We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forest Gem”

Libby & Son U-Picks
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Limerick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pick Your Own Blueberries, Raspberries, Apples and Peaches. With 20 acres of Blueberries you are sure to find plenty. We have 15 acres of small trees loaded with large Apples for easy picking. Blueberry picking starts in mid-July and continues into October. Apple picking is Sep thru Oct. Raspberry picking starts in August and continues into October. Peach picking starts in August and continues into September. We offer fresh blueberry donuts, blueberry jams, blueberry honey, blueberry coffee, blueberry smoothies and more! We have fresh pressed Apple Cider. Come watch and enjoy hot apple cider donuts & caramel apples being made. Also fresh Kettle Corn, Maple Syrup, Jams, Honeys, multiple flavors of coffee and much more. In the fall we have many sizes pumpkins to choose from. Bring your own lunch or enjoy a donut and coffee in our picnic area. Visit our site for more information
Limerick, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Forest Gem”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hidden away in tiny Limerick Maine this is a wonderful place to pick blueberries and apples in season, listen to live music on weekends, participate in blood drives, and eat the best homemade donuts, still warm from the fryer. Kid friendly and handicap accessible with golf carts to take you up the hill to your favorite pick sites.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fussyeater_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibbySonUPicks, Owner at Libby & Son U-Picks, responded to this review, 7 April 2015
Thank You for your visit to our farm! We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for the high recommendation. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Apples, blueberries and raspberries oh my....”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I can't believe that I have never been apple picking, until today. Great weather, family and fun.
They had a shuttle take you to the orchards, and then took us to the raspberry bushes. It was a great day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibbySonUPicks, Owner at Libby & Son U-Picks, responded to this review, 7 April 2015
Thank You Theresa! We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to our farm and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Blueberries!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Recently went to pick blueberries. Crop selection was okay.. a couple varieties available.. but the shuttle had to take us out a way to get to a decent picking area. Live background music from country singer was a nice touch. Am wondering about their pesticide use after reading review below. Pricing is more than would pay for blueberries in supermarket but nice to support a local farm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelajoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterboro, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lots of stuff to pick”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I liked that they have little vehicles that take me to where the picking is active, as the acreage is extensive.. Other than that, it is a typical self-pick operation. Nice, but nothing great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perestroika13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibbySonUPicks, Owner at Libby & Son U-Picks, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry our farm did not meet your expectations. Our family strives to provide the highest quality fruit with excellent service. We are glad you enjoyed our shuttle services. Please include any suggestions that would make your experience more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Waterboro, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had to stop going here”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

When I discovered the owners disregard for spraying regulations and pesticide control, I stopped going here. Very friendly place, but I was leery of the products.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LibbySonUPicks, Owner at Libby & Son U-Picks, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize you left our farm with that impression. Pest control is one of the most time consuming and costly aspects to fruit farming. We are licensed by the State of Maine Board of Pesticide Control. Hours of training and meetings annually are required to maintain this license. Along with pesticide credit meetings, we attend many national and international meetings learning new techniques on pest control. We spend extensive time working closely with the University of Maine, UMass, UNH, Penn St., Cornel among other agricultural schools.

We follow a strict Integrated Pest Management (IMP) program with all our products. Integrated pest management is an effective, environmentally friendly approach to pest management that relies on a combination of commonsense practices. The main goal of IPM is to reduce the need of spraying for safety, environmental and economical reasons. IPM consists of multiple steps of pest control. IPM starts with preventative measures like the removal of diseased plants/trees and setting thresholds or acceptable pest levels. With observation from our IPM agent, help from University of Maine Extension and the use of pest traps we can monitor and indentify pests. Promoting beneficial insects will help reduce targeted insect levels. Other mechanical and biological controls can be used prior to the use of spraying. We use a combination of organic and synthetic pesticides and all are biodegradable.

The US EPA defines IMP: "Integrated Pest Management (IPM) is an effective and environmentally sensitive approach to pest management that relies on a combination of common-sense practices. IPM programs use current, comprehensive information on the life cycles of pests and their interaction with the environment. This information, in combination with available pest control methods, is used to manage pest damage by the most economical means, and with the least possible hazard to people, property, and the environment.

The IPM approach can be applied to both agricultural and non-agricultural settings, such as the home, garden, and workplace. IPM takes advantage of all appropriate pest management options including, but not limited to, the judicious use of pesticides. In contrast, organic food production applies many of the same concepts as IPM but limits the use of pesticides to those that are produced from natural sources, as opposed to synthetic chemicals." - http://www.epa.gov/pesticides/factsheets/ipm.htm

Our family takes great pride in producing the highest quality fruit for your family to enjoy. Our fruit is not only safe but contains an overwhelming health benefits. We hope you will reconsider and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Libby & Son U-Picks also viewed

Been to Libby & Son U-Picks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing