We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The "new" Sunrise Point is better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Sunrise Point
Ranked #3 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The "new" Sunrise Point is better than ever!”
Reviewed 15 September 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn at Sunrise Point for six years and were very satisfied; but with new ownership in early '08, we've been surprised with details and improvements that continue to make our stay even better. The new owner, Daina Hill was an extensive traveler herself (predominantly work-related, and other interesting trips we found) and it is clear that she has taken pains to make the Inn feel like a combination spa, 5-star hotel and private ocean cottage. This is not your quintessential Victorian B&B so don’t book with that in mind. It's luxurious, but so close to the ocean that it encourages a more casual and relaxing atmosphere. Daina’s attention to detail, and focus on service had us scheduling a year in advance to make sure that we have our week on the ocean in ’10.
Mimi's breakfasts are always a treat, but this year we tested her flexibility with some recent restrictions on my husband's diet. (I had actually forgotten to call ahead.) She didn’t miss a beat, and came up with some really great daily substitutes without losing any flavor! (She and Bonnie are also great local sources for information on places to go, and things to see.)
The rooms are now cleaned by an 'invisible' but meticulous housekeeping staff - they managed to clean our room every morning while we ate breakfast; from cleaning, making the bed, and replacing towels and sundries… to resetting the fireplace, cleaning wine glasses and cheese plates. (They even cleaned our picnic backpack stuff!)
We've stayed at the Inn during both May and August for at least a week each time and the down bedding, the fireplace and the jacuzzi fend off the cool (sometimes cold) ocean air, and make you feel like you’re at a high-end hotel at the same time.
A lot of the guests that we met said that they chose Camden because it makes a great Midcoast ‘home base’ for traveling any direction. The Inn is a great Camden home base; check out the website first – what you see is what you get!
We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler24680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
137
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, mA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Sunrise Point hardly needs any more top notch reviews - but I wanted to send mine in, just because my husband and I had such a great time on our babymoon! We're both originally from Maine, so you would think that a coastal view wouldn't really impress us anymore - but the view, the sounds, the smells, the SUNRISE ---- it was heaven. We even saw shooting stars from our balcony at night.

We stayed in the E.B White Room, which is said to be the smallest room in the Inn - although it was hardly small to us - and I'm pretty big right about now! :)
The bathroom was bigger than most hotel bathrooms - and our porch was absolutely enormous.

Diana, the owner, is perfection – actually her entire staff was the best. It was really one of my first hotel experiences where I never wanted for anything .... every little thing was thought of. Bubble bath for your tub? Its there. A diet coke at 11am – its in your mini-bar, complimentary of course. We drank all of our bottled water (even though they gave us at least 6 and the water from the tap tasted as pure as bottled - it is Maine after all.) and by turn down service that night – everything was re-filled, along with the ice bucket. A scented candle? Check. A glass of wine and a DVD at midnight? Help yourself in their beautiful library. Snacks? They are everywhere.

I especially loved how the classical music played throughout the inn was also played in your room (you could turn it off, or down of course) but it just made our entire experience that much more luxurious.

If you are reading this review, wondering if you should book your vacation here? I really can't recommend it enough, I'd be there myself if I could. If you are reading this after writing your own review - aren't you just dying to go back - and did you see that sunrise???

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The Inn at Sunrise Point was everything I hoped it would be and more! The room we stayed in "May Sarton" is the largest of the rooms in the main house. There are only three. We looked at the other room...E.B. White and it is lovely as well but a bit smaller. The rooms all jet out over the porch of the house and look directly onto the bay. It is perfectly positioned to watch the sunrise. At night stargazing is amazing from your very private porch.

The rooms were extremely well appointed with a flat screen TV mounted on the wall and you can pull it out and angle it to watch TV in bed if you like. They have many DVDs you can go grab from the library. They also have a selection of wines for your enjoyment at fairly reasonable prices, or you can simply bring your own botte(s) with you. There are wine glasses and a corkscrew in the room. The bathroom was perfect with a large glass bath shower combination--the tub was quite cozy with arm rests. There are bathrobes, and iron/ironing board, wonderful bed linens, a ceiling fan, and a mini-fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks and bottled water.

The breakfasts were fantastic and it is served in a solarium overlooking the bay and the backyard. The table settings are great for breakfast -- it's not your typical B&B style where everyone is sittinng at the table at the same time and you can come anywhere between 8-10 a.m. You don't have to arrive for a specific seating time.

The staff were incredibly friendly, not at all intrusive, and every so helpful with recommendations for things to do and see in the area. They also help with any dinner reservations or whatever else you need.

I plan on returning, hopefully to take advantage of one of the waterfront cottages. Absolutely gorgeous place--the decor and location really made for the perfect Maine summer getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We had the Winslow Homer cottage and it was absolutely perfect for our honeymoon. We enjoyed the privacy of the cottage as well as the benefits of the B&B. Breakfasts by Mimi were amazing and all the restaurant recommendations from Daina were spot on. Even though the weather was cool, we were able to enjoy the view and we caught a gorgeous sunrise on the last morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2009

A beautiful Inn tucked away facing the ocean on west Penobscot Bay.
The rooms and cottages are appointed beautifully with time taken byt the owner Daina to make sure every detail is peerfect...from the reading material in the room ,to the finishings. The housekeeping headed by Bonnie is immaculate the the beds,linnens, towwels band products are fantastic!
The breakifasts "created" by Mimi are not only delicious but ready to be photographed by Bon Appetite or Gourmet \magazine!!!
The spot is so magnificent and serene.
The Team at Sunriese Point headed by Daina the owner caters to every wiish!!!
A fantstic retreat for young and old!!!

THE DOCTOR AND HIS LOVELY WIFE!!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at the Inn at Sunrise Point for two nights of our vacation in Maine and loved everything about it. The setting - gardens overlooking the rugged Maine coastline - is private and spectacular. The accommodations and decor are stylish - crisp and airy. Each cottage has a private entrance and is named after an artist or author who worked in Maine. (We stayed in the Hopper cabin.) Our space was nicely set up with a desk and a couple of cozy easy chairs. Beds were very comfortable; we had a DVD player in our room , which we used ( there is a large DVD library for guests). Our large bathroom had a jacuzzi and separate stall shower- very clean and fresh.
Breakfast is served in the lovely Conservatory overlooking the lawn sloping down to the water. Everything is presented beautifully. The common spaces are comfortable and inviting, and snacks, coffee and tea are available all day. (We really appreciated the cookies and tea when we came in at the end of our evening.)
What made our stay even better were the warm and friendly people at the Inn. Mimi cooks a delicious (and generous!) gourmet breakfast, Bonnie provides lots of local information, and Daina, the owner, is welcoming and knowledgeable.
Even though we encountered some rain during our stay, we found plenty to do in the area. We spent time in Camden and travelled up to the Farnsworth Art Museum in Rockland.
We were so lucky to find the Inn at Sunrise Point and we are already trying to figure out when we can return. Beautiful and welcoming, with great service and attention to detail that made our stay special - this place is really a gem. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

... stay at the Inn at Sunrise Point. Truly the most wonderful B&B. Our room was small but beautiful - warm romantic fireplace, incredibly comfortable bed, luxury linens, pillows, a huge bath with a fab tub, great shower and again - tons of luxurious towels, shampoos, etc. The fact that we were visiting in the off season meant we were the only guests at the Inn - and we loved it! We were treated like royalty. The gourmet breakfast - cooked by the fabulous Mimi was superb. I mean SUPERB! White linens, colorful flowers - the owner Dana Hill has an amazing eye for detail. We could not have been more welcomed and had a hard time leaving. Sitting in their adirondack chairs facing the ocean - what a view! We even got to meet Capt. Dave and Bonnie the housekeeper. The nicest bunch of people. Almost hate to write this glowing review because we want to keep this gem all to ourselves! But we can't. So, thanks again for a incredible time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Addison107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Sunrise Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sunrise Point

Property: Inn at Sunrise Point
Address: 55 Sunrise Point Road, P.O. Box 21, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Sunrise Point 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our romantic mid-coast Maine lodging offering a secluded waterfront hideaway with breathtaking waterviews, minutes from nearby Camden. Relax in comfortable rooms and romantic cottages at our Camden bed & breakfast, with private decks, fireplaces,AC, flat-screen TVs & Wi-Fi. Enjoy the delicious gourmet breakfast, book a soothing in-room or spa massage, or relax by the water with the best view of any Camden, ME hotel. Experience the Inn at Sunrise Point, a Select Registry and 4-Diamond luxury Maine bed and breakfast with unforgettable service and a beautiful natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Sunrise Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sunrise Point Hotel Lincolnville
Inn At Sunrise Point Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing