshener (think Febreeze), spray about a quarter of bottle upon checking in.

LOCATION
Our Tom Tom GPS was off by about half a mile. Luckily the Inn was easy to notice during the day and night.

CLEANLINESS
Sheets were clean and odourless.
Bath room was recently updated, though not very professionally done.

ROOMS
Our room was one of the few w/o "Non-smoking" sign on the door. Majority of the rooms are labelled with NS sign.
Heater was not on. Tammy gave us another blanket.
The smoking odour was the biggest turn-off for us.
The fabric freshener helped a lot, but can't get them all. The mattress breathed whenever we turned. =(
The second night we came back, we had to respray fabric freshener.

SERVICE
We stayed for two nights, and received no room service.

VALUE
Most other motel/ hotels charge twice as much for weekend. Travel Inn does not.
YES
Fridge
Microwave
TV

NO
Closet
Hair dryer
Heater

SLEEP QUALITY
Poor -- we were very sensitive to the ordour.

BOTTOM LINE
Be sure to ask for a never been smoked before room.
This could end up being a great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

this motel is run by a verry nice family,they are very pleasant ,the rooms are clean and comfortable ,we felt right at home .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimzemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Stayed here for work recently. Manager was at the store when we arrived and left a note at the door with a number. He came right back when I called and realized the room still needed to be cleaned. We set up in the lobby area, ate our pizza and had a couple beers. They were done cleaning the room when we finished our dinner and we were given a discount for waiting. Like I said not the worst place I've stayed at and would recommend to anyone who's not looking for anything too fancy, but a good clean room to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford ct
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Booked our room on the internet from pictures posted on their website. Showed a nice quaint motel. At check in, was charged $10 more than what was advertised on the internet. Owner said "that price must have been for a single room", so when I arrived in my room, I checked their website, and the prices were NOT that of a single room, it was all rooms! Arrived to find run down room. Heat did NOT work, asked owner for a different room, all he offered was "a room from hell" which the heat could not be regulated. What was I do to at 9pm, but to accept a space heater for our room. After trying to sleep with jackets on for about an hour, called owner and requested another heater, first one was NOT working. Would not recommend this motel for anyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imsobusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lewiston hotels

Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

Stayed on a weekly basis for about three months. Staff and owner always available and friendly. Quiet and comfortable with all amenities nearby. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screwauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

My husband participated in the 100 mile bike ride in Lewiston Maine-the Patrick Dempsey Challenge on October 4th 2009. During this same weekend the Bates College was having an event so needless to say there were limited number of rooms available. The only place we could stay was the Travel Inn-Lewiston. Don't confuse this with the Travel Lodge that is down the street.
It is a motel that needs much TLC! The room had a carpet that did not appear to have been cleaned in a while. Though the sink and tub in the bathroom were very clean and seemed to have been updated recently the rest of bathroom needed much help. The mattresses were very old and not firm-if you sleep in the middle you stayed in the middle. The sheets though were clean-believe me i checked! There were no closets or place t o hang any coats or clothes. It did however have a small fridge that was clean. It was 47 degrees and when asked why the heat would not go on-we were told the heat is turned on -on October 15th! We were told that was true of all the motel/hotels in that area. Some of the doors had numbers that had fallen off. Our door did not close all the way and the inside of the door was damaged as well as the bathroom door.
There is really not much to do in the immediate area and it seems as though some residents may live in some of the rooms.
I have to say that the woman running the motel was very nice and pleasant. She was as helpful as she could be.
If you can find someplace else to stay-I would recommend it.
Chazleen

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
2.1 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
6.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 1968 Lisbon Rd, Lewiston, ME 04240-1412
Region: United States > Maine > Lewiston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lewiston
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing