We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Sunrise Point
Ranked #3 of 9 Lincolnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We happened upon the Inn at Sunrise Point after an exhaustive search along the Maine coast for an elegant hotel. Summer vacationing in popular areas is not usually a good idea and there was little to choose from in Kennebunkport and Ogunquit. We hadn't heard of Camden. The reviews of this inn were exceedingly positive so we decided to book it.
From the moment we arrived everything was outstanding. The staff was professional, accommodating and congenial. The owner dedicated suites and cottages to famous local talents, (including Richard Russo and Rachel Carson) and we stayed in the Wyeth Loft. As other guests noted our room was absolutely perfect - vaulted ceilings, furniture, linens, dark wood floors, beautiful windows, fully stocked 'coffee bar', and everything you would want as far as media/technology. The large, airy bathroom deserves special attention - all-tiled steam shower, gorgeous new 'retro' tub and every amenity one would need. Towels and products were replaced twice daily, and turn-down service included water and chocolate. No detail was unattended.
Breakfasts were prepared fresh, delicious and inventive; they were presented artfully. There was coffee, tea, sweet and savoury midday refreshments fully stocked and kept complete. Guests are invited to enjoy the lovely porches, outdoors and inside and the fireplace room with bar.
We loved Camden, a 5 minute drive. It's a village but has wonderful stores and cafes. We had pizza at 'Paolina's which gathered vegetables from its organic garden.
Waking up in the Wyeth Loft was possibly the best experience we've ever had . . . anywhere! Thanks to the owner and staff for an exquisite inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbeystein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrisepoint, Owner at Inn at Sunrise Point, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
It was our pleasure to have you as guests at the Inn and we were happy you found the Wyeth Loft so restful and comfortable. We look forward to your return.
Daina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
137
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We returned to Sunrise Point recently after an absence of about ten years, and it lived up to our recollections. The setting is far enough off Route 1 to be very peaceful and on a damp afternoon it was delightful to sit on the porch of the main building and watch (and listen to) water lapping at the rocks just below the inn's lawn. We stayed in one of the cottages and found ti extremely comfortable and thoughtfully designed. Good reading light, spacious bathroom, overall sense of non-glitzy luxury presented in a very simple and peasant way. Breakfast was very good and made even more enjoyable by the hospitality of both the owner and the innkeeper.

The Inn at Sunrise Point is a lovely place for grownups who want a respite from crowds and noise and touring--a great place to come back to after a day on the water or the road as well as to stay at for its own sake.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrisepoint, Owner at Inn at Sunrise Point, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your kind words and for returning to the Inn at Sunrise Point. We look forward to your next visit.

Daina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My wife and I spend three nights in the Richard Russo cottage with is about as close to the ocean as you can get. I truly can't say enough about how fantastically luxurious and comfortable this place is. There are only about a dozen rooms/cottages which makes it very quiet and relaxing. Our cottage was literally a stone's throw away from the water. Seriously, if you throw a rock from the Russo cottage deck it will land on the rocky Maine shore about 30 feet below.

Not only is the owner, Daina Hill, wonderful host, but she's a FANTASTIC chef, too! During our stay we had the most delicious scrambled eggs and salmon "tornado" I've ever had, a hugh, fluffy waffle that my wife said was "the best waffle she's ever tasted" and an omelet that was absolutely phenomenal!

The cottage we stayed in was extremely well appointed with the most luxurious bedding, a fantastic view of the ocean and a splendid bathroom with a big Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower that was like a car wash! I felt perfectly comfortable wearing sandals and a T-shirt, even though I brought much nicer clothes with me. Check out the pictures we took of both the cottage and the inn itself.

If you consider yourself a discerning traveler who prefers comfortable luxury in an abundantly quiet, romantic setting RIGHT ON THE WATER, then this is the only place in the Camden area you need to look into. Honestly, my wife spent hours and hours looking at websites for so many other places in and around Camden. Nothing even came close to this place. I mean, even the way their website is designed makes it clear that the Inn at Sunrise Point is the place to be. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muddymud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrisepoint, Owner at Inn at Sunrise Point, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you for your review!!!! It was our pleasure to have you as guests at the Inn and we are glad you had wuch a wonderful time.
Daina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Never have I used the words "exquiste tranquility" before to descibe anything, that was until my wife and I traveled down a secluded dirt road in the woods and came upon the pristine beauty of the Inn at Sunrise Point. As we entered the Inn, we were able to see through the open back door a most magnificent view of a rolling green lawn, ensonced by flowers, which nestled against Penobscot Bay. The site was indeed spectactularly soothing and one that made you feel that you were in a very special place.

We arrived at the Inn a little early on a very warm day and while we waited for our room to be ready, we sat on the Inn's beautiful porch and drank some freshly home made ice tea and munched on some chocolate chip and sugar cookies. We were already in heaven and we hadn't even gotten to our room yet!

While the Inn has some beautiful rooms in the house, we elected to stay in the Rachel Carson Cottage, which is just a few steps away from the Bay. The amenities of the room were bountiful: I Pod dock, two flat screen televisions, stereo system, gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub and a separate wall glass shower that has numerous jets. My wife and I believed that this was the most luxorious place we ever stayed and we have stayed at some fine establishments throughout the country.

The cottage's king sized bed directly looks out to the water. At night cool breezes from the Bay massaged us gently to sleep. In the morning, we would sip our coffee and watch the sun splash waters gently flow and then we would head off to breakfast. Breakfast was indeed superb. One day we had pecan pancakes with sausage, another day it was poached eggs, ham, brioche toast and a roasted fig. Of course this came with muffins, fruit breads and various beverages.

Diana and her staff couldn't have been nicer or seen more to our needs, whether it was giving us recommendations for dinner, booking us a schooner ride, providing directions to various sites or meeting a special request from us to have a fruit and cheese platter waiting in our room when we arrived. The house cleaning staff was also teriffic. They seem to have a sixth sense when we were out of the cottage, and when we came back the room was sparkling.

Staying here would indeed be a special experience for anyone. However, I would certainly recommend this for those seeking a romantical vacation. This place is just that inspiring. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunrisepoint, Owner at Inn at Sunrise Point, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
It was our pleasure to meet you and a double pleasure to learn that you are a gifted writer. Your review of the Inn is beautiful (have you considered another career as a travel writer?) and we greatly appreciate both your kind words and the fact that you clearly enjoyed your stay here. Thank you. We look forward to your return to the Inn.

Daina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

When you think about it, Mid-Coast Maine occupies a very small portion of our planet. It essentially runs only from Bath Maine to Bucksport Maine, a narrow corridor of land, yet it offers the most remarkable hospitality, vistas, tastes, colors, light, and people one could imagine. More remarkably, it all comes together resoundingly on one small spit of land named Sunrise Point. Those of you fortunate enough to have previously stayed at this Inn understand; those of you who will yet experience the Inn are in for a rare treat. Daina Hill has (re)created the Inn at Sunrise Point into the ultimate Maine experience . . . comfort, relaxation, accommodation, and friendship. The rooms and suites are commodious, clean, and bright; the common areas are inviting, open, and provocative; and the breakfasts are . . . well . . .to die for (and make sure you chat with Bonnie, a treasure all by herself). Spend a day staring out over Penobscot Bay, or shopping for that art treasure or antique, or taking a day trip to Acadia. For those who understand the need to unwind and recharge, the Inn at Sunrise Point is the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We chose the Inn at Sunrise Point for our wedding, and the entire trip was better than we could have ever dreamed. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly throughout the entire stay, especially assisting with the setup of the ceremony. The view was perfect (and thankfully the weather cooperated as well).

For the info more useful to most people:
The rooms are wonderful, the quality and the view. Our cottage sat right on the ocean's edge giving a beautiful view out of the huge window. The beds were incredibly comfortable, and the jacuzzi was a great addition.


The landscaping is beautiful: flowers everywhere, little hideaways to relax in a hammock or lounge chair, and the view from the lawn looks right over the ocean.

Breakfast was great every morning, all of the courses! They have a set menu each morning, but they were more than willing to work with my grandmother each day (who has special dietary needs). Throughout the day, there was always fresh coffee, tea and little snacks available in the sunroom, and delicious cookies and baked goods in the afternoon.

The friendly and helpful staff was probably one of the most notable features of the inn. Even though I was there for my wedding and they were incredibly attentive to my needs, I also noticed that they gave the same quality of service to all of the guests and made sure they were comfortable as well, which I was very glad to see.

I've attached one of our wedding photos because it turned out more like an advertisement for the inn than a wedding photo.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

my husband and I just returned from our first trip together without kids in 10 years. We were so looking forward to some time alone in a romantic place different from anywhere else we had been. After searching many options, we chose the inn at sunrise point. It was absolutely perfect. We stayed in a beautiful private cottage, ate delicious breakfasts, and listened to the waves - the service was exceptional. We highly recommend this inn to all and hope to return again someday (I would be there multiple times a year if it wasn't a 1000 miles away!)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincolnville
0.5 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Sunrise Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Sunrise Point

Property: Inn at Sunrise Point
Address: 55 Sunrise Point Road, P.O. Box 21, Lincolnville, ME 04849
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Lincolnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lincolnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Sunrise Point 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our romantic mid-coast Maine lodging offering a secluded waterfront hideaway with breathtaking waterviews, minutes from nearby Camden. Relax in comfortable rooms and romantic cottages at our Camden bed & breakfast, with private decks, fireplaces,AC, flat-screen TVs & Wi-Fi. Enjoy the delicious gourmet breakfast, book a soothing in-room or spa massage, or relax by the water with the best view of any Camden, ME hotel. Experience the Inn at Sunrise Point, a Select Registry and 4-Diamond luxury Maine bed and breakfast with unforgettable service and a beautiful natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Sunrise Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Sunrise Point Hotel Lincolnville
Inn At Sunrise Point Maine/Lincolnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing