We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cellardoor Winery

Cellardoor Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 5 miles inland from the Camden waterfront sits our 68-acre property complete with our 200-year-old barn-turned-tasting room, gift shop, vineyard and winery. Join us for a complimentary wine tasting, a glass of wine on the back deck, a complimentary winery tour or in-depth VIP Tour, and locally and internationally made cheese, salami, sandwiches and cheese plates. We also offer a variety of events, from weekend food & wine pairings to Pairings 101 classes, winemaker dinners, cooking classes and al fresco events down in the vineyard.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
361 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Cellardoor was a great surprise! Check their website for tour times. The shops were well stocked with interesting condiments, wine accessories, cheese and crackers, fruit spreads, sundae toppings, etc. The tasting area was large and there was no charge (up to a specified number of samplings). If you are going for a tour, I would arrive early and taste first, as the tasting area can get swamped afterwards. The grounds are beautiful; the staff was friendly and helpful. We came after a large, late breakfast, so I can't comment on the restaurant. It has a lovely balcony. If I were shopping for a special occasion venue, I'd seriously be considering the Cellardoor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    32
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Staff was great, wines which we chose were fine. Wish they had more food items which would definitely make this winery.
Enjoyed the atmosphere, staff, building and the wines.
A stop here is reommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shark38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I prefer sweeter wines to dryer, but several of my traveling companions are the opposite. Either way, all of us found something we could enjoy at least a glass of. The winery also sells jams inspired by their wines, which makes for a tasty mid-day treat. We sat on their deck overlooking large hills of growing grapes and beautiful colors with cheese, bread, jam, and wine. The laid-back environment was welcoming and comfortable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AEKeisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jaw Dropping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited the Cellardoor Winery during our first visit to Maine with family. It was such a surprise to drive along a two-lane country road, turn into a rather non-descript drive and see what was before us. That's when the jaw dropping began. It never ended, while walking through the place, enjoying the wine tasting, and sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our friends in Cushing recommended we stop here while in Rockland and wow, I really owe them one.
The Tasting Room and attendant special events room and store are wonderfully detailed and decorated very smartly. The back deck, overlooking a few grape vines, a pond, rolling tree-lined hills and the mountains beyond, is a fantastic setting to enjoy a glass of their wine.
The tasting, which is free, is really one of the most pleasant and informative that I've ever experienced and I've probably done this over a hundred times from California to Greece.
The wine itself is very good, we bought several bottles of reds and whites.
If you're in the area you should not miss this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellardoor Winery also viewed

Owls Head, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
Lincolnville, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cellardoor Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing