We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your wildest dreams”

Liberty Tool Company
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Liberty
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jonesport Wood Company maintains three locations in coastal Maine for the sale of old tools, crafting supplies, antiques, antiquarian books, paintings, and prints. Our primary mission is the search for and recovery of usable woodworking tools for reuse as well as for the collections of the Davistown Museum.
Essex, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Your wildest dreams”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Three floors, a basement and an annex across the street filled with bins of tools, kitchen equipment, kitch and used household necessities plus a smattering of antiques and lots of book, will keep you entertained for an hour or more. Hard NOT to find something in all this stuff that you MUST have.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this Place”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stop in everytime I drive close to the coast. Great place to leave my husband and go get lunch. LOL Colette

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colette719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Totally worth the side trip if you like to look through old "stuff"”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is not exactly an antique shop - though they have some very cool antiques. This is truly a shop FULL of tools - mostly old, but some on the new side. They also have books, furniture and ODDS and ends. Got a massive yet attractive restaurant size soup pot (could steam 10 lobsters at a time) for only $24. Also bought some additional tools for the kitchen drawer so I don't have to dig through my husband's work bench. Between the shops across the street, and the main Liberty Tool building, we easily drifted about for an hour or more of treasure hunting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You can spend hours here”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I went with my fater and my sister, we lost her she had to look at everything. This is a fantastic place if you like old tools and many other old items.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for a rainy afternoon”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stopped in on a rainy September afternoon, when there wasn't much else to do or go ... and it was such fun. I don't think much has escaped in a wayback machine from Liberty Tool! It has so much in the way of tool minutiae ,,,, things you never see anymore, or remember from your grandpa's garage. My husband found some very old fly fishing gear, some old bamboo rods and some old hand tied flies that were interesting. Also on hand were old reels, fly tying tools, funky old creels, and odd fishing gear, in addition to all the wonderful old hand tools.

It was a pleasant trip down memory lane ... everything from junk to beautifully crafted fine old hand tools ... definitely worth a visit. Buy something to take home, if only for a great story to tell about the place. :-)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eastskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty Tool Company also viewed

Been to Liberty Tool Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing